Featured Post

15 Books To Get Off My TBR This Fall

Friday, October 31, 2014

Monthly Reflections (#34) ~ October | Random Reads (November)

Photobucket

Monthly Reflections, where we take the time to reflect on the previous month.

My goals for October were...

Finished 10 books, including:
September's and October's Random Reads


Books read:

Weekend Wrap-up (October 31) & Giveaway Winner!


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and hope to read this coming week, and (when applicable) the current giveaways/giveaway winners. Occasionally I'll post some other stuff as well. Be sure to follow my Pinterest boards "Free Kindle Books" and "Book Deals" to see the good deals/freebies I share about. :)

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've accomplished (reading-wise) this past week. :)

Thursday, October 30, 2014

Interview & Giveaway: Leah Good | Author of Counted Worthy!

 
Welcome to Christian Bookshelf Reviews, Leah!! Will you tell us a little about yourself? 
Hi! I’m thrilled to be here. As you know, my name is Leah E. Good. I’m 19 years old homeschool graduate and alumni of the CollegePlus program. I finished high school in 2011 and earned my bachelor’s degree in marketing in 2013. Writing and orphan care are my two passions. When I’m not blogging, you can usually find me reading or chatting with friends.

What is your novel, Counted Worthy, about?
Counted Worthy is about a young woman who takes on a corrupt government almost single-handedly. Her goal is to make people aware of the persecution of Christians in order to save her father’s life. Here’s the official synopsis.
 

Her father’s life hangs in the balance. No one with the power to help knows or cares. If she tries to save him, she could lead her friends to their deaths. If she does nothing, her father’s fate is certain. Can she evade a hostile police force and win public sympathy before it’s too late?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00OD4J9LA/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00OD4J9LA&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=XACKTUIIWAQREQ5OWhat would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? 
Nothing inspires me more than a seemingly impossible challenge. The outlines and rough drafts of three of the four novels I’ve written were completed in two months or less because I wanted to enter them in contests with a looming deadline. It does get stressful, but it keeps me productive.

What do you like to do when you're not writing? 
Read, blog, and hang out with friends.

What is your favorite genre to read and why?
That’s a hard question, because I’m not sure I have a favorite. Recently I’ve been reading mostly speculative (dytopian, fantasy, and mild sci-fi) and non-fiction. Historical fiction has been my favorite for most of my life, though.

What is your least favorite genre to read?
Romance. Hands down. Even strong romance threads in other genre’s turn me off. I don’t mind clean love stories, but very few romances fall into that category.

Do you have a favorite Bible verse? 
John 14:27 – Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you; not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. I have other favorites too, but that one tops the list.

What is your favorite holiday? 
Christmas. I love giving gifts, and I enjoy a lot of our family traditions surrounding Christmas. Our church also participates in some service projects that I love around the Christmas season. To top it off, I was born a week before Christmas, so a lot of fond birthday memories seem intertwined with Christmas cheer.

What is your favorite season and why is it your fav?
I’ve tried to figure out the answer to this question many times, and I still don’t have an answer. I love them all! My New England home experiences all four seasons very distinctly. Spring is full of fresh smells and new life. Summer is a time for swimming, sunscreen, and activity. Fall brings lovely crisp air and vibrant foliage. And during winter we all bundle up for snow shoveling and sledding. I guess my favorite thing about the seasons is how unique they are!

Some this-or-that questions:

Chocolate or Vanilla? Chocolate!
Cats or Dogs? Hands-down, dogs.
Early-bird or Night-owl? Night owl all the way.
Introvert or Extrovert? Extrovert
Mystery or Romance? Mystery.
Sneakers or Sandals? Sandals

Are you currently working on any new novels? If so, could you give us a hint? 
I’m always working on new novels. Right now I’m trying to come up with a sequel for Counted Worthy. I’m also working on a novel about a young man who goes on a missions trip and ends up fighting to protect a sweet orphan girl from human traffickers.

Thank you so much for being here! Is there anything else you’d like to tell readers and where can we find you on the web?
Thanks so much for having me here! I’m all over the web. I blog at http://leahegood.com and http://teensintercedingfororphans.com. I’m also active on Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7012375.Leah_E_Good), Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/LeahEGood), Twitter (https://twitter.com/LeahEGood), and Pinterest (http://www.pinterest.com/leahegood/).


Enter for a chance to win a copy of Counted Worthy by Leah Good ! Giveaway is open internationally (e-copy only), but if the winner lives in the US they can choose either a print or e-copy. Ends 11/13

How to enter: Sign into the Giveaway Tools form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form. Happy entering!



Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Giveaway Tools and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Giveaway Tools or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Review: A Lady At Willowgrove Hall by Sarah E. Ladd


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1401688373/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1401688373&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=S5QMGYFPFK2HBAWR
About the book:
Her secret cloaks her in isolation and loneliness. His secret traps him in a life that is not his own.

Darbury, England, 1819

Cecily Faire carries the shame of her past wherever she treads, knowing one slip of the tongue could expose her disgrace. But soon after becoming a lady’s companion at Willowgrove Hall, Cecily finds herself face-to-face with a man well-acquainted with the past she’s desperately hidden for years.

Nathaniel Stanton has a secret of his own—one that has haunted him for years and tied him to his father’s position as steward of Willowgrove Hall. To protect his family, Nathaniel dares not breathe a word of the truth. But as long as the shadow looms over him, he’ll never be free to find his own way in the world. He’ll never be free to fall in love.

When the secrets swirling within Willowgrove Hall come to light, Cecily and Nathaniel must confront a painful choice: Will they continue running from the past . . . or will they stand together and fight for a future without the suffocating weight of secrets long kept?
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, October 27, 2014

Review: The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E. Ladd


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1401688365/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1401688365&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=FRBTK3SK3I3DSGGD
About the book:
Patience Creighton has devoted her life to running her father’s boarding school. But when the enigmatic master of the estate appears at her door, battered and unconscious, the young headmistress suddenly finds her livelihood—and her heart —in the hands of one dangerously handsome gentleman.

At twenty-five, Patience Creighton is already a spinster. The busy headmistress of Rosemere always expected a dashing man to sweep her off her feet and take her away . . . but that man never came. And since her father’s death, keeping the school running and her mother happy has been plenty to keep her occupied.

William Sterling dallied his way into financial trouble and mortal danger. When he is assaulted by his creditors’ henchmen on the road home from a tavern, he guides his horse to the doorstep of his tenant, the Rosemere School for Young Ladies. After being tended to by Patience, the wounded William rides off into the dawn—but makes a point to learn more about the lovely headmistress.

As he spends more time at Rosemere, something delicate begins to develop between William and Patience. But that will not deter William’s creditors. With little money to repay his debts, and less for the upkeep of his estate, it becomes clear that sacrificing Rosemere may be the only way to preserve his legacy. But it may also cost him his happiness.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #41

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Weekend Wrap-up (October 26) & Giveaway Winner!


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and hope to read this coming week, and (when applicable) the current giveaways/giveaway winners. Occasionally I'll post some other stuff as well. Be sure to follow my Pinterest boards "Free Kindle Books" and "Book Deals" to see the good deals/freebies I share about. :)

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've accomplished (reading-wise) this past week. :)

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Interview & Giveaway! Steven South ~ Author of The Queen of Steel and Fire!

Welcome to Christian Bookshelf Reviews, Steven!! Will you tell us a little about yourself? 

Thank you so much for having me.  I really like your blog, and it’s an honor to be interviewed on it! 
I’m 33, and originally from Minnesota.  I mostly grew up in upstate New York (not New York City, like most people think when I tell them I used to live in New York!).  I now live in Wisconsin with my wife Stephanie.  We have no children, but we do have two very spoiled guinea pigs.  By day I’m a police officer, and by night I’m a writer.  I have a bachelor’s degree in Human Resources, and I would eventually like to get a job in that field (unless the dream of making a living as full-time writer ever works out!). 

I was raised in a strong Catholic household, but I kind of drifted away from faith in my late teens and college years.  In my mid-twenties, I decided that I was being intellectually dishonest with myself, having one foot in religion, and one foot in a kind of lukewarm agnosticism.  I took some time to “wander in the desert” and really wrestle with religion and my beliefs, did a lot of studying of different religions and Christian denominations, and as a result of that, found myself really strongly drawn back to the Church.
 
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NMZVLTE/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00NMZVLTE&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=RNGDVGQMTSQUFXYDWhat is your novel, The Queen of Steel and Fire, about?
When her father is murdered, sixteen-year-old princess Claire Erinn must become the first female ruler of Keldaren.  As soon as Claire takes the throne, enemies arise on her borders—and from within her own court.  

Claire knows she's not ready to rule.  But that’s a secret she has to hide—from her enemies, and from her own people.  Claire must act like a strong queen if she hopes to survive long enough to become one.  

As war looms, Claire struggles to save her kingdom, and herself.  A rival queen and Claire's half-mad brother are both coming for her crown—and her head.

With Death herself hunting her, Claire must become the warrior her kingdom needs.  She's willing to face Death to save Keldaren.  But the price of victory may be even higher than Claire’s life. 

That’s a brief plot summary.  But there are a lot of underlying themes in the book—the struggle between faith and doubt, the struggle to reconcile faith and reason, and how to be good in a world awash with amorality—or, as Joseph Ratzinger so elegantly put it, “the dictatorship of relativism.” 

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

 I’ve always loved to read.  In high school, I started writing short stories, and really enjoyed that.  In college and my early working years, I didn’t have a lot of time to write, but when my wife went back for her Master’s degree, I decided to try to write a novel when she was busy with school.  That’s how I got back into writing, and decided to try to become a “real” writer. 

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? 

I get distracted easily.  I’ve tried writing outdoors in state parks, and in other scenic places, but it takes me out of the story in my mind.  I’ve found I have to have an almost total focus on the writing to be efficient.  If I could build my own writing room, it would be a totally blank, white room with a single desk and a computer (with no Internet connection!) to help keep me inside my head, and in the book without any distractions.http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=83448&picture=cute-guinea-pig 

Where do you like to write? 
 
I usually write in the office, which is the place where there’s the least distractions in the house.  One of my favorite places to write (but not the most productive) is in the backyard on a laptop, when our guinea pigs are out eating grass. 

What do you like to do when you're not writing? 
 
I love to read—it’s one of my favorite things to do.  I also like to go hiking, play with our guinea pigs, hang out with my wife, go boating, and play computer games.  I also love to travel! 

What is your favorite genre to read and why?
 
I’d have to say literary fiction—I really like books that make a deep emotional impact on me.  Books like A Light Between Oceans and Claire of the Sea Light, which I read recently. 

What is your least favorite genre to read? 

I’d have to say romance is probably my least favorite. 

Is there a place you'd like to visit, but haven’t yet? 

There are way too many places I’d like to visit to list…a few would be…Belgium, Monaco, Greece, Turkey, Iceland, Croatia, Montenegro, Switzerland, Austria, Malta, Slovenia, Estonia, Tahiti, Vancouver, Hawaii, Taiwan, Fiji, Australia, Japan, Thailand, St. Lucia, Grenada, Aruba, Anguilla, Turks and Caicos, Guadeloupe, Korea,  Costa Rica, New Zealand, Ecuador, Peru, Mexico City, San Miguel de Allende, Barcelona, The Gambia, Tanzania, Belize, Egypt, Israel, Botswana, India, the Maldives, and Bhutan.  I definitely have a long list of places I’d like to go! 

Do you have a favorite Bible verse? 
 
Hard to pick one.  But I’d have to say Matthew 28:20—“And behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age”.  This verse really resonates with me because in it, Jesus isn’t promising that there won’t be struggles, and failures, and pain in our lives—but he is promising to be there with us through it all, no matter what comes our way.  

Do you have a favorite song and/or movie? 

I’d have to say that “Black Balloon” by the Goo Goo Dolls is probably my favorite song, although lately, “Chocolate” by Against the Current has been a very close second.  

My favorite movie is probably “Lost in Translation”.  It’s such an interesting movie—Bob and Charlotte are both searching for meaning in their lives, both at such different times in life, Bob being in late middle age, and Charlotte being in early adulthood.  While they don’t find what might really give them the depth of meaning that they’re searching for—faith in God, they nibble around the edges of it enough that I think that it’s almost an implied theme by the end of the movie—that there’s something higher that they are still searching for, something still left for them to find.  I think it’s also a movie about the beauty of friendship. 

 http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=52982&picture=autumn-fall-colorsWhat is your favorite holiday? 

Easter.  The Resurrection is such an awesome even to be able to celebrate.  Also, it’s the end of Lent, and by that time of year, after a long winter, it’s great to be able to anticipate spring coming. 

What is your favorite season and why is it your fav? 

Fall.  There’s just something invigorating about the crispness of the air and a bittersweetness  

This-or-that questions:
Snowstorms or Thunderstorms? 
Thunderstorms
Chocolate or Vanilla?
Chocolate
Tea or Coffee?
Tea.  But only with lots of sugar and milk. 
Call or Text? 
Text
Cats or Dogs?
Dogs…not that I have any!
Early-bird or Night-owl? 
Up until I started running, I’d definitely have been a night owl.  But now I’d have to say I’m an early bird.        
Introvert or Extrovert?
Introvert
Facebook or Twitter? 
Facebook
Mystery or Romance?
Mystery
Sneakers or Sandals?
Sneakers 

Are you currently working on any new novels? If so, could you give us a hint? 

Yes, I’m working on the sequel to The Queen of Steel and Fire.  The working title is The Queen of Storms.  

The Kirosian Queen’s sister has been kidnapped, and Claire joins her in a war against the pirate clans to save the princess, and to end the pirate threat once and for all.  But a hidden power is behind the pirate attacks, and forces are moving to again engulf all of Eris in war. 

Thank you so much for being here! Is there anything else you’d like to tell readers and where can we find you on the web? 

Thank you for having me!  

For any readers who are aspiring writers, I think the most important thing about writing is to never give up—to keep pushing yourself to finish that draft, and then to push yourself even harder to keep editing and polishing it until your writing is the absolute best you can make it!  It’s also really important to get someone else to beta read and edit your work as well.

I’d also recommend reading Immediate Fiction by Jerry Cleaver—it’s the best and most helpful writing book I’ve ever read.  It really changed my perspective on writing.

Never stop reading!

I’d love to hear from people with questions or comments about my book, or suggestions on good books!  You can reach me on facebook at:

www.facebook.com/queenofsteelandfireseries

You can also check out my own book reviews on goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/32664251


Enter for a chance to win a copy of The Queen Of Steel and Fire by Steven South! Giveaway is open internationally and winner can choose print or eBook format. Ends 11/6

How to enter: Sign into the Giveaway Tools form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form. Happy entering!



Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Giveaway Tools and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Giveaway Tools or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Review: Thunder by Bonnie S. Calhoun


About the book:
The Time of Sorrows is long past.
The future of Selah and her people is shrouded in mystery.
And the clock is ticking.

Hidden in the tall grasses along a shore littered with the rusted metal remnants of a once-great city, a hunter crouches. It is the eve of her eighteenth Birth Remembrance and high time she proves to herself and her brothers that she can stand on her own two feet. Selah Rishon Chavez waits not for game but for one of the small boats that occasionally crash against the desolate shoreline. Because inside one of these boats she will find her quarry—a Lander.
These people from an unknown land across the ocean are highly prized by the Company and bring a good price—especially if they keep the markings they arrive with.
Everything falls to pieces when the Lander whom Selah catches is stolen by her brothers, and Selah wakes the next morning to find the Lander's distinctive mark has appeared on her own flesh. Once the hunter, Selah is now one of the hunted, and she knows only one person who can help her—Bodhi Locke, the Lander her brothers hope to sell in the Mountain.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Review: A July Bride by Beth Wiseman

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GRYXPB4/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00GRYXPB4&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=7TIUOVY4Y2SMA5KTAbout the book:
In a moment of total panic, Brendan left Alyssa at the altar. What will it take for him to win her back?
When Brendan Meyers became a “runaway groom,” Alyssa Pennington’s heart broke. But she’s returned the unopened gifts, exchanged the dress, and is ready to get on with her life…and forget Brendan.   

The problem is, Brendan can’t forget. He can’t forget the love he and Alyssa shared and can’t forgive himself for what he put her through on their wedding day. He can never undo his actions, but at least he can try to win Alyssa’s forgiveness. And maybe, someday, another shot at her love.

Dalton Landreth was the only person not disappointed about that botched wedding. He had been eyeing Alyssa since high school—with his gorgeous, magnetic blue eyes—and when Brendan ran out the church doors, Dalton heard opportunity knocking.

Within months of being jilted at the altar, Alyssa finds herself being simultaneously wooed by the love of her life and the best-looking man she’s ever seen. Not bad for a small-town girl with a broken heart.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Review: A June Bride by Marybeth Whalen

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GRYXPFA/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00GRYXPFA&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=EFLS445MZEPV2MRFAbout the book:
The reality show ended with an engagement, so why doesn’t this feel like the fairy tale she thought it would be?

The Rejection Connection hardly sounds like the place to fall in love, but Wynne Hardy walked off the reality-TV set with an engagement ring. And in the whirlwind of publicity and preparation that follows a TV-bride-to-be in her fifteen minutes of fame, Wynne barely has time to consider how she really feels about her new fiancé . . . to say nothing of how she still feels about her ex.

As the wedding plans develop, so too do Wynne’s doubts: Is she in love with Andy? Or is this really about Callum—the ex-boyfriend who sent her onto Rejection Connection in the first place? A nationally televised snub might be the best revenge . . . but is it a good reason to get married?

When Callum resurfaces at the worst possible moment, Wynne can’t help wondering if she’s made a huge mistake. Is her marriage a publicity stunt? And what happens when the cameras stop rolling, and she has a husband she barely knows?
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucket  
 (View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, October 20, 2014

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #40

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Friday, October 17, 2014

Weekend Wrap-up (October 17) & 24-Hour Read-a-Thon


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and hope to read this coming week, and (when applicable) the current giveaways/giveaway winners. Occasionally I'll post some other stuff as well. Be sure to follow my Pinterest boards "Free Kindle Books" and "Book Deals" to see the good deals/freebies I share about. :)

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've accomplished (reading-wise) this past week. :)

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Interview & Giveaway! Brandy Vallance ~ Author of The Covered Deep!

 

Welcome to Christian Bookshelf Reviews, Brandy!! Will you tell us a little about yourself? 
It’s a pleasure to be here. A little bit about myself… I originally wanted to be an archaeologist or a historian. One of my favorite things to do is go to museums. My son once teased me while we were in a museum and said, “Mom, let me tell you how to visit a museum. You go up to the case. You look at the artifact. You move on to the next display.” He said this because I normally stand in front of each artifact for a very long time. I examine every detail. The world disappears and I start spinning stories. Something else about me . . . In 2011, I went to England, Scotland, and Wales. I spent 19 days there and one of the highlights was being able to go to the British Museum and stand in the place where my characters meet for the first time. 

What is your novel, The Covered Deep, about?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/161795375X/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=161795375X&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20&linkId=2QO42AZU4QTFEQKO
Bianca Marshal is an incurably romantic bookworm from Appalachia who’s holding out for the perfect husband. She doesn’t want much, just that he be (1) a true believer in Jesus Christ (2) devastatingly handsome with a slightly wild look in his eyes (3) brilliant and humorous like Mark Twain (4) a foreigner, possibly a disgruntled duke (5) able to quote Bible verses AND Shakespeare (6) a more than capable kisser, and (7) adore her completely.

Finding a man that meets the requirements of “the list” in the foothills of the Appalachians has proven impossible. Bianca’s mama insists that there’s no such thing as a perfect true love, and that Bianca’s ideal man is pure fiction. On the eve of her twenty-fifth birthday, Bianca discovers a devastating statistic. Her chance of marrying is now only eighteen percent. But the “S” word—spinsterhood—is not something she’s willing to accept. She’s going to prove the statistics and her mama wrong. Bianca wins an essay contest that propels her into a whirlwind search for the perfect romantic hero. Via the opulence of London and the mysteries of the Holy Land, Bianca’s true love will be revealed, but not without a price that might be too heavy to pay. 

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer? 
When I was in the seventh grade, I used to write stories while listening to Shakespeare’s Sonnets on cassette tape. In college, my highest grades were in creative writing. When my son was six months old I watched the movie Little Women and I was so inspired that I sat down and began writing a story. That story was the first draft of The Covered Deep. That was almost fifteen years ago. I enjoyed writing so much that I stayed up every night until 2AM. I started wondering if writing could become my profession. I did some research and found the Christian Writers Guild. I saw that they had an apprenticeship course and a conference in Asheville, NC. I signed up for the course and went to the conference. As soon as I arrived at the conference, I knew that I had found my tribe. 

http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=14460&picture=hanging-cupsWhat would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?