Thursday, June 30, 2016

Mid-Year Reading Update + Monthly Reflections ~ June 2016


Number of books read this year so far: 161
Full House Reading Challenge: 25/25
NetGalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge: 48/75
NetGalley Challenge: 48/41
The Re-Read Challenge: 7
Blogger Shame Review Challenge: 35/30
2016 Series Enders Challenge: 12/5
2016 Non-Fiction Reading Challenge: 20/12


Photobucket

Monthly Reflections, where we take the time to reflect on the previous month.


My June Goals...

Didn't have any...

Books read:

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Review & Giveaway! Unashamed: Healing Our Brokenness and Finding Freedom from Shame by Heather Davis Nelson



About the book:
Shame is everywhere.

Whether it's related to relationships, body image, work difficulties, or a secret sin, we all experience shame at some point in our lives. While shame can manifest itself in different ways—fear, regret, and anger—it ultimately points us to our most fundamental need as human beings: redemption.

Shame never disappears in solitude, and Heather Davis Nelson invites us to not only be healed of our own shame but also be a part of healing for others. She shines the life-giving light of the gospel on the things that leave us feeling worthless and rejected, giving us courage us to walk out of shame’s shadows and offering hope for our bondage to brokenness. Through the gospel, we discover the only real and lasting antidote to shame: exchanging our shame for the righteousness of Christ alongside others on this same journey.

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, June 27, 2016

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?


http://bookdate.blogspot.com/2016/06/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html 

Hosted by Book Date

What I Read This Week:


Only finished one book this week and I didn't like this book... :/

What I'm Currently Reading:


Both are very good reads!

Up Next: 

 

What are you reading today??
 
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #106

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Monday, June 20, 2016

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #105

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Interview & Giveaway: Heather Blanton ~ Author of A Promise in Defiance!


Welcome to Christian Bookshelf Reviews, Heather!! What is your latest novel about?
CHOICES HAVE CONSEQUENCES...EVEN FOR THE REDEEMED. 
When Charles McIntyre founded Defiance, he was more than happy to rule in hell rather than serve in heaven. But things have changed. Now, he has faith, a new wife...and a ten-year-old half-breed son. Infamous madam Delilah Goodnight wants to take it all away from him. How can he protect his kingdom and his loved ones from her schemes without falling back on his past? How does he fight evil if not with evil?



Logan Tillane carries a Bible in his hand, wears a gun on his hip, and fights for lost souls any way he can. Newly arrived in Defiance, he has trouble, though, telling saints from sinners. The challenge only worsens when Delilah flings open the doors to the scandalous Crystal Chandelier. She and the new preacher have opposite plans for the town. One wants to save it, one wants to lead it straight to hell.



For Tillane and McIntyre, finding redemption was a long, hard road. God's grace has washed away their sins, but the consequences remain and God will not be mocked. For whatosoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap...and the harvest is finally at hand.

What do you hope readers come away with after reading your newest story?
That choosing to serve Christ ensures your eternal destiny, makes the path forward straighter and easier to walk, and while he forgives your sins, he doesn’t erase the consequences of bad choices. I hear over and over the stories of Believers who fall away because their past haunts them. Things keep popping up and life doesn’t go their way. Walking with Christ doesn’t mean you’ll get to tip-toe through the tulips the rest of your life. Walking with Him means you can bear up under the weight of past sins, overcome them, and keep moving forward.  

Do you find it more fun to write stand-alones or series?
Long as I get to give a bad guy his comeuppance, make a strong man weak with love, throw at least one punch, and share the Gospel, I am good with either!

Who are some of your favorite authors whose books have never disappointed you?
I would give my right arm to write like Bodie Thoene, Francine Rivers, or Norah Roberts…but I need it to type.

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I remember telling my mom a story when I was five. She typed it while I talked. I’m still mad about one little editorial change she made. I don’t remember what I wanted to say, but I remember Momma typed, “…led them on a merry chase.” A merry chase? Who says that? Editors. Sheesh.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?
Silence! I must have silence when I write. I write like people act: the method approach. Total immersion. I lose myself in the story and the characters. Sometimes it’s jarring to come back to laundry, teenagers with iPhones, cooking, and did I say laundry?

Where do you like to write?
When my husband comes home for lunch, he yells for me ‘cause there is no telling where I might be. I like writing in my office, the sun room, the living room on the sectional, even on my bed, no rhyme or reason to my choices. Hmmm … maybe it’s hormones.

What do you like to do when you're not writing?
When I’m not writing, I visit these people who insist they know me and love me. I’m not so sure. I think they’re my employers. I cook, clean, shop, drive them around—oh, wait, now it’s coming back to me. They’re my children and my husband.

Is there a place you'd like to visit, but haven’t yet?
Ten Sleep, WY. Really, who do you know who has been to Ten Sleep? I want the honor.

Do you have a favorite Bible verse?
And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Romans 8:28


Do you have a favorite song and/or movie?
My daddy taught me to shoot when I was 5ish. He could shoot a hole through a quarter tossed into the air, and quick draw with the best of ‘em. He wasn’t a particularly tall man, but he was big in personality. When I was little, I had the hardest time telling him apart from the John Wayne. Obviously, then, the Duke is my favorite actor and I will watch him over and over again in Rooster Cogburn. True Grit wasn’t bad, but Rooster Cogburn had a more satisfying ending.
What is your favorite holiday?
The 4th of July. Over the years I have found myself in some interesting places on that day and so the holiday has endeared itself to me! One Independence Day morning I looked out my Gunnison, CO hotel window to discover the entire valley filled with huge, colorful, floating hot air balloons! What a beautiful sight!

Some this-or-that questions: 

Snowstorms or Thunderstorms? Snowstorms. I am a firm believer there is no such thing as too much snow!
Chocolate or Vanilla? I’m so vanilla.
Tea or Coffee? Coffee. Java. Joe. Mud. Brew. Elixir of the Gods! Beans of Happiness! ☺
Call or Text? Text. B/c I multi-task.
 Early-bird or Night-owl? Does, “Wakey, wakey, eggs and bakey” tell ya anything? Btw, my husband is NOT a morning person. He doesn’t love the way I wake up, all chipper and happy. He thinks I’m deranged. 
Introvert or Extrovert? Can I be both? I’m out-going as heck, but I love my alone time!
 Facebook or Twitter? 140 characters? I can’t say anything important in 140 characters. Truthfully, no one else can either. They just think they can. Those are the people who should be on Facebook with me.
 Mystery or Romance? Definitely Romance. Mysteries require too much brain power and I’m running on empty by the time I have a chance to sit and read.


Are you currently working on any new novels? If so, could you give us a hint?
Book 2 in my Love and War in Johnson County series will be coming out in the fall. This is a serious Western trilogy of a cattle ranching family caught in the middle of the deadliest range war ever fought in the US. In all three of the books in this series, someone pretends to be something they’re not.


After the Johnson County War a lot of bad guys got away with murder, including the lynching of 28-year-old Ellen Watson, aka “Cattle” Kate. Justice is coming for the cattle barons.


Thank you so much for being here! Is there anything else you’d like to tell readers and where can we find you on the web?
I’m very social with my readers! Please join me anytime at the following places:
https://ladiesindefiance.com/ My blog. I do lots of give-aways and feature stories about tough ladies!
livingindefiance@yahoo.comYou’re always welcome to email me!



Enter for a chance to win a copy of A Promise in Defiance! Giveaway is open internationally. If you live in the US/Canada, you will receive a print copy; if international, you will receive an eBook. Ends 6/30

How to enter: Sign into the Giveaway Tools form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form. Happy entering!




Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Giveaway Tools and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Giveaway Tools or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, June 13, 2016

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #104

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Review: The Wings of Morning by Murray Pura



About the book:
Lovers of Amish fiction will quickly sign on as fans of award-winning author Murray Pura as they keep turning the pages of this exciting new historical romance set in 1917 during America's participation in World War I.

Jude Whetstone and Lyyndaya Kurtz, whose families are converts to the Amish faith, are slowly falling in love. Jude has also fallen in love with flying that new-fangled invention, the aeroplane.

The Amish communities have rejected the telephone and have forbidden motorcar ownership but not yet electricity or aeroplanes.

Though exempt from military service on religious grounds, Jude is manipulated by unscrupulous army officers into enlisting in order to protect several Amish men. No one in the community understands Jude's sudden enlistment and so he is shunned. Lyyndaya's despair deepens at the reports that Jude has been shot down in France. In her grief, she turns to nursing Spanish flu victims in Philadelphia. After many months of caring for stricken soldiers, Lyyndaya is stunned when an emaciated Jude turns up in her ward.

Lyyndaya's joy at receiving Jude back from the dead is quickly diminished when the Amish leadership insist the shunning remain in force. How then can they marry without the blessing of their families? Will happiness elude them forever?

Welcome a powerful new voice to the world of Amish fiction
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Sarah Sundin’s ‘Anchor in the Storm’ All Hands on Deck Giveaway

In a time of sacrifice, what price can one put on true love? Pharmacist Lillian Avery and Ensign Archer Vandenberg are about to find out in Sarah Sundin's new book, Anchor in the Storm. During the darkest days of the war, Arch's destroyer hunts German U-boats in vain as the submarines sink dozens of merchant ships along the East Coast. Still shaken by battles at sea, Arch notices his men also struggle with their nerves—and with drowsiness. Could there be a link to the large prescriptions Lillian has been filling? As the danger rises on both land and sea, the two must work together to answer that question. But can Arch ever earn Lillian's trust and affection?

Celebrate the release of Sarah's Anchor in the Storm by entering to win her All Hands on Deck Prize Pack!

anchor in the storm - 400 

One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A signed copy of Anchor in the Storm
  • Nautical tote bag lined with anchor fabric
  • Anchor necklace made from copper reclaimed from the USS Constitution in Boston during restoration
  • 365 Devotions for Hope by Karen Whiting
  • Shine: Nautical Inspirational Adult Coloring Book
  • "Hope Anchors the Soul" journal
  • Set of two nautical tea towels
LF AIS full group 2 

Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry! The giveaway ends on June 8th. The winner will be announced June 9th on Sarah's blog.



anchor in the storm - banner
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, June 6, 2016

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #103

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Sunday, June 5, 2016

Review: A Daring Sacrifice by Jody Hedlund



About the book:
In this new historical YA romance novel from author Jody Hedlund, when a young maiden dedicates her life to protecting the mistreated, she finds herself in opposition with a wealthy knight in her cruel uncle’s service—and before long, both are forced to fight their feelings for each other as well.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, June 4, 2016

Review: The Red Door Inn by Liz Johnson


About the book:
Marie Carrington is broke, desperate, and hoping to find sanctuary on Prince Edward Island while decorating a renovated bed-and-breakfast. Seth Sloane moved three thousand miles to help restore his uncle's Victorian B and B--and to forget about the fiancée who broke his heart. He wasn't expecting to have to babysit a woman with a taste for expensive antiques and a bewildering habit of jumping every time he brushes past her.

The only thing Marie and Seth agree on is that getting the Red Door Inn ready to open in just two months will take everything they've got--and they have to find a way to work together. In the process, they may find something infinitely sweeter than they ever imagined on this island of dreams.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Friday, June 3, 2016

Music Review: Children of God by Phil Wickham


Original Release Date: April 22, 2016

Label: Fair Trade Services
Run Time: 60 minutes

Links: 

iTunes: http://smarturl.it/PW-COGiTunes
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1XWTEj7
Spotify: http://smarturl.it/PW-COG-Spotify

Track List:

1. Doxology//Amen 
2. Better Than Life 
3. Your Love Awakens Me 
4. The Secret Place 
5. Wide Awake 
6. My All In All 
7. Starmaker (High Above the Earth) 
8. Children of God 
9. Stand In Awe 
10. Body Mind & Soul 
11. As It Is In Heaven 
12. Spirit of God

Rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Review:  

Children of God is a very nice worship album. I like all of the songs, although there are a few standout favorites: My All In All, Better Than Life, Your Love Awakens Me, Stand In Awe, and As It Is In Heaven. The lyrics are fantastic and the music is very catchy. Phil Wickham has a unique voice and you can hear his genuineness in the words he's singing.

All in all, I love this album and recommend it if you are looking for a good Christian/worship album. And if you've liked previous Phil Wickham CDs, I think you'll for sure enjoy this one too! 

 *Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

 This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.