Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday: The Queen by Steven James


The Queen: A Patrick Bowers Thriller (The Bowers Files)This week, my 'Waiting on Wednesday' pick is 'The Queen' by Steven James. I've read the first four books in the 'Patrick Bowers Series' and await reading this new addition. It's not set to come out, though, until September 1st, 2011.

About the book:

While investigating a double homicide in an isolated northern Wisconsin town, FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers uncovers a high-tech conspiracy that twists through long-buried Cold War secrets and targets present-day tensions in the Middle East.

In his most explosive thriller yet, bestselling author Steven James delivers a multi-layered storytelling tour de force that not only delivers pulse-pounding suspense but also deftly explores the rippling effects of the choices we make.


I can't wait to read this! That's my pick - what's yours?

Monday, June 27, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!

http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/ hosts this event and I decided to participate. I made my own banner (above), but Bookjourney is where I heard about this.


What I've recently finished:
The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: A Novel


What I'm reading now:
Anna Finch and the Hired Gun: A Novel

What I hope to read this week:
The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck: A Novel

Inside Threat (A Riley Covington Thriller)

The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: A Novel by Kathleen Y'Barbo

The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: A NovelThe Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: A Novel by Kathleen Y'Barbo

My Rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


I'm going to be reading 'The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck' soon, so I decided to read 'The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper' by Kathleen Y'Barbo first and then I plan to read 'Anna Finch and the Hired Gun' by Kathleen Y'Barbo.


This is the first book that I've read by Kathleen Y'Barbo, but it reminded me of 'A Lady Like Sarah' by Margaret Brownley which I've recently read. Both books have a historical/western theme.


'The Confidential Life of Eugenia "Gennie" Cooper' is a historical romance book set around 1880. Gennie enjoys reading Mae Winslow, 'Woman of the West' dime novels, but she has to read them under her bed covers for fear that her parents will find out.


'Someday, if Gennie ever had the nerve, she'd just head west down Fifth Avenue and keep walking until she reached South Dakota or Wyoming. Colorado maybe, where she could pan for gold or dig for silver. Maybe save some hapless child or even a whole town from whatever evil preyed upon it. Gennie smiled. Wouldn't that be an adventure?' - Page 3


Finally that day has come.


When Gennie's new chambermaid, Fiona McTaggart, tells Gennie about how Fiona's sister has to leave the man she loves before they can wed - to be the governess of Miss Charlotte Beck - Gennie gets an idea.


Since Gennie will be leaving New York for a month to go visit relatives in Boston, while Gennie's family is on a ship for their silver anniversary; why can't Gennie instead of going to Boston go to Denver, Colorado to be the Charlotte Beck's Governess and get the adventure she's dreamed of. Then once Fiona's sister is married and arrives in Denver, go back home to New York with her need for adventure filled.


The beginning of every chapter begins with a portion of a Mae Winslow 'Woman of the West' story. I found this interesting, because it was like reading two books in one. Mae Winslow story as well as Gennie's story.


Upon arriving in Denver, Gennie realizes that Charlotte Beck is not the sweet child she thought she would be. Instead she's a trouble-maker and thief. Gennie soon realizes this "job" won't be as easy as she first thought.


I found the entire story very charming, humorous, and captivating. Gennie and Daniel Beck's relationship had such depth and layers that I didn't want to stop reading 'The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper'.


I loved how the story unfolded and had many twists that I didn't expect. I am very much looking forward to reading 'Anna Finch and the Hired Gun'. I highly recommend 'The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper'.


Please Rate My Review:





The Confidential Life Eugenia Cooper by Kathleen Y' Barbo (Chapter 1)

Book Trailer:




Book Details:
Price: 9.99
Format: Trade Paperback
On Sale: Jun 2, 2009
ISBN: 9780307444745
Categories: Fiction - Christian - Historical
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Thursday, June 23, 2011

'Possession' Giveaway

Possession


Crystal is giving away a copy of 'Possession' by Rene Gutteridge on her blog Just Another Book Lovin' Girl. I've read this book already, but I don't have my own copy.

Even though I want to win this very much, I thought I would share this giveaway so that you can enter as well.

You can read my review of 'Possession' here.

To enter the giveaway click here.

Please Rate My Reviews

Hello everyone!

I need 10 people to rate my reviews of 'Indelible' and 'Judgment Day'. All you have to do is choose a rating between 1 star and 5 stars, enter your valid e-mail address and click submit. I would really appreciate it if you would.

Thanks!

Indelible by Kristen Heitzmann

Indelible: A Novel

Judgment Day by Wanda L. Dyson

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

What Is Your Favorite Way To Read A Book?

What is your favorite way to read a book? I have a poll up asking that question (on the right sidebar).

For me, I love reading regular books. I think that ebooks are nice, but there is something great about having an actual book in your hands. I can flip through the pages and look back pages easily.

Maybe my opinion will change later, but for now I prefer paperback (regular) books. That's my vote. What's yours? Let me know what you think by voting and (if you choose) leaving a comment.


What is your favorite way to read a book?

  1. Paperback
  2. Kindle
  3. Nook
  4. PC
  5. Other
Poll closes July 14th, 2011

Monday, June 20, 2011

A Vision of Lucy (#3) by Margaret Brownley

A Vision of Lucy (A Rocky Creek Romance)A Vision of Lucy by Margaret Brownley


My Rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


Lucy Fairbanks is a spunky woman whose adventurous spirit and dream of becoming a professional photographer for the local newspaper keeps putting her in dangerous situations.

Like her mother, Lucy felt compelled to capture the world around her and preserve moments in time that would never be repeated. The only difference was their choice of expression. - Page 28

Her father doesn't understand her dream of photography and would rather she paint (like her deceased mother did) and get married.

She stared at her father in open defiance. "I have plans for my life. Big plans. They do not include marriage." - Page 26

One occasion, when Lucy was in danger, was when she was in a horse chestnut tree trying to capture the mythical wild white mustang on film. She instead witnesses (and interrupts) a stage coach robbery, almost is killed, but is rescued by the 'wild man', David Wolf.

David Wolf is a man who is on a mission. He is a half-breed (half-white, half-Indian), and he's had a difficult life because of that. He doesn't know his real name, who is parents are - or if they are even still alive, and he doesn't even know where he belongs. Everywhere he goes he finds people who judge him just because of his blood - until he meets Lucy.

I loved how many of the same character from the books 'A Lady Like Sarah' and 'A Suitor For Jenny'  were continued in 'A Vision Of Lucy'. What I didn't like, however, was how Old Man Hank Applegate's name was changed in this book to Old Man Appleby. He seemed like the same character from previous books, yet his name was different.

Another thing I enjoyed about 'A Vision of Lucy' were the new characters. David Wolf's story was really interesting, as was Lucy's. Some parts of this book were predictable for me and a couple of things I didn't care for all that much, but other than that I really liked 'A Vision of Lucy'.

I was somewhat disappointed when I read that this is the final book in the 'Rocky Creek Romance' series. But I'm looking forward to reading Margaret Brownley's next series 'Brides of Last Chance Ranch' which comes out sometime in 2012 (according to her website).

I recommend 'A Vision of Lucy' if you enjoy reading romance novels.

*I received 'A Vision Of Lucy' for free from the publisher through BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.*













Powered by Ingram Digital


Product details:


ISBN: 1595548114
ISBN-13: 9781595548115
Format: Trade Paper
Trim Size: 5.40 x 8.10 x 1.10      
Style#: 9781595548115
Page Count: 336

Thursday, June 16, 2011

A Suitor For Jenny (#2) by Margaret Brownley

A Suitor for Jenny (A Rocky Creek Romance, #2)A Suitor for Jenny by Margaret Brownley

My rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


The second book in the Rocky Creek Romance Series, 'A Suitor For Jenny', I found just as enjoyable (if not more) than the first book, 'A Lady Like Sarah'.

Many of the same characters from 'A Lady Like Sarah' make appearances in this book, including old man Hank Applegate, Pastor Justin Wells, Kip Barrel the barber, etc. I found some of the new characters funny, especially Mary Lou Higgins and Jeff Trevor.

I also found the plot interesting - three sisters coming to Rocky Creek, Texas to find 'suitable' husbands (ones that have adequate funds, pass the 'potential husband aptitude test', along with other requirements).

"I don't need a husband," Jenny said with as much regret as bitterness. The burdens of her past weighed heavily on her shoulders. At times she resented her sisters, resented the choices she'd made to provide for them after their father died. She loved them both dearly, of course. Still, it was hard not to resent the circumstances that had forced her to relinquish her own dreams of marriage. No decent man would ever want her as a wife, not after what she had done. - Page 12

The major themes in 'A Suitor For Jenny', from my viewpoint, was guilt, forgiveness and God's grace. Jenny Higgins and U.S. Marshall, Rhett Armstrong both struggled with guilt.

"There's a big difference between guilt and godly sorrow," she said. "Godly sorrow helps us to grow. Guilt is more likely to destroy us. There's only one cure that I know of, and that's God's grace." - Page 103

I don't feel it is necessary to read 'A Lady Like Sarah' first; however, I do think it adds something extra to 'A Suitor For Jenny' - mainly the background story to the people of Rocky Creek, Texas. I realize now that most of the duplicated words in 'A Lady Like Sarah' were part of the story. Mrs. Hitchcock often repeats herself.

Overall, I loved 'A Suitor For Jenny' and that's why I'm giving it such a high rating.

View all my reviews
















Powered by Ingram Digital

Monday, June 13, 2011

A Lady Like Sarah (#1) by Margaret Brownley

A Lady Like Sarah (A Rocky Creek Romance, #1)A Lady Like Sarah by Margaret Brownley

My rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

'A Lady Like Sarah' is mainly about a pastor and an outlaw. Justin Wells, the previous pastor of a church in Boston, is making an adventurous journey to Rocky Creek, TX to pastor a church. Along the way he encounters U.S. Marshall's, locust, Indians, a stampede, & an outlaw.

Justin and the outlaw, Sarah Prescott, created a bond when traveling this journey to Rocky Creek together. She's a Prescott, the sister to one of the most wanted outlaw gangs in Rocky Creek. She wants a normal life-to find a husband and start a family. But since she's an outlaw, will she be able to?

"If only she wasn't a Prescott. Why hadn't someone helped her & her brothers through their grief following the loss of their parents? Someone like Justin? Would that have made the difference?"

I didn't know how much I would enjoy 'A Lady Like Sarah', but found that I enjoyed it very much. Once I got used to the old west theme and characters, I thoroughly enjoyed 'A Lady Like Sarah'. The characters were funny and kept my attention.

Throughout 'A lady Like Sarah' there was a story of grace and miracles.

One of the reasons I didn't give this a higher rating is because, in my opinion, there seemed to be a lot of typos and duplicated words. Another reason is it was hard to understand the meaning of some sentences.

Overall though, a great story that held my attention and kept me slightly on the edge of my seat. I'm looking forward to reading 'A Suitor For Jenny'.

I recommend 'A Lady Like Sarah' if you enjoy reading historical, western, or romance novels.

View all my reviews


    A Lady Like Sarah Book Trailer

    Wednesday, June 8, 2011

    Judgment Day by Wanda L.Dyson

    Judgment Day by Wanda L. Dyson

    My rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


    "As long as there are people out there who betray our trust, there will be Judgment Day with Suzanne Kidwell. Good night America. I'll see you next week."

    Suzanne Kidwell is a Journalist that hears a rumor and doesn't look for facts, yet reports and convicts people of guilt. This time she has accused the wrong person. Someone is found dead on Suzanne's living room floor. She's accused of murder, yet she's innocent. She thinks she's being framed and thinks she knows who framing her. To find the evidence, she needs the help of PI Marcus Crisp, her ex-fiance, who caught her cheating on him. Will he help her and be able to keep her alive long enough to unveil the culprit?

    I've read 'Abduction', 'Obsession' & 'Intimidation' by Wanda L. Dyson. I really enjoyed those books, so I thought that I would like 'Judgment Day' as well. I was not disappointed.

    'Judgment Day' was really easy to read. It flowed nicely and held my attention. I felt like I was watching a movie when reading this. The characters were funny, yet intriguing. The plot was believable and overall I just really liked it.

    I found it pretty ironic that Suzanne accused people of being guilty of a crime when she didn't have any evidence, just mere speculation, and then almost the same thing happened to her. What Suzanne's cellmate said summed that up pretty well:

    "You need to stop judging by mere appearances and make right judgments. If you are without sin, be the first to throw a stone."

    "Why don't you judge your own faults? You teach others; why don't you teach yourself? A false witness offers nothing but lies and will perish and whoever listens to his lies will be destroyed forever. For out of that corrupt heart comes nothing but lies and slander."

    When I reached the final chapters, 'Judgment Day' became impossible to put down. I had to know what happened. If you enjoy reading a good suspense/mystery, then I would recommend 'Judgment Day'.

    To read an except on 'Judgment Day' click here.

    View all my reviews



      Judgment Day Book Trailer






      Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.