Friday, December 30, 2016

Review: Lethal Action by Rachel Dylan



About the book:
Danger in the Deep South #1

Attorney Hope Finch is a rising star at the prestigious New York law firm of Rice & Taylor and is used to high-stakes litigation. But when she's sent to what she thought was a small, sleepy town in Georgia, she is unprepared for the dangerous turn of events that threatens her life and career.

FBI Special Agent Gabe Marino knows that something sinister is happening in his hometown of Maxwell, Georgia. But even he doesn't know how big the threat is until he's assigned to protect a visiting big city lawyer. As Gabe investigates the illegal activity linked to Hope's client, he tries to caution her, but she ignores his warnings--until it's her life that's in jeopardy.

When Hope becomes the target in a deadly corporate cover-up that is directly tied to the biggest trial the town of Maxwell has ever seen, she and Gabe have to find a way to work together. Hope and Gabe race against the clock to uncover the true threat, but can Gabe keep Hope safe in the face of danger or will time run out on them both?

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, December 26, 2016

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #127

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Top Ten Tuesday | Ten Book/Bookish Items I Wouldn't Mind Receiving For Christmas




Ten Book/Bookish Items I Wouldn't Mind Receiving For Christmas

I can't believe I haven't done one of these Top Ten Tuesday posts since April, but what better category to try and get back into this meme then this one. ;) Now I could have done all books instead of some bookish items, but most of the books I *really* want are not released yet (check out that list here: link), so those are impossible gifts. 

I have five (technically six) books and five bookish items listed. Hope you enjoy reading my list! Please share what's on your wishlist. ;)

Monday, December 19, 2016

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #126

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Litfuse Tour: ScriptureDoodle and ScriptureDoodle God’s Promises by April Knight


About the book:
ScriptureDoodle: A Six-Week Devotional Experience (David C. Cook, October 2016)

With inspiring exercises and prompts, this unique interactive guide introduces readers to a creative connection between Bible study, artistic expression, and worship. 

Often, in the busyness of life, Christians forget that God created them to enjoy creativity. With guided instruction and completed examples, this beautiful book invites readers to draw closer to God through their own art.

More than a coloring book, ScriptureDoodle is a combination of Bible study, creative expression, and artistic community with artwork shared online at #scripturedoodle. Exploring topics such as being generous, finding rest, and facing grief, ScriptureDoodle gives the heart the creative space it needs. This book stimulates the reader’s imagination and helps integrate God’s Word into everyday life.

----

ScriptureDoodle God’s Promises: A Six-Week Devotional Experience (David C. Cook, December 2016)

Some of the most incredible stories in the Bible are of God’s promises and faithfulness to His children. 

ScriptureDoodle God’s Promises refreshes believers who are feeling burned out or stuck in a rut in their relationship with God. Each of the creative worship prompts in this interactive guide includes biblical encouragement and ideas for worship through art. Artist April Knight includes creative lettering tips, color ideas, and completed examples to inspire readers to respond to promises in Scripture related to trust, faith, and the power of God’s Word in all circumstances.

This unique blend of Bible study and creative expression provides the opportunity to connect with God as Creator in a new, life-changing way.
My thoughts:

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Top 2017 Releases I'm Eager To Read!

I don't know about you, but it seems like every year there are just more and more books I'm eager to read. There are new books from my favorite authors and new books in series I'm enjoying, so I have lots of books I'm anticipating next year. In no particular order, here are some of them. ;)

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Review: Love for All Seasons by Stacy Henrie



About the book:
A Long Winter Kiss

As Samantha and Rex’s childhood friendship matured into young love, they promised their hearts to one another, even as Rex headed off to war. But their hope for a bright future was shattered when Rex succumbed to his belief that the horrors of war had made him a man no woman could love. Now he has returned, and Samantha must help Rex see that he still has much to give—and much more to gain—by replacing fear with faith and opening himself to love.


An Unlikely Spring Courtship

Tempest worked hard to secure her independence as a woman running her own mercantile, so when Bram has the audacity to open a competing shop in a town with only enough room for one, Tempest is driven to despair. And then to retaliation. But when tragedy strikes their community and threatens everything they both hold dear, will they be able to recognize that what they share is far more important than what separates them?


A Summer for Love

Loralee’s life has changed dramatically in the eight years since she’s last seen the resort town of Bayocean, but one thing that has never changed is her feelings for Wyatt, a man she promised to meet at the resort on a specific day if they were both still unattached. When Wyatt appears on that date, as hopeful and uncertain as Loralee, the two must see if an old and abiding love has outlasted the changes wrought by time—and begin to build a new life together.


Romance in Autumn

Phoebe and James grew up together but apart in the same beautiful mansion, he as the son of the owners, she as the daughter of a servant. In the years since, Phoebe’s fortunes have changed dramatically, and she carries the dream of one day owning the mansion that is still close to her heart. Until James—now a deeply compelling man—delivers the bad news that securing the purchase will be all but impossible. As Phoebe reluctantly relinquishes her dream, she will also look deep into her soul to learn that a true home might exist in her budding love for James.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, December 12, 2016

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #125

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

In A Reading Slump...and Trying to Get Over It.

I've been in a reading slump for the past several weeks. It's not that I'm not reading, I'm just not reading as much and it's a struggle to actually pick up a book...and when I do, most just don't hold my interest.

So, in an effort to get over this slump, I'm going to make a list of the books I want to finish this winter (really from now to mid-January). Usually, when I have a goal, it motivates me. So here we go!


Love for All Seasons: Four Inspirational Historical Romance Novellas by Stacy Henrie
Waiting for Wonder: Learning to Live on God's Timeline by Marlo Schalesky
The Wonder of You by Susan May Warren
You're The One That I Want by Susan May Warren
High Speed Holiday by Katy Lee


Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson
Anchor in the Storm by Sarah Sundin
The Reluctant Duchess by Roseanna M. White
A Lady Unrivaled by Roseanna M. White
Luther and Katharina by Jody Hedlund



The Raven by Mike Nappa
Tangled Webs by Irene Hannon
Wild Montana Skies by Susan May Warren
Missing by Lisa Harris
Buried Memories by Carol J. Post



A Family for the Holidays by Sherri Shackelford
Hazardous Holiday by Liz Johnson
Navy SEAL Security by Liz Johnson
Cowboy Creek Christmas by Cheryl St.John & Sherri Shackelford

----

How do you get over a reading slump? Have you read any of the books on my winter reading list?

  This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.