Featured Post

15 Books To Get Off My TBR This Fall

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Monthly Reflections (#28) ~ April + Kindle Freebie!

Photobucket

Monthly Reflections, where we take the time to reflect on the previous month.

My goals for April were...

Read 12 books, including at least one nonfiction.

Books read:

Review: The Wife Campaign by Regina Scott


About the book:
Three Candidates. One Perfect Bride. 

Whitfield Calder, Earl of Danning, would much rather spend a fortnight tending to his estate than entertaining three eligible young ladies. But when his valet insists that marriage is an earl's duty, Whit agrees to the house party. He has no intention of actually proposing to anyone…until flame-haired Ruby Hollingsford declares she'd never accept him anyway.

Ruby has been tricked into attending this charade, but she certainly won't compete for the earl's attentions. Yet, Whit isn't the selfish aristocrat she envisioned. And with a little trust, two weeks may prove ample time for an unlikely couple to fall headlong into love.

The Master Matchmakers: Wedding bells will ring when downstairs servants play Cupid for upstairs aristocracy

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


My thoughts:

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Review: Silenced by Dani Pettrey


About the book:
Jake Knew Something Was Wrong. 
But He Never Guessed How Wrong. 

A relaxing day of rock climbing takes a disturbing turn when Kayden McKenna's route brings her face-to-face with a dead climber. Is it a terrible accident or something darker? When the case is handed to overburdened sheriff Landon Grainger, he turns to Jake Westin for help. With Jake's past now revealed, he's ready to use his talent for investigation again--but he could never prepare for where the mystery will take him.

Kayden's climbing expertise soon leads her and Jake to the realization that the death was no accident. And worse, it seems the killer is onto them. When strange things begin happening in Yancey, Jake is terrified that once again his world may put someone he loves in danger. But the truth is far worse than he could ever imagine. 

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


My thoughts:

Monday, April 28, 2014

Child of Grace Blog Tour & Giveaway! (Interview with Miranda A. Uyeh)



A NOVEL 
Two men, one woman, a rosebush … 
… a terrible past, an uncertain future 

Jennifer, a woman unexpectedly trapped in a path of love and passion against everything she believes. 

Rodrigo, a man set to get what he wants at the cost of what matterss most. 

Stefano, a man with a past, a story to tell and passion to offer. 

Chidi, a friend in need, a friend indeed. Or not?

From a culture where good girls follow the norm and live as they’ve been told, Jennifer is no different  from any other girl until by happenstance, she meets and falls in love with Rodrigo, a man who’s handsome, rich and foreign. Different. She has no idea who he is or what he does, and is swept into a world of romance and passion. It is not long before she discovers a shocking truth that shakes both her world and his. 

Then he is gone. 

Stefano shows up at a time when Jennifer has made up her mind about the rules of life. He thinks she’s beautiful and is in love with her. In a bid to convince her to give him a chance in her life, old memories once buried are brought to life. And the events that follow don’t leave anyone unaffected by the truth of the past that was left unsettled.

Meanwhile, Jennifer with her friend Chidi, find themselves on a self-discovery journey that has one of them raising questions. 

Some just have to ask, where is God in all this? 

… an inspirational romance, from Lagos to Italy.


Praise for To Die Once 

"A little mystery, a bit of intrigue, a lot of romance. To Die Once is a Christian romance with real characters facing deep issues. The emotional writing is truly heart-felt. This is Ms. Uyeh's debut novel and thankfully, this won't be the last." —K. Victoria Chase, Bestselling author of From Across The Divide, Virginia Justice, Raphael: volume 1, Santiago Brothers book series.

"Miranda Uyeh has penned a novel full of heart. To Die Once is a story alternately thorny and tender that tackles the various forms of love - romance, friendship, and faith - in unique settings and situations. Often surprising, consistently intriguing, Uyeh's debut is a bold start to her blossoming writing career." — Amber Stokes, Author of "The Heart's Spring" Series

"A fun inspirational romance read" — Rektok Ross, Best selling YA Romance author of Prodigal 

Author’s Note 

This is a story centered on God’s healing power of grace and mercy. People like Jennifer, Rodrigo (and Stefano), and Chidi exist in our world today, hurting from the choices and the mistakes they’d made in the past, and seeking redemption/solace in any way possible, even from vices like alcohol. If you find yourself in such a position, or you know someone drowning in pain, please, let them know that God’s arms are wide-open to receive and heal anyone who will earnestly come to Him. He says in His Word in Heb. 4:16 that we can come boldly before the throne of grace to seek grace and mercy for when we need it. Do not lose hope that you can be healed and fully restored. There is no sin that God can’t forgive, and there’s no one He’ll turn away. Come to Him today and receive your healing!  

Signed, 
Miranda A. Uyeh, 
A Child of Grace. 
Welcome to Christian Bookshelf Reviews, Miranda!! Will you tell us a little about yourself? 
A – Thank you, Melanie! So glad to be here today! I’m a blogger, a judge for the INSPY Book Awards, a book/entertainment reviewer for Christian works, a professional blurb constructor, and an assistant lecturer at a college.

What is your debut novel, To Die Once, about?
A – To Die Once centers on the grace of God and His healing power of redemption, told through the story of characters who’d made bad decisions, drawn wrong conclusions, and were facing the consequences. Of course, being a romance it ended on a positive note!

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer? 
A – When I was thirteen, after I’d read my first soft Christian Romance by Norma Jean Lutz. I soon forgot about it, though, because I delved into mainstream. God, however, lovingly reminded me of who I am. I wrote all about it in this post, Why I Believe In Christian Fiction.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? 
A – For the life of me I really can’t understand my procrastination. I suddenly have an idea; I feel so excited and I’m anxious about it. I know I should sit down and get to work while it’s still fresh in my head. But then, I suddenly remember I have to do the dishes, or the laundry, or to eat, or even go to bank, and I’m sometimes silly enough to believe that it’s better to get EVERYTHING done before I put down this one idea. The hours I spend putting it off sometimes multiply into days. It could be so distressing! I’ve heard that a lot of writers have this problem, too. Thankfully, I’m learning to curb this behavior and organize my time better.

Where do you like to write? 
A – I have a table in my bedroom. It’s a space I, and everyone, know is private to me. And I love the idea of sitting up straight to work on my laptop.

What do you like to do when you're not writing? 
A – Read, read, read, watch movies, write, write, write, and then read some more! If only life would grant this luxury every single moment! But there’s life outside books and movies, you know.

What is your favorite genre to read and why?
A – Ah! Romance, of course! And when it’s garnished with fantasy, history—kind of like Serena Chase’s books, or MaryLu Tyndall’s—it’s even better! And why? Because it’s where a girl’s favorite dreams come true! Could life get any better?

What is your least favorite genre to read?
A – Sadly, memoirs, biographies/autobiographies. I say sadly because a lot of times, they contain such wisdom. I do try to read them a few times, though, but not so much.

Is there a place you'd like to visit, but haven’t yet? 
A – Oh, yes! Paris and Barbados! Switzerland is third on my list.

Do you have a favorite Bible verse? 
A – Not a favorite verse, but a variety of them: Psalm 56:8; Heb 4:16; John 10:10 … the list could go on.

Do you have a favorite song and/or movie? 
A – My favorite song is You See Through Me by Chris Taylor. A favorite movie? No. But I have a list of my personal classics.

What is your favorite holiday? 
A – Without blinking, Christmas! It is the one holiday that something in the air changes. The very season sings and agrees with the holiday.

What is your favorite season and why is it your fav?
A – I’m not particular about seasons, but I love rain—when I’m indoors of course! The cool breeze during and afterwards, and the freshness of the air just makes me giddy!

Some this-or-that questions:
Snowstorms or Thunderstorms? A - Thunderstorms
Chocolate or Vanilla? A – Vanilla. Unless it’s cake!
Tea or Coffee? A - Tea
Call or Text? A - Text
Cats or Dogs? A - Dogs
Early-bird or Night-owl? A – Night-owl
Introvert or Extrovert? A - Extrovert
Facebook or Twitter? A - Twitter
Mystery or Romance? A - Romance
Sneakers or Sandals? A – For goodness sake, do I have to choose?

Are you currently working on any new novels? If so, could you give us a hint? 
A – Oh, yes. I’m working on book #2 of the Child of Grace Series, To Lie Once. This story is centered on Jennifer’s sister, Joyce. It’s a “good girl gone bad” story. I’m having a blast writing this one!

Thank you so much for being here! Is there anything else you’d like to tell readers and where can we find you on the web?
A – Readers, I hope you read and enjoy To Die Once, and the rest of the books in the Child of Grace Series. If you want to chat about it, or anything else, you can always find me on my blog (mautobeaperson.wodpress.com), facebook (facebook.com/ToBeAPerson), twitter (@Rini_MAU), google+ (+Miranda A. Uyeh), goodreads (Miranda Uyeh), Shelfari (Miranda A. Uyeh), and Scripity (stargirl).

I would certainly love to hear from you! You can also follow the twitter hashtag #ToDieOnce and join the bloggers having fun with me via the conversation threads. You’re most welcome to do so. Also, To Die Once has a pinterest board where the book comes alive in pictures. Of course, it makes better sense after you’ve read the book. But do stop by and take a look!

Blog Tour Giveaway

10 winners will be drawn every week via the rafflecopter ticket every week making a total of 70 ebook winners all together. The winners will be announced every week on Miranda's blog on Sundays, but they will be emailed their ebooks after the tour. The giveaway is International.

Enter via the Rafflecopter below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #16

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Sunday, April 27, 2014

Review: Critical Condition by Richard Mabry


About the book:
Dr. Frasier couldn't save the gunshot victim on her front lawn. Now she's fighting for her own life.

It began as a quiet dinner party honoring Dr. Shannon Frasier's colleague, but became a nightmare when a man was shot on her lawn, reviving emotions from a similar episode a decade ago. Then a midnight call from her sister, Megan, causes Shannon to fear that her sister is on drugs again.

Her "almost-fiancé" Dr. Mark Gilbert's support only adds to Shannon's feelings of guilt, since she can't bring herself to fully commit to him. She turns for help to her pastor-father, only to learn that he's just been diagnosed with leukemia.

Shannon thought it couldn't get any worse. Then the late-night, threatening phone calls begin, the rough voice asking, "What did he say before he died?"

With everything around her in a critical state, simply staying alive will require all the resources and focus Shannon has.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


My thoughts:

Saturday, April 26, 2014

Giveaway For A Creston Mapes Book (Three Winners!)!

Creston Mapes is the author of several suspense books, including his current series "The Crittendon Files" (which I have on my to-read list). The first two books are available now and the third will release this coming June! You can read more about this series below and be sure to visit his website to find out about his other books: http://www.crestonmapes.com/ Also, there's a giveaway at the bottom of this post. ;)

Friday, April 25, 2014

Weekend Wrap-Up (April 25th)


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and hope to read this coming week, and (when applicable) the current giveaways/giveaway winners. Occasionally I'll post some other stuff as well. Be sure to follow my Pinterest boards "Free Kindle Books" and "Book Deals" to see the good deals/freebies I share about. :)

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've accomplished (reading-wise) this past week. :)

 What I've read this week:

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Review: Undeniably Yours by Becky Wade


Undeniably Yours by Becky Wade
Porter Family: Book One
Bethany House / 2013

About the book:
When Meg Cole's father dies unexpectedly, she's forced to return home to Texas and to Whispering Creek Ranch to take up the reins of his empire. The last thing she has the patience or the sanity to deal with? Her father's Thoroughbred racehorse farm. She gives its manager, Bo Porter, six months to close the place down.

Bo knows he ought to resent the woman who's determined to take from him the only job he ever wanted. But instead of anger, Meg evokes within him a profound desire to protect. The more time he spends with her, the more he longs to overcome every obstacle that separates them and earn her love.

Just when Meg realizes she can no longer deny the depth of her feelings for Bo, their fragile bond is broken by a force from Meg's past. Can their relationship--and their belief that God can work through every circumstance--survive? 

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


My thoughts:

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Review: The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen


The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
 The Ascendance Trilogy #1
Scholastic Press / 2012
~Mainstream YA Novel~

About the book:
THE FALSE PRINCE is the thrilling first book in a brand-new trilogy filled with danger and deceit and hidden identities that will have readers rushing breathlessly to the end.

In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king's long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner's motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword's point -- he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage's rivals have their own agendas as well.

As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner's sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

An extraordinary adventure filled with danger and action, lies and deadly truths that will have readers clinging to the edge of their seats.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
My thoughts:

Monday, April 21, 2014

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #15

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Weekend Wrap-Up (April 18th)


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and hope to read this coming week, and (when applicable) the current giveaways/giveaway winners. Occasionally I'll post some other stuff as well. Be sure to follow my Pinterest boards "Free Kindle Books" and "Book Deals" to see the good deals/freebies I share about. :)

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've accomplished (reading-wise) this past week. :)

 What I've read this week:

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Review & Giveaway: Remnants: Season of Wonder by Lisa T. Bergren


Remnants: Season of Wonder by Lisa T. Bergren
Blink / 2014

About the book:
Our coming was foretold by the elders--- Those who would change the future, just as the planet teetered on the edge of darkness.
Born on the prophesied day with birthmarks in the form of a crescent moon, they knew us immediately. Swaddled and screaming, we were spirited away by those who hid us, trained us, and kept us safe until our time came.
They poured their lives into us. Some died to save us.
And now we, the Remnants, protected by Knights of the Last Order, have gathered.
Called until we breathe our last ... to save the world.

Book Trailer:

 
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


My thoughts:

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

"Waiting On" Wednesday: When I Fall in Love (Christiansen Family) by Susan May Warren


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're
eagerly anticipating.

 This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Review: Own It: Leaving Behind a Borrowed Faith by Hayley DiMarco & Michael DiMarco


Own It: Leaving Behind a Borrowed Faith by Hayley DiMarco & Michael DiMarco
B & H / 2013

About the book:
It's time to stop borrowing or faking your faith . . . own it!

The feature film Grace Unplugged tells the story of Grace Trey, an eighteen year-old small town pastor's daughter who is also a phenomenal singer. But when she abruptly leaves home and finds instant Hollywood fame, the faith and relationships she grew up with are put to the test.

As seen in the movie, Own It challenges readers by asking what it means to really "own" your faith rather than just automatically or blindly following in the footsteps of friends or parents. Bestselling authors Michael and Hayley DiMarco will help you navigate what to do when faith meets real world challenges.

Renting, borrowing, or faking your faith is a waste of time. Own It is all about the supernatural reality that when you take hold of your faith, it's really God's love that takes hold of you. 

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucket


My thoughts:

Monday, April 14, 2014

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #14

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Saturday, April 12, 2014

Review: Dancing With Fireflies by Denise Hunter


Dancing With Fireflies by Denise Hunter
Chapel Spring: Book two
Thomas Nelson / 2014

About the book:
Jade returns home to Chapel Springs after years of protecting her fragile heart. Then along comes Daniel, making her long to dance again.

Creative and complicated, Jade McKinley felt like a weed in a rose garden growing up in Chapel Springs. When she left, she thought she’d never look back. But now, pregnant, alone, and broke, she has no other choice but to return.

The mayor of Chapel Springs, Daniel Dawson, has been an honorary member of the McKinley family for years. While his own home life was almost non-existent, Daniel fit right into the boisterous McKinley family. He’s loved Jade for years, but she always saw him as a big brother. Now that she’s back, his feelings are stronger than ever.

As Jade attempts to settle in, nothing feels right. God seems far away, she’s hiding secrets from her family, and she’s strangely attracted to the man who’s always called her “squirt." Finding her way home may prove more difficult than she imagined.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket


My thoughts: