Sunday, November 30, 2014

Reviewing The Queen by Steven James


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005HF2VGE/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B005HF2VGE&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20
About the book:
"A masterpiece of a thriller."--Special Agent R. Wayne Smith, FBI (retired)

"Steven James continues to raise the bar in suspense writing. The Queen takes readers to a new level of suspense and is the best book in the Patrick Bowers series hands down!"--Suspense Magazine


While investigating a mysterious double homicide in an isolated northern Wisconsin town, FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers uncovers a high-tech conspiracy that ties together long-buried Cold War secrets with present-day tensions in the Middle East.

In his most explosive thriller yet, bestselling author Steven James delivers a pulse-pounding, multilayered storytelling tour de force that will keep you guessing.

The Queen is the latest Patrick Bowers thriller from the author Publishers Weekly calls a "master storyteller at the peak of his game."
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, November 29, 2014

My 2015 TBR Pile Challenge Reading List!

http://roofbeamreader.com/2014/11/24/announcing-the-official-2015-tbr-pile-challenge/


The Goal: To finally read 12 books from your “to be read” pile (within 12 months).
Each of these 12 books must have been on your bookshelf or “To Be Read” list for AT LEAST one full year. This means the book cannot have a publication date of 1/1/2014 or later 

Read more of the specific rules for the challenge on the sign-up post: http://roofbeamreader.com/2014/11/24/announcing-the-official-2015-tbr-pile-challenge/

My 2015 TBR Pile Challenge List:

  1. Safe Harbor by Hope White (completed 12/13/15)
  2. Sanctuary for a Lady by Naomi Rawlings
  3. A Texas-Made Match by Noelle Marchand (Completed 12/31/15)
  4. Safe In His Arms by Colleen Coble
  5. An Heiress At Heart by Jennifer Delamere
  6. Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon (completed 11/2/15)
  7. Dark Justice by Brandilyn Collins
  8. A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr
  9. Sing by Lisa T. Bergren (completed 9/28/15)
  10. Claim by Lisa T. Bergren (completed 10/8/15)
  11. Relentless Pursuit by Kathy Herman (completed 11/21/15)
  12. Wings of a Dream by Anne Mateer (completed 12/28/15)
My two alternates: 

  1. Found by Shelley Shepard Gray (completed 1/9/2015)
  2. Reckless Heart by Amy Clipston (Completed 2/22/2015)
 My progress:

9/12

Reviewing The Bishop by Steven James


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B5J4TVG/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00B5J4TVG&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20
About the book:
The game is on.
 
FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers's cutting-edge skills are about to be pushed to the limit. When a young woman is found brutally murdered in Washington DC, her killers continue a spree of perfect crimes in the Northeast. But with nothing to link them to each other, Agent Bowers faces his most difficult case yet--even as his personal life begins to crumble around him.

The Bishop is a gripping, adrenaline-laced story for readers who are tired of timid thrillers. Strap on your seat belt and get ready for a wild ride.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Friday, November 28, 2014

Reviewing The Knight by Steven James


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007URAAWY/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B007URAAWY&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20
About the book:

The stakes have never been higher. 
FBI Agent Patrick Bowers is used to tracking the country's most dangerous killers, but now it looks like a killer is tracking him. Bowers faces a race against time to decipher who the next victim will be and to stop the final shocking murder--which he's beginning to believe might be his own.

Gritty, chilling, and intense, this psychological thriller is guaranteed to keep you up all night.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Reviewing The Rook by Steven James


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AKHM7D6/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00AKHM7D6&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20
About the book:
Special Agent Patrick Bowers is about to uncover the military's darkest secret . . . and his own dark past.
 
While investigating a series of baffling fires in San Diego, Special Agent Patrick Bowers is drawn into a deadly web of intrigue where nothing is as it appears to be. With a killer on the loose and one of the world's most deadly devices missing, Bowers is caught in a race against time to stop a criminal mastermind's trap before it closes around the people he loves.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Clean Out Your E-reads Challenge -- Winter 2014-2015 COYER!

Because Reading Is better than real life
I just found out about this reading challenge and it sounds really fun, so of course I'm signing up! I have a ton of eBooks that I've gotten for free (either purchased or for review) and others that I got for below the maximum eBook price ($2.99 for US), so I have lots of options/books to read! :)

The Winter 2014-2015 COYER is hosted by Berls @ Fantasy is More Fun and Michelle @ Because Reading. It runs from December 20th 2014 – March 6th 2015 and you can sign up here until January 25th! Go check out the details and if you do sign up, be sure to indicate that I sent you on the linky, where it says “Who referred you?” so I can win $5 to Amazon! Thanks in advance!



  1.  I want to participate in all five of the read-a-thons -- they all sounds very fun!
  2. Since this challenge is only for free (or nearly free) eBooks and audiobooks, I'm hoping to finish 20 books

Reviewing The Pawn by Steven James


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B5J4RAY/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00B5J4RAY&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20
About the book:
Special Agent Patrick Bowers never met a killer he couldn't catch.
Until now. 


Called to North Carolina to consult on the case of an area serial killer, Bowers finds himself caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse. Cunning and lethal, the killer is always one step ahead of the law, and he's about to strike again. It will take all of Bowers's instincts and training to stop the man who calls himself the Illusionist.

Thrilling, chilling, and impossible to put down, The Pawn will hold you in its iron grip until the very last page.



My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Reviewing Opening Moves by Steven James


About the book:
Milwaukee, 1995. In a city still reeling from the crimes of Jeffrey Dahmer, a woman’s body is found with the lungs removed. Local cops think a Dahmer copycat is on the loose.

But Patrick Bowers, working as a homicide detective for the Milwaukee Police Department, sees from the timing and location of the crime that this is not a copycat at all, but a killer with an entirely different agenda.

As he pursues the madman using his unique skills and ice-cold logic, Bowers finds himself thinking more and more like his demented prey. The problem is that the more he understands the killer’s mind, the more his own thoughts are being warped. And if he’s not careful he may not be able to recover his mind—or survive the case.

My rating:

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, November 24, 2014

Patrick Bowers' Week -- Starts tomorrow!


Starting tomorrow, I'll be re-reviewing the first seven books in the Patrick Bowers Files and then on December 2nd, Checkmate's release day, something really fun is going to be posted. So, I hope you all will stop by and, if you enjoy intense thrillers, add these books to your TBR. If you've been following my blog for a while, you know that this is one of my all-time favorite series. ;)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B5J4RAY/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00B5J4RAY&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20  http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AKHM7D6/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00AKHM7D6&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007URAAWY/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B007URAAWY&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B5J4TVG/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00B5J4TVG&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005HF2VGE/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B005HF2VGE&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AEBEY66/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00AEBEY66&linkCode=as2&tag=chrisbooksrev-20
Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.