Wednesday, January 18, 2017

"Waiting On" Wednesday: Every Deadly Kiss by Steven James


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're
eagerly anticipating.

 This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Every Deadly Kiss by Steven James / ISBN# 978-1101991572
Expected Publication Date: July 4, 2017
Find on: AmazonGoodreads

About the book:

FBI special agent Patrick Bowers grapples with a baffling series of murders in Detroit—and discovers a terror plot with roots that stretch back centuries. 

Called in by an ex-girlfriend to consult on a case, Patrick encounters the work of a killer who displays a stunning degree of ruthlessness. Bowers is shocked to find that the slayings are linked not just to his own history with a known terrorist, but to his former lover as well—and that her secret past might hold the key to stopping the crime spree. As layers of intrigue peel away, the city is pushed ever closer to a seemingly unstoppable bioweapon attack.

Unnerving and laced with breathtaking suspense, Every Deadly Kiss is a surprising and complex thriller that will keep readers obsessed to the final page.


Why I want to read this book:
Favorite series. The minute I heard about this book it went on my "must have" list. :D Cannot wait for it to release!

What's your "Waiting On" Wednesday selection this week?

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Saturday, January 14, 2017

2016 Reading Challenges ~ Wrap-Up!

Meant to get this posted earlier this month, but I wasn't able to get the post ready until now. Here's how I did with the 2016 reading challenges...I completed all but one. Woohoo!!


Hosted by Book Date

COMPLETED

1. Dark Zeal
2. The Express Rider's Lady
4. Storm Siren
5. Abandoned Memories
1. Mr. Monk and the Dirty Cop
2. The Secret of Pembrooke Park
3. Heart of Gold
4. Expert Witness
5. All In
1. Illuminae
2. The Icecutter's Daughter
3. This Quiet Sky
4. Elusive Hope
5. The Baron's Governess Bride


1. Winter
(Switching Memoir to YA novel)
2. Reached
3. Forsaken Dreams
4. Pretties
1. The Isle of the Lost
2. Game Over
3. Crossed
4. Frontier Engagement 
5. Uglies

☆☆☆

Falling For YA

Hosted by Falling For YA

My Goal: Platinum - 75 Books

Missed Goal

January:

Frontier Engagement by Regina Scott
The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
Instant Frontier Family by Regina Scott
Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall
Elusive Hope by MaryLu Tyndall
Thin Ice by Irene Hannon

February:

Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis
Siren's Fury by Mary Weber 
Siren's Song by Mary Weber 
Game Over by Andrew Klavan 
With This Ring? by Karen Witemeyer
The Body in the Woods by April Henry
Drawing Fire by Janice Cantore
The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter
Real: Becoming a 24/7 Follower of Jesus by Jamie Snyder
Explosive Alliance by Susan Sleeman
The Baron's Governess Bride (Glass Slipper Brides, #2) by Deborah Hale
The Wings of Morning (Snapshots in History, #1) by Murray Pura
Hacker (The Outlaw Chronicles, #3) by Ted Dekker
Threat of Darkness by Valerie Hansen

March:

10 Great Dates: Connecting Faith, Love & Marriage by Peter Larson, Heather Larson, Claudia Arp, David Arp
Exit Strategy by Shirlee McCoy
The Guardian Duke by Jamie Carie
Overcoming the Hurt by Arnie Cole
Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson
The Holiday Courtship by Winnie Griggs
One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian
If I Run by Terri Blackstock
A Man of Honor by Lorie Lough
Victim of Grace by Robin Jones Gunn
What Is The Meaning of Sex? by Denny Burk

April:

The Pawn by Aimee Carter
The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter
Reclaiming His Past (Smoky Mountain Matches, #8) by Karen Kirst
Defender for Hire (Heroes for Hire, #9) by Shirlee McCoy
The Bachelor Girl's Guide to Murder (Herringford and Watts, #1) by Rachel McMillan
Time's Edge by Rysa Walker

May:

The Adversary by Mark I. Bubeck 
Spelled by Betsy Schow 
From the Start by Melissa Tagg 
The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie 
Her One and Only by Becky Wade
The Icecutter's Daughter by Tracie Peterson

June: 

Coming Home by Karen Kingsbury
Vegangelical by Sarah Withrow King
Unashamed by Heather Davis Nelson

July:

Water Walker by Ted Dekker
Close To You by Kara Issac
Rosemary Cottage by Colleen Coble
A Most Inconvenient Marriage by Regina Jennings
Protect and Serve by Terri Reed
Sins of the Past by Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason, and Dee Henderson

August:

Like Never Before by Melissa Tagg
Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd

September:

Curse by Steven James
Fading Starlight by Kathryn Cushman
Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey
No Other Will Do by Karen Witemeyer
From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden

October:

Dark Justice by Brandilyn Collins
A Spy's Devotion by Melanie Dickerson

November:

None

December:

52 Weeks With Jesus by James Merritt

☆☆☆

2016netgalleychallenge
Hosted by Fictively


41+ books

COMPLETED

January:

Frontier Engagement by Regina Scott
The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
Instant Frontier Family by Regina Scott
Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall
Elusive Hope by MaryLu Tyndall
Thin Ice by Irene Hannon

February:

Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis
Siren's Fury by Mary Weber 
Siren's Song by Mary Weber 
Game Over by Andrew Klavan 
With This Ring? by Karen Witemeyer
The Body in the Woods by April Henry
Drawing Fire by Janice Cantore
The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter
Real: Becoming a 24/7 Follower of Jesus by Jamie Snyder
Explosive Alliance by Susan Sleeman
The Baron's Governess Bride (Glass Slipper Brides, #2) by Deborah Hale
The Wings of Morning (Snapshots in History, #1) by Murray Pura
Hacker (The Outlaw Chronicles, #3) by Ted Dekker
Threat of Darkness by Valerie Hansen

March:

10 Great Dates: Connecting Faith, Love & Marriage by Peter Larson, Heather Larson, Claudia Arp, David Arp
Exit Strategy by Shirlee McCoy
The Guardian Duke by Jamie Carie
Overcoming the Hurt by Arnie Cole
Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson
The Holiday Courtship by Winnie Griggs
One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian
If I Run by Terri Blackstock
A Man of Honor by Lorie Lough
Victim of Grace by Robin Jones Gunn
What Is The Meaning of Sex? by Denny Burk

April:

The Pawn by Aimee Carter
The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter
Reclaiming His Past (Smoky Mountain Matches, #8) by Karen Kirst
Defender for Hire (Heroes for Hire, #9) by Shirlee McCoy
The Bachelor Girl's Guide to Murder (Herringford and Watts, #1) by Rachel McMillan
Time's Edge by Rysa Walker

May:

The Adversary by Mark I. Bubeck
Spelled by Betsy Schow
From the Start by Melissa Tagg
The Knight's Bride: Chivalry Lives in 6 Stories from the Middle Ages 
Forever Yours: Five Couples Are Given a Second Chance at Romance 
The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie
Her One and Only by Becky Wade
The Icecutter's Daughter by Tracie Peterson

June: 

Coming Home by Karen Kingsbury
Vegangelical by Sarah Withrow King
Unashamed by Heather Davis Nelson

July:

Water Walker by Ted Dekker
Close To You by Kara Issac
Rosemary Cottage by Colleen Coble
A Most Inconvenient Marriage by Regina Jennings
Protect and Serve by Terri Reed
Sins of the Past by Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason, and Dee Henderson

August:

Like Never Before by Melissa Tagg
Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd

September:

Curse by Steven James
Fading Starlight by Kathryn Cushman
Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey
No Other Will Do by Karen Witemeyer
From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden

October:

Dark Justice by Brandilyn Collins
A Spy's Devotion by Melanie Dickerson

November:

None

December:

52 Weeks With Jesus by James Merritt


☆☆☆

The 2015 Re-Read Challenge

Hosted by Belle of the Literati

COMPLETED

1. Catching Fire 1/2/16
2. Storm Siren 2/3/16
3. Take a Picture 2/5/16
4. Beastly 2/10/16
5. Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
6. The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe 5/29/16
7. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 6/15/2016
8. Corridor by Robin Parrish 8/22/2016
9. The Pawn by Steven James 9/12/2016
10. Hello, Goodbye, and Everything In Between by Jennifer E. Smith 9/14/2016
11. I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have To Kill You by Ally Carter 9/21/2016
12. The Rook by Steven James 10/7/2016
13. The Bishop by Steven James 10/29/2016
14. Bourne by Lisa T. Bergren 10/29/2016
☆☆☆

Blogger Shame

"The Blogger Shame Review Challenge--cohosted by herding cats & burning soup and Addicted to Happily Ever After-- is all about dusting off all of those forgotten review books and making them happen!"


All review books that have been on your review list for 6+ months count.

Goal: read at least 30 books

COMPLETED

January:

1. Frontier Engagement (Frontier Bachelors #3) by Regina Scott
2.The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
3. Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall

February:

4. Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis
5. Elusive Hope by MaryLu Tyndall
6. Siren's Fury by Mary Weber
7. The Set-Apart Woman: God's Invitation to Sacred Living by Leslie Ludy
8. The Body in the Woods by April Henry
9. Drawing Fire by Janice Cantore
10. The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter
11. Real: Becoming a 24/7 Follower of Jesus by Jamie Snyder
12. Explosive Alliance by Susan Sleeman
13. The Baron's Governess Bride (Glass Slipper Brides, #2) by Deborah Hale
14. The Wings of Morning (Snapshots in History, #1) by Murray Pura
15. Hacker (The Outlaw Chronicles, #3) by Ted Dekker
16. Threat of Darkness by Valerie Hansen


March:

17. 10 Great Dates: Connecting Faith, Love & Marriage by Peter Larson, Heather Larson, Claudia Arp, David Arp
18. Exit Strategy by Shirlee McCoy
19. The Guardian Duke by Jamie Carie
20. Overcoming the Hurt by Arnie Cole
21. Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson
22. One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian
23. A Man of Honor by Lorie Lough
24. Victim of Grace by Robin Jones Gunn
25. What Is The Meaning of Sex? by Denny Burk

April:

26. The Pawn by Aimee Carter
27. Defender for Hire (Heroes for Hire, #9) by Shirlee McCoy
28. Time's Edge (The Chronos Files, #2) by Rysa Walker 

May:

29. The Adversary by Mark I. Bubeck 
30. Spelled by Betsy Schow
31. From the Start by Melissa Tagg 
32. The Knight's Bride: Chivalry Lives in 6 Stories from the Middle Ages
33. Forever Yours: Five Couples Are Given a Second Chance at Romance
34. The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie
35. The Icecutter's Daughter by Tracie Peterson

___

I quit keeping track for this challenge. :/

☆☆☆



Level 1: 1 – 5 series enders

COMPLETED

1. Winter by Marissa Meyer
2. Reached by Ally Condie
3. Dark Zeal by D.I. Talbet
4. The Shadow Throne by Jennifer A. Nielsen
5. Siren's Song by Mary Weber 
6. Game Over by Andrew Klavan 
7. 
Hacker (The Outlaw Chronicles, #3) by Ted Dekker
8. Weddings and Wasabi by Camy Tang
9. Defender for Hire (Heroes for Hire, #9) by Shirlee McCoy
10. Queen by Aimee Carter
11. The Death Cure by James Dashner
12. Her One and Only by Becky Wade
13. United We Spy by Ally Carter
14. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi
15. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
16. Extras by Scott Westerfeld
17. Curse by Steven James
18. We'll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han
19. High Speed Holiday by Katy Lee

☆☆☆


My goal is to read 12 nonfiction books in 2016

COMPLETED

1. America The Beautiful by Ben Carson 2/5/2016
2. The Set-Apart Woman: God's Invitation to Sacred Living by Leslie Ludy 2/8/2016
3. A Doctor in the House: My Life with Ben Carson 2/19/2016
4. Real: Becoming a 24/7 Follower of Jesus by Jamie Snyder 2/22/2016
5. One Vote: Make Your Vote Heard by Ben Carson 3/1/2016
6. 10 Great Dates: Connecting Faith, Love & Marriage by Peter Larson, Heather Larson, Claudia Arp, David Arp 3/1/2016
7. Overcoming the Hurt by Arnie Cole 3/8/2016
8. One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian 3/16/2016
9. Thank You Notes by Jimmy Fallon 3/18/2016
10. One Nation by Ben Carson 3/20/2016
11. Enough: Finding More by Living with Less by Will Davis Jr. 3/21/2016
12. Is the Bible True . . . Really?: A Dialogue on Skepticism, Evidence, and Truth by Josh McDowell, Dave Sterrett 3/27/2016
13. Victim of Grace: When God’s Goodness Prevails by Robin Jones Gunn 3/27/2016
14. empty.: Living Full of Faith When Life Drains You Dry by Cherie Hill 3/29/2016
15. What Is the Meaning of Sex? by Denny Burk 3/31/2016
16. The Adversary: The Christian Versus Demon Activity by Mark I. Bubeck 5/1/2016 
17. Insignificant: Why You Matter in the Surprising Way God Is Changing the World by Chris Travis 5/7/2016 
18. Surprised by Suffering: The Role of Pain and Death in The Christian Life by R.C. Sproul 5/28/2016
19. Vegangelical by Sarah Withrow King 6/7/2016
20. Unashamed by Heather Davis Nelson 6/28/2016
21. Finding God in the Hard Times: Choosing to Trust and Hope When You Can't See the Way by Matt Redman 7/13/2016
22. Hope in Front of Me: Find Purpose in Your Darkest Moments by Danny Gokey 9/9/2016
23. Stolen: The True Story of a Sex Trafficking Survivor by Katariina Rosenblatt 9/20/2016

☆☆☆
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Thursday, January 12, 2017

Review: Distant Contact by D.I. Telbat





About the book:
In DISTANT CONTACT, Book One in The COIL Legacy Series by D.I. Telbat, we find that a distant shadow hovers over the Caspertein family. Greed and Muslim extremism threaten to erase America's beloved family as killers rise to avenge an accidental death.

There may be no hope for family reconciliation before it's too late. Wynter Caspertein is a primary target of a sword-wielding assassin. Rudy Caspertein is presumed dead but struggles to survive in the Arctic.

In the midst of Middle East terror, the estranged brother emerges. Titus Caspertein scoffs at the danger and flies to the aid of his sister. His Russian companion, Oleg, joins him, and the two undercover COIL agents juggle the needs of persecuted Christians with the Iranian threat that spans from the Ozarks of Arkansas to the deserts of Syria.

Join D.I. Telbat as he draws us into a COIL saga of faith and conflict, dark plots of Christian persecution, and the perseverance of men and women who trust Jesus Christ for strength and final victory.

Distant Contact follows the Prequel, Distant Boundary. It includes a free map download, a character sketch, Endnotes featuring Vision Beyond Borders Refugee Ministry, and a Bonus Chapter from the next book in the series, Distant Front. Cover design is by Streetlight Graphics.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Review: Waiting for Wonder by Marlo Schalesky


About the book:
It’s easy to believe God when a promise is new. It’s hard when the years pass and nothing changes. It’s even harder when desperation strikes, your plans backfire, and still God does not fill the emptiness. But what if, in this waiting, God is calling us to more?

Join author Marlo Schalesky on a unique, contemplative journey to reveal the wonder that is often missed when we find ourselves struggling to wait well. Walking through the life of the biblical character Sarah, one who knows what it means to wait, you will discover a glimpse of God’s character that will give you strength to keep hoping and praying for the desires of your heart.

Waiting for Wonder is a journey into the heart of God where you will wrestle with personal questions, think deeply about God’s true character, and learn to appreciate His divine work as you discover your own path to the promised land. Recapture your hope, restore your soul, and renew your vision of a wondrous Savior when you learn to live on God’s time.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn't Get To (But TOTALLY plan to)

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn't Get To (But TOTALLY plan to)

#1. Anchor in the Storm by Sarah Sundin
Reading this one right now. :D

In a time of sacrifice, what price can one put on true love?

Nothing slows Lillian Avery down--not her personal challenges and certainly not America's entry into World War II. She finally has a chance to prove herself as a pharmacist in Boston. The demands of her new job energize her. But society boy Ensign Archer Vandenberg's attentions only annoy--even if he is her brother's best friend.

During the darkest days of the war, Arch's destroyer hunts German U-boats in vain as the submarines sink dozens of merchant ships along the East Coast. Still shaken by battles at sea, Arch notices his men also struggle with their nerves--and with drowsiness. Could there be a link to the large prescriptions Lillian has been filling?

As the danger rises on both land and sea, the two must work together to answer that question. But can Arch ever earn Lillian's trust and affection?

Amazon ♦ Goodreads

#2. Just a Kiss by Denise Hunter
HOW HAVE I NOT READ THIS YET??!? :p

Riley Callahan’s plans to reveal his secret feelings for his best friend are derailed when his life is drastically altered in Afghanistan.

Watching the love of his life fall for his brother was enough to send Riley straight to boot camp. But over a year later, he’s officially a marine, and Beau and Paige are no longer an item. When Riley’s tour in Afghanistan is up, he intends to confess his feelings to Paige and win his best friend’s heart once and for all.

But all that changes when an IED takes the life of a comrade and leaves Riley an amputee. Now he’s heading home, injured and troubled. His plans to win Paige are a distant dream. She deserves so much more than the man that’s left. All he can do now is put some healthy distance between them. But upon his return he discovers his family has arranged for him to stay with Paige.

Paige is a nurturer at heart and happy to take care of her best buddy. By all appearances Riley is adjusting miraculously well to his disability. But as the days pass, Paige begins to see that the smiles and laughter are just a mask for the pain he’s hiding. To make matters worse, her job is in serious jeopardy. The animal shelter that she’s poured her heart into has lost its funding, and she has three months to come up with the money needed to save it.

As the weeks wear on, Paige’s feelings for Riley begin to shift into uncharted territory. Why is she suddenly noticing his arm muscles and the way his lips curl at the corners? Will she be able to deny her feelings for another Callahan brother? And will Riley let his heart heal so he can let Paige in?

♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads


#3. Wild Montana Skies by Susan May Warren

Bestselling Author's New Series Delivers Romance and Adventure as an SAR Team Searches for Others--and Finds Themselves

Search and rescue pilot Kacey Fairing is home on leave in Mercy Falls, Montana, twelve years after she joined the military to escape the mistakes of her past. With a job waiting for her as the new lead pilot of Peak Rescue in Glacier National Park, Kacey hopes to reconnect with the now-teenage daughter she sees only between deployments. What she doesn't realize is that someone else is also back in town.

Ben King has been building his country music career since the day Kacey shut him out of her life. Now all of that's on hold when his injured father calls him home to help run Peak Rescue until he's fully recovered. It doesn't take long, though, to discover his father's ulterior motives as Kacey Fairing walks into the house and back into his heart.

With Mercy Falls in a state of emergency due to flash floods, Kacey and Ben are forced to work together to save lives. But when floodwaters turn personal, can they put aside the past to save their future?

♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads

#4. The Reluctant Duchess by Roseanna M. White

A Riveting Edwardian Series Set among Britain's High Society

Lady Rowena Kinnaird may be the heiress to a Highland earldom, but she has never felt good enough--not for her father, not for the man she thought she'd marry, not for God. But after a shocking attack, she's willing to be forever an outcast if it means escaping Loch Morar.

Brice Myerston, the Duke of Nottingham, has found himself in possession of a rare treasure his enemies are prepared to kill for. While Brice has never been one to shy away from manor-born ladies, the last thing he needs is the distraction of Lady Rowena, who finds herself in a desperate situation. But when Rowena's father tries to trap Brice into marrying his daughter, Brice makes a surprising decision.

Rowena wanted to escape the Highlands, but she's reluctant to marry a notorious flirt. And when she learns that Brice is mixed up in questionable business with a stolen treasure, she fears she's about to end up directly in the path of everything she was trying to avoid.

♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads

#5. Remnants: Seasons of Glory by Lisa T. Bergren

In the third and final volume of the Remnants series—Seasons of Glory—the power of the Remnants and their people are growing, threatening Pacifica’s careful plans for domination. Among the Trading Union, village after village, outpost after outpost, and city after city are drawn to people of the Way, and agree to stand against those who hunt them. But Pacifica intends to ferret out and annihilate the Remnants—as well as everyone who hasn’t sworn allegiance to the empire—setting the stage for an epic showdown that will change the course of a world on the brink … forever.

♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads


#6. All Summer Long by Melody Carlson

Tia Gets a Second Chance at Love When an Old Crush Suddenly Reappears

Tia D'Amico is thrilled to move to San Francisco to help her aunt transform an old luxury yacht into an upscale floating restaurant. What's not to love? Sunset dinner cruises, upscale wedding receptions--the possibilities are endless and far more appetizing than staying in a monotonous job in her Podunk hometown. Besides, some of her best memories are tied to San Francisco--especially the memory of Leo Parker, her crush from a long-ago sailing camp.

When the self same Leo Parker turns out to be the yacht's captain, Tia is floating on air. But will it all come crashing down around her when she discovers his heart belongs to someone else?

Get ready for a romantic summer in San Francisco, where the future glistens brighter than the bay at sunset.

♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads

#7. Kiss The Bride: Three Summer Love Stories

Meet the people who make it all happen—the planners, the photographers, the musicians who have helped orchestrate the perfect day for countless couples—as they find their own happy endings in the second Year of Weddings novella collection.

Picture Perfect Love: A June Wedding Story by Melissa McClone
I Hope You Dance: A July Wedding Story by Robin Lee Hatcher
Love on a Deadline: An August Wedding Story by Kathryn Springer


♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads


#8. Flirtation Walk by Siri Mitchell

West Point History Comes Alive in this Warmhearted Romance

Trying to escape the shambles her con-man father has made of their reputation, Lucinda Curtis arrives in West Point, New York, determined to land a husband from the military academy. Campbell Conklin is first in his class and preparing to embark upon a storied career in the U.S. Army. Lucinda thinks Campbell will make the perfect husband . . . as long as he does not find out about her father.

Seth Westcott also has taken a liking to Lucinda. He's kind, smart . . . and working extremely hard to graduate last. Tradition states that the worst cadets are assigned to the cavalry out west. And west is where Seth must head to track the swindler who stole all of Seth's mother's money. Seth is smart enough to vie for the top spot, but life isn't fair and this is his chance to catch the man who ruined his family. It's too bad Campbell is all shine and no substance, but Lucinda will surely see through all of that, won't she?


♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads

#9. The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson
What happens when a margrave realizes he’s fallen in love with a servant?

The Margrave of Thornbeck has to find a bride, fast. He invites ten noble-born ladies from around the country to be his guests at Thornbeck Castle for two weeks, a time to test these ladies and reveal their true character.

Avelina is only responsible for two things: making sure her deception goes undetected and avoiding being selected as the margrave’s bride. Since the latter seems unlikely, she concentrates on not getting caught. No one must know she is merely a maidservant, sent by the Earl of Plimmwald to stand in for his daughter, Dorothea.

Despite Avelina’s best attempts at diverting attention from herself, the margrave has taken notice. And try as she might, she can’t deny her own growing feelings. But something else is afoot in the castle. Something sinister that could have far worse—far deadlier—consequences. Will Avelina be able to stop the evil plot? And at what cost?


♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads


#10. Can't Help Falling by Kara Issac

A funny, heartfelt romance about how an antique shop, a wardrobe, and a mysterious tea cup bring two C.S. Lewis fans together in a snowy and picturesque Oxford, England.

Emelia Mason has spent her career finding the dirt on the rich and famous. But deep down past this fearless tabloid-reporter fa├žade, there’s a nerdy Narnia-obsessed girl who still can’t resist climbing into wardrobes to check for the magical land on the other side. When a story she writes produces tragic results, she flees to Oxford, England—home to C.S. Lewis—to try and make amends for the damage she has caused.

Peter Carlisle was on his way to become one of Great Britain’s best rowers—until he injured his shoulder and lost his chance at glory. He’s determined to fight his way back to the top even if it means risking permanent disability to do so. It’s the only way he can find his way past failing the one person who never stopped believing in his Olympic dream.

When Peter and Emelia cross paths on her first night in Oxford, the attraction is instant and they find common ground in their shared love of Narnia. But can the lessons from a fantasyland be enough to hold them together when secrets of the real world threaten to tear them apart? Cobblestone streets, an aristocratic estate, and an antique shop with curious a wardrobe bring the world of Narnia to life in Kara Isaac’s inspiring and romantic story about second chances.


♦ Amazon ♦ Goodreads

Please share your list in a comment below. Thanks for stopping by. :)

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Monday, January 9, 2017

Weekly Giveaway Link-up #129

Welcome to Weekly Giveaway Link-up hosted by Crystal @ Just Another Book Lovin' Girl and me. This is a linky where you can submit your blog's Christian book and book-related giveaways and find other giveaways. A new link-up will be posted every Monday.

Thursday, January 5, 2017

2017 Goals & Resolutions!

I can't believe it is already 2017!
2016 flew by (especially those last couple months). I'm late with getting this post together, but better late than never, right?

2017 Goals & Resolutions:


  • Read at least 150 books
This doesn't sound like much compared to what I read last year (281), but it's already the 5th and I haven't even finished a book yet. Been in a really bad slump that I thought I'd already be over by now, but not yet. It's a real struggle to read at all. :/
  • Get my NetGalley ratio to 80% or higher
  • Read at least 75 books from my 2017 TBR shelf on Goodreads
  • Finish at least 1 Nonfiction book every month.
Regarding this blog, I hope I can keep posting and get back to posting more consistently, but at the moment I've been dealing with some computer issues and also have just been busy. :/ Still, I hope you guys will all stick around and keep reading this blog, even if my posting is sporadic. ;p

Those are my goals/resolutions for 2017, please share yours below! Thanks for stopping by. :)

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Review: High Speed Holiday by Katy Lee



About the book:
TANGLED PAST

After Ian Stone discovers he was kidnapped when he was a baby, he journeys to his "family's" hometown—and is shot at shortly after he arrives. Now he's convinced the Spencers don't want their long-lost brother, Luke, to return and claim his inheritance. But local chief of police Sylvie Laurent doesn't believe his siblings would try to kill him. And the stubborn woman is determined to protect him until she uncovers the truth. At first, Sylvie is skeptical of Ian's story…but he bears a strong resemblance to the Spencers. And they'll have to work together to stay ahead of the danger if they want to live to see him reunited with his family at Christmas.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts: