Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Monthly Reflections (2)


Photobucket

Monthly Reflections, where we take the time to reflect on the previous month.

My goals for February were...

Read 10-12 books, including:
☐ 1 eBook
☐ 1 "Just for Fun" book
☐ A book starting with the letter E
☐ A book starting with the letter N
☐ 1 book from my TBR pile! :)
☐ 1 YA book
☐ Complete another reading challenge
☐ Have 2-3 giveaways! (not including blogoversary)

In February, I...


☑ I read 10 books
☐ I read 0 eBooks
1 "Just for Fun" book
☐ Did not read a book starting with the letter E
Did not read a book starting with the letter N
☑ Read 1 book from my TBR pile!
☐ Didn't read any YA books
☐ Didn't complete another reading challenge.. :(
☑ Had 3 giveaway! (not including blogoversary)


Books read: 




My favorite book I read in February was Frantic or When The Smoke Clears! Both of those books were fantastic! :D

Reviews:


In Too Deep by Mary Connealy
Honor Redeemed by Loree Lough
An Amish Family Reunion by Mary Ellis
Princess in Peril by Rachelle McCalla
Peril by Suzanne Hartmann
Warring Spirits by April Gardner
When the Smoke Clears by Lynette Eason
Frantic by Mike Dellosso

Interviews:


DiAnn Mills (blogoversary celebration)
Susan Meissner (blogoversary celebration)
Colleen Coble (blogoversary celebration)
Candy Ann Little
Julie Klassen
Mike Dellosso

Looking ahead:


I'm setting my goals for March really low, considering I didn't make most of my goals for February.


Here is what I hope to accomplish in March...

Read 9-10 books, including:
☐ 1 eBook (I'm thinking Bourne...)
☐ 1 "Just for Fun" book
☐ A book starting with the letter N
☐ 1 book from my TBR pile! :)
☐ 1 YA book


Now it's your turn! What did you accomplish in February, what do you hope to accomplish in March? 


If you want to do your own Monthly Reflections, feel free to grab the button and post about it on your blog, then leave a comment with the URL - otherwise, please share your thoughts in a comment!


Thanks so much for taking the time to read this post! I hope you enjoyed seeing what I accomplished! :D

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Interview & Giveaway! Mike Dellosso ~ Author of Frantic!

Welcome to Christian Bookshelf Reviews, Mike! Will you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi Melanie, well, I'm turning 40 this year. In some ways I feel much younger than that but in other ways I swear I must be hitting 50. My wife and I are also celebrating 15 years of marriage this year. I have four daughters and work full-time in physical therapy. Writing is a passion of mine but right now one I can only do on a part-time basis. I do my writing in the early morning while everyone else is still sleeping. That way it doesn't interfere with family time and responsibilities. I'm also a cancer survivor, been free of colon cancer now for 4 years. God has blessed me in more ways than I deserve and I just want to honor him with the ability and opportunity he's given me to write.

 What is Frantic about?

Frantic is about Marny Toogood, a regular guy thrust into an extraordinary circumstance. He embarks on a mission to rescue Esther and her little brother William from their deranged and overly-possessive "uncle," Gary. What he doesn't realize is that the evil that lurks in Gary is much darker than he ever expected. Soon his world becomes one of running for his life, near death experiences, serial killers, and a boy with a very unusual gift that will change Marny's life forever.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

September, 1998. My brother-in-law was in a very serious motorcycle accident and given little chance to survive. I turned to writing as a way of dealing with the emotional upheaval I experienced. It was an outlet. I fell in love with it and haven't stopped writing since. By God's grace, my brother-in-law pulled through is just fine now.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

Frantic is my fifth novel. I've also written The Hunted, Scream, Darlington Woods, Darkness Follows. My favorite is a toss-up between Darlington Woods and Frantic. I love DW because it was the first book I wrote coming off my battle with cancer and so much of my own struggles and fears and anxieties and uncertainties made it into the story. So much of the story is symbolic for me. Frantic I love because of the trio of main characters. I just adore them.

Where do you get your information and/or ideas for your books?

Ideas come from a million different sources. I'm always looking for ideas. As I walk through the mall, work with my patients, drive around town, read the paper, watch the news, talk to different people. I'm constantly filing things away in my brain for later use in a story.  I get information from research. I don't do a ton of research for a novel, just enough to make it feel authentic and make it look like I know what I'm talking about :) I do online research, sometimes visit the locations, talk to experts (police, lawyers, doctors, etc.). Whatever it takes to get those details right. Details make all the difference and give the story and setting a feel of authenticity.

What would you say is the best and/or worst part about being a writer?

Best part is knowing I'm making a difference in the life of readers. My stories all contain very meaningful and profound themes and I get a lot of feedback from readers about that. It's important to me to make my writing count and it brings great satisfaction knowing the message is getting through.

The worst thing is the insecurity writing brings. A writer lives (in a loose sense of the word) one contract to the next. And everything depends on sales and impact. There's no let up on the uncertainty about how a manuscript is going to be received, how the editing is going to go, how the book will be received in the market place, how reviews will go, how sales will pan out. I'm learning to just trust God, to do my best and then put it in his capable hands and not worry about it.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
How vulnerable I could be on the page. I use my own experiences and emotional blue print a lot when creating characters. I can really pour my soul out on the page and the reader never has to know how personal I'm getting. Also, the freedom writing gives me to express myself. My whole life I've struggled with stuttering. When I was young (through college) it was really bad. Ever see The King's Speech? Yeah, it was that bad. So mostly I stayed quiet because talking was just too much of a chore and embarrassment. When I started writing I found a freedom I'd never known before. I'd found my voice and could say exactly what I wanted to say and express myself exactly how I wanted to without stuttering. 

What do you like to do when you're not writing?

Spend time with my family. I adore my family and wouldn't want to be with anyone else except them. I'm a homebody by nature and just love being around my wife and kids. I used to enjoy golf, but then it got too expensive and I got too short on time. I like watching movies, reading, hiking.


What are three things you wouldn't want to do without (besides the Bible, food, and family)?

Really? I could do without anything except those three. Okay, maybe clothes, a house. But as far as material things go I have little connections. I need my computer for writing; it's kind of part of the job. And I need a car to get around. So maybe those two.

Is there a place you’d like to visit, but haven’t yet?

I'd love to go to New Zealand or anywhere in Italy or Ireland.

Do you have a favorite song and/or movie?

Favorite movies . . . Suspense: I am Legend; Action: The Bourne Trilogy; Fantasy: Lord of the Rings; Sci Fi: Star Wars (episodes 4, 5, 6); Drama: Last of the Mohicans; War: The Patriot or Blackhawk Down; Comedy: Get Smart.

Favorite songs . . . I enjoy Christian music and various artists rather than individual songs . . . Toby Mac, Building 429, Casting Crowns, Michael W. Smith, Mercy Me, Skillet, etc.

Do you have any favorite authors?

On the suspense/horror side of things I love Dean Koontz and Stephen King. Other authors I enjoy are Charles Martin, Dale Cramer, Nicholas Sparks.

Do you have a favorite Bible verse?

Joshua 1:9 . . . Haven't I commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Don't be afraid or discouraged for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

Are you currently working on any new novels? If so, could you tell us a little about it?

Yes! Always. I have a novella coming out in May titled Rear View. It's part of a seven-part anthology called 7 Hours. I got together with six other authors and we all wrote a novella concerning a central character, Thomas Constant, and a unique gift he gives folk on their death bed. The other authors are Rene Gutteridge, Ronie Kendig, Travis Thrasher, Tom Pawlik, Robin Parrish, and James Wilson. Look for it in e-book version first releasing May 7 from Tyndale.

I'm also working on the edits for my next novel, A Thousand Sleepless Nights, releasing in October. Can't say too much about that right now other than it will be a big change for me and point my writing in a whole new direction.

Thank you so much for being here! Where can we find you on the web?

You can follow my blog at www.mikedellosso.wordpress.com or like my Facebook page at www.facebook.com/mikedellosso. I'm also on Twitter:www.twitter.com/mikedellosso. Thanks for having me!

Book giveaway!


Enter to win a copy of Frantic! You can read my review here. US and Canada only.

Enter by filling out the Rafflecopter below (here is a tutorial, if you aren't familiar with Rafflecopter). The mandatory entry is to leave a blog post comment on this blog post - after you do that, the other entries will become available... So, what are you waiting for? Go ENTER! :)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Review: Words Spoken True by Ann H. Gabhart


~Review Copy~
Words Spoken True by Ann H. Gabhart
Revell ~ February, 2012
Amazon / Goodreads / Christianbook

About the book:


Adriane Darcy was practically raised in her father's newspaper offices. She can't imagine life without the clatter of the press and the push to be first to write the news that matters. Their Tribune is the leading paper in Louisville in 1855. Then Blake Garrett, a brash young editor from the North with a controversial new style of reporting, takes over failing competitor the Herald, and the battle for readers gets fierce. 

When Adriane and Blake meet at a benefit tea, their surprising mutual attraction is hard to ignore. Still, Blake is the enemy, and Adriane is engaged to the son of a powerful businessman who holds the keys to the Tribune's future. Blake will stop at almost nothing to get the story—and the girl. Can he do both before it's too late? 

Set against the volatile backdrop of political and civil unrest in 1850s Louisville, this exciting story of love and loyalty will hold readers in its grip until the very last page. Bestselling author Ann H. Gabhart once again delivers an enthralling and enduring tale for her loyal and ever-expanding fan base.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


My thoughts:

I haven't read any of Ann H. Gabhart's other novels, but after reading Words Spoken True, I look forward to reading more of her books in the future.

I found Words Spoken True to be very unique and enjoyable to read. While it's a historical novel, there was a lot of suspense (and I do mean a LOT), in part because of the serial killer named "The River Slasher" and trying to catch him/her. I don't think I've ever read a historical book before that had a serial killer in it... or even heard of one.

And while Words Spoken True was heavy on the suspense (which I loved) it also had much romance - so for those who love romantic books, this is for you!

There are a few really intimate scenes (i.e. a marriage being consummated) and while I didn't love these scenes being in the book, it fit the story and wasn't explicit - so I didn't have a problem with it.

Ann Gabhart had great characters in Words Spoken True - I loved them! My favorites were Adriane, Blake, Beck, and Duff (oh, and Mr. O'Mallory, the old dog!). The way Blake and Adriane acted toward one another from the beginning was just hilarious and sweet! Yes, their papers were enemies, but in spite of that, they both felt attractions toward each other.

"The River Slasher" was really, really creepy... how he/she was so cold and evil was just horrible! I was very uncertain about what might happen at the end of the book and found Words Spoken True hard to put down!

Words Spoken True was a great book that I absolutely loved reading! I am very much hoping for a sequel and I recommend it if you enjoy romance novels with suspense! :)

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*


“Available February 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.” 


Was my review helpful? If so, please click yes on Amazon. :)

Friday, February 24, 2012

Weekend Report (18)

Photobucket

  

Weekend Report is where I share what I accomplished (book-wise) the previous week! Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Report on your blog/site. If you do, please leave the URL in a comment below.


What I'm currently reading:

I literally just started this book - I'm on page one!

What I've read this week:



Both of these books were great! Frantic is on my "favorite's shelf" and Words Spoken True was so close to being there too! I posted my review of Frantic yesterday and tomorrow I'll be posting my review of Words Spoken True. =D

What I plan on reading soon:



I am SUPER excited about both of these books!

I've only read one book by Laurie Alice Eakes (Necessary Deception) and I absolutely loved that book (it's a favorite of mine). I am really looking forward to reading Heart's Safe Passage.

You might already know this, but I am a huge River of Time fan. I've read Waterfall, Cascade, and Torrent - each one was fantastic!!! I can hardly wait to dive back into The River of Time series in Bourne! But, I have to read Ruby Dawn and Heart's Safe Passage first because the tours are NEXT WEEK! Eek! I have to read, read, and read! :)


Reviews posted this week:


When the Smoke Clears by Lynette Eason
Frantic by Mike Dellosso

Current Giveaways!


Photobucket

Enter to win an eBook copy of The Unwilling Bride. Open Internationally, as long as you can receive an Amazon gift. Enter here.




Enter to win The Maid of Fairbourne Hall by Julie Klassen! U.S. and Canada only. Enter here.

~

So that's what I accomplished (book-wise) this week, what about you?

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Review: Frantic by Mike Dellosso

It is time for a FIRST Wild Card Tour book review! If you wish to join the FIRST blog alliance, just click the button. We are a group of reviewers who tour Christian books. A Wild Card post includes a brief bio of the author and a full chapter from each book toured. The reason it is called a FIRST Wild Card Tour is that you never know if the book will be fiction, non~fiction, for young, or for old...or for somewhere in between! Enjoy your free peek into the book!

You never know when I might play a wild card on you!



Today's Wild Card author is:


and the book:

Realms (February 7, 2012)

***Special thanks to Jon Wooten of Charisma House for sending me a review copy.***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Mike Dellosso is the author of numerous novels of suspense, including Darkness Follows, Darlington Woods, and Scream. He is an adjunct professor of writing at Lancaster Bible College and frequent contributor to Christian websites and newsletters. Mike is a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers association, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance, the Relief Writer’s Network, and FaithWriters, and he plans to join International Thriller Writers. He earned his BA degree from Messiah College and his MBS from Master’s International School of Divinity. He lives in Hanover, PA, with his wife and daughters. Hometown: Hanover, PA


Visit the author's website.

SHORT BOOK DESCRIPTION:



Gas station attendant Marny Toogood thinks it’s just another ordinary day on the job until an urgent message from a young girl in the backseat of a car draws him into a daring rescue attempt. Now he is on the run with Esther and William Rose from their insane “uncle” who thinks it is his mission from God to protect William, a boy with incredible faith that gives him supernatural powers.

As they face kidnapping, underground cults, and other evils, can Marny trust the simple faith of a child and stand his ground against a power so twisted?



Product Details:
List Price: $13.99

Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Realms (February 7, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1616384808
ISBN-13: 978-1616384807


AND NOW...THE FIRST CHAPTER:



    The night Marny Toogood was born it rained axheads and hammer handles.
  His grandfather made a prediction, said it was an omen of some sort, that it meant Marny’s life would be stormy, full of rain clouds and lightning strikes. Wanting to prove her father wrong, Janie Toogood named her son Marnin, which means “one who brings joy,” instead of the Mitchell she and her husband had agreed on.
 But in spite of Janie’s good intentions, and regardless of what his birth certificate said, Marny’s grandfather was right.
 At the exact time Marny was delivered into this world and his grandfather was portending a dark future, Marny’s father was en route to the hospital from his job at Winden’s Furniture Factory where he was stuck working the graveyard shift. He’d gotten the phone call that Janie was in labor, dropped his hammer, and run out of the plant. Fifteen minutes from the hospital his pickup hit standing water, hydroplaned, and tumbled down a steep embank- ment, landing in a stand of eastern white pines. The coroner said he experienced a quick death; he did not suffer.
 One week after Marny’s birth his grandfather died of a heart attack. He didn’t suffer either.
 Twenty-six years and a couple of lifetimes of hurt later, Marny found himself working at Condon’s Gas ’n Go and living above the garage in a small studio apartment George Condon rented to
1



    Mike Dellosso 
him for two hundred bucks a month. It was nothing special, but it was a place to lay his head at night and dream about the dark cloud that stalked him.
 But his mother had told him every day until the moment she died that behind every rain cloud is the sun, just waiting to shine its light and dry the earth’s tears.
 Marny  held  on  to  that  promise  and  thought  about  it  every night before he succumbed to sleep and entered a world that was as unfriendly and frightening as any fairy tale forest, the place of his dreams, the only place more dark and foreboding than his life.
  On the day reality collided with the world of Marny’s night- mares, it was hotter than blazes, strange for a June day in Maine. The sun sat high in the sky, and waves of heat rolled over the asphalt lot at the Gas ’n Go. The weather kept everyone indoors, which meant business was slow for a Saturday. Marny sat in the garage bay waiting for Mr. Condon to take his turn in checkers and wiped the sweat from his brow.
    Man, it’s hot.”
    Mr. Condon didn’t look up from the checkerboard. “Ayuh.
Wicked hot. Newsman said it could hit ninety.”
    “So it’ll probably get up to ninety-five.”
    Mr. Condon rubbed at his white stubble. “Ayuh.”
He was sixty-two and looked it. His leather-tough skin was
creased with deep wrinkles. Lots of smile lines. Marny had worked
for him for two years but had known the old mechanic his whole
life.
    Mr. Condon made his move then squinted at Marny. Behind
him Ed Ricker’s Dodge truck rested on the lift. The transmis-
sion had blown, and Mr. Condon should have been working
on it instead of playing checkers. But old Condon kept his own
schedule. His customers never complained. George Condon was
the best, and cheapest, mechanic around. He’d been getting cars
and trucks through one more Maine winter for forty years.
    Marny studied the checkerboard, feeling the weight of Mr.
Condon’s dark eyes on him, and was about to make his move
    2



     
Fr antic 
when the bell chimed, signaling someone had pulled up to the pump island. Condon’s was the only full-service station left in the Down East, maybe in the whole state of Maine.
 Despite the heat, Mr. Condon didn’t have one droplet of sweat on his face. “Cah’s waitin’, son.”
 Marny glanced outside at the tendrils of heat wriggling above the lot, then at the checkerboard. “No cheating.”
    His opponent winked. “No promises.”
    Pushing back his chair, Marny stood and wiped more sweat
from his brow, then headed outside.
    The car at the pump was a 1990s model Ford Taurus, faded blue
with a few rust spots around the wheel wells. The windows were
rolled down, which probably meant the air-conditioning had quit
working. This was normally not a big deal in Maine, but on a rare
day like this, the driver had to be longing for cool air.
    Marny had never seen the vehicle before. The driver was a large
man, thick and broad. He had close-cropped hair and a smooth,
round face. Marny had never seen him before either.
    He approached the car and did his best to be friendly. “Mornin’.
Hot one, isn’t it?”
    The driver neither smiled nor looked at him. “Fill it up. Regular.”
    Marny headed to the rear of the car and noticed a girl in the
backseat. A woman, really, looked to be in her early twenties. She
sat with her hands in her lap, head slightly bowed. As he passed
the rear window she glanced at him, and there was something in
her eyes that spoke of sorrow and doom. Marny recognized the
look because he saw it in his own eyes every night in the mirror.
He smiled, but she quickly diverted her gaze.
    As he pumped the gas, Marny watched the girl, studied the
back of her head. She was attractive in a plain way, a natural pret-
tiness that didn’t need any help from cosmetics. Her hair was rich
brown and hung loosely around her shoulders. But it was her eyes
that had captivated him. They were as blue as the summer sky, but
so sad and empty. Marny wondered what the story was between
the man and girl. He was certainly old enough to be her father. He
3



    Mike Dellosso 
looked stern and callous, maybe even cruel. Marny felt for her, for her unhappiness, her life.
  He caught the man watching him in the side mirror and looked at the pump’s gauge. A second later the nozzle clicked off, and he returned it to the pump. He walked back to the driver’s window. “That’ll be forty-two.”
 While the man fished around in his back pocket for his wallet, Marny glanced at the girl again, but she kept her eyes down on her hands.
 You folks local?” Marny said, trying to get the man to open up a little.
    The driver handed Marny three twenties but said nothing. Marny counted off eighteen dollars in change. “You new in the
area? I don’t think I’ve seen you around here before. Lately, seems more people have been moving out than in.”
  Still nothing. The man took the money and started the car. Before pulling out he nodded at Marny. There was something in the way he moved his head, the way his eyes sat in their sockets, the way his forehead wrinkled ever so slightly, that made Marny shiver despite the heat.
 The car rolled away from the pump, asphalt sticking to the tires, and exited the lot. Marny watched until it was nearly out of sight, then turned to head back to the garage and Mr. Condon and the game of checkers. But a crumpled piece of paper on the ground where the Taurus had been parked caught his attention. He picked it up and unfurled it. Written in all capital letters was a message:
    HE’S GOING TO KILL ME











     
    4

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!

My thoughts:

I had a feeling before I even started Frantic, that I would enjoy it - I just didn't know how much! As you can see, it's one of my favorite books now and I absolutely loved it! From the opening scene when Marny Toogood reads the note left by Esther, and then attempts to rescue her and her brother, I was drawn into the story.

Frantic had non-stop suspense and so many twists. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen, something totally unexpected occurred! It definitely kept me "on-the-edge" of my seat!

Marny Toogood was probably my favorite character from Frantic. I loved seeing his character grow and I really hope there will be a sequel with him and the other main characters.

While Frantic is the first book I've read by Mike Dellosso, I now plan on reading his other books (especially Scream).

Anybody who loves suspense and/or thrillers has to read Frantic - it was great and I highly recommend it!

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher via FIRST for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

"Waiting On" Wednesday: Placebo by Steven James


Hosted by Breaking the Spine.

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're
eagerly anticipating.

 This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Placebo: A Jevin Banks Novel by Steven James
Revell ~ November, 2012

About the book:

While covertly investigating a controversial neurological research program, exposé filmmaker Jevin Banks is drawn into a far-reaching conspiracy involving one of the world's largest pharmaceutical firms. After giving up his career as an escape artist and illusionist in the wake of his wife and sons' tragic death, Jevin is seeking not only answers about the questionable mind-to-mind communication program, but also answers to why his family suffered as they did.

Rooted in ground-breaking science and inspired by actual research, Placebo explores the far reaches of science, consciousness, and faith. Readers will love this taut, intelligent, and emotionally gripping new thriller from master storyteller Steven James.

~

I am so looking forward to this book! Steven James' books are always so suspenseful and I'm sure Placebo will be no different! This is a must read for me and I am anxiously awaiting it! :)

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Interview & Giveaway! Julie Klassen ~ Author of The Maid of Fairbourne Hall!

Welcome to Christian Bookshelf Reviews, Julie!! Will you tell us a little about yourself? 

Thanks, I'm happy to be here. I am from Illinois originally and graduated from the University of Illinois with a degree in advertising. I worked in marketing and then as an editor for Bethany House Publishers for many years before becoming a full-time writer. I live in Minnesota with my husband of 21 years, our two sons, a cat named Mojo, and a herd of dust bunnies.

What inspired The Maid of Fairbourne Hall?

I’ve wanted to write a book like this for some time, first of all, because the books I write are set at a time and place (early 1800s England) where live-in servants were common. Second, because I really enjoy programs like Upstairs Downstairs and Downton Abbey which portray the lives of servants as well as those they serve.

What is something the average reader wouldn't know about you?

Readers I meet in person are often surprised to discover I’m tall (5’10”). I must look smaller in photographs!

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I have enjoyed writing stories since the second grade, according to a faded report card. And throughout school and college I took many literature and writing courses. But it wasn’t until later, after working in advertising, then as an editor, that I got serious about writing and completed my first novel.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

Perhaps that I “cast” my characters, choosing actors or models for each main character before I write a new book. This helps me to see my characters as “real” people, to differentiate them from other characters, even to begin “hearing” their voices. (Yes, my husband is worried--I’m hearing voices in my head. And they all have English accents. :))

How many books have you written? Do you have a favorite?

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall is my 5th book to date, and I am working on a 6th. My first published novel (Lady of Milkweed Manor) will always be special to me, but otherwise, I seem to have a new favorite each time a new book releases. It’s the honeymoon phase, I suppose.

What would you say is the best and/or worst part about being a writer?

The best part is the fulfillment of knowing I’m doing what God wired me to do--and for His glory. Being an author is a lifelong dream come true! But it is probably the hardest work I’ve ever done.

What do you like to do when you're not writing?

I enjoy watching period dramas, going out to dinner with friends, watching my sons play basketball, and traveling with my husband.

Is there a place you’d like to visit, but haven’t yet?

My husband and I would like to visit Ireland and/or Scotland one of these days.
  
Do you have a favorite song and/or movie?

My favorite hymn is Great is Thy Faithfulness. And I loved the mini-series based on Elizabeth Gaskell’s novel, North and South.

Do you have a favorite Bible verse?

“For we are God’s workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” --Ephesians 2:10

Are you currently working on any new novels? If so, could you give us a hint?

Yes, I am working on my next stand-alone Regency-era novel, called The Tutor’s Daughter. More details will be shared at my Facebook party on March 15th. Hope to see you there.

Thanks so much for being here! Is there anything else you’d like to tell readers and where can we find you on the web?

I enjoy connecting with readers. Please feel free to send me an email through my website (www.julieklassen.com) or to find me at “Author Julie Klassen” on Facebook. Thanks--and thanks for having me here.


Book Giveaway!


Enter to win a copy of The Maid of Fairbourne Hall! You can read my review here. This giveaway is open to residents of US and Canada only. 


The mandatory entry is to leave a blog post comment on this post. Also, for those who leave comments as anonymous, would you please leave your name in the comment (so I can match it with Rafflecopter)? Thanks! :)

Enter using the Rafflecopter below! :)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 20, 2012

Here's a great contest...

H2O the Novel

Okay, I didn't have anything to post today, so I thought I'd share a great giveaway Brannon Hollingsworth has on Goodreads!

Every week, you can enter his Question Contest (currently on week 10) on Goodreads! The prize? A signed copy of H2O the Novel by Austin Boyd and Brannon Hollingsworth!

To read the rules/how to enter, click this link: Question Contest - Week 10

So, are you going to enter? Let me know in a comment below! :)
Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.