Wednesday, January 18, 2017

"Waiting On" Wednesday: Every Deadly Kiss by Steven James


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we're
eagerly anticipating.

 This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Every Deadly Kiss by Steven James / ISBN# 978-1101991572
Expected Publication Date: July 4, 2017
Find on: AmazonGoodreads

About the book:

FBI special agent Patrick Bowers grapples with a baffling series of murders in Detroit—and discovers a terror plot with roots that stretch back centuries. 

Called in by an ex-girlfriend to consult on a case, Patrick encounters the work of a killer who displays a stunning degree of ruthlessness. Bowers is shocked to find that the slayings are linked not just to his own history with a known terrorist, but to his former lover as well—and that her secret past might hold the key to stopping the crime spree. As layers of intrigue peel away, the city is pushed ever closer to a seemingly unstoppable bioweapon attack.

Unnerving and laced with breathtaking suspense, Every Deadly Kiss is a surprising and complex thriller that will keep readers obsessed to the final page.


Why I want to read this book:
Favorite series. The minute I heard about this book it went on my "must have" list. :D Cannot wait for it to release!

What's your "Waiting On" Wednesday selection this week?

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Saturday, January 14, 2017

2016 Reading Challenges ~ Wrap-Up!

Meant to get this posted earlier this month, but I wasn't able to get the post ready until now. Here's how I did with the 2016 reading challenges...I completed all but one. Woohoo!!


Hosted by Book Date

COMPLETED

1. Dark Zeal
2. The Express Rider's Lady
4. Storm Siren
5. Abandoned Memories
1. Mr. Monk and the Dirty Cop
2. The Secret of Pembrooke Park
3. Heart of Gold
4. Expert Witness
5. All In
1. Illuminae
2. The Icecutter's Daughter
3. This Quiet Sky
4. Elusive Hope
5. The Baron's Governess Bride


1. Winter
(Switching Memoir to YA novel)
2. Reached
3. Forsaken Dreams
4. Pretties
1. The Isle of the Lost
2. Game Over
3. Crossed
4. Frontier Engagement 
5. Uglies

☆☆☆

Falling For YA

Hosted by Falling For YA

My Goal: Platinum - 75 Books

Missed Goal

January:

Frontier Engagement by Regina Scott
The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
Instant Frontier Family by Regina Scott
Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall
Elusive Hope by MaryLu Tyndall
Thin Ice by Irene Hannon

February:

Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis
Siren's Fury by Mary Weber 
Siren's Song by Mary Weber 
Game Over by Andrew Klavan 
With This Ring? by Karen Witemeyer
The Body in the Woods by April Henry
Drawing Fire by Janice Cantore
The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter
Real: Becoming a 24/7 Follower of Jesus by Jamie Snyder
Explosive Alliance by Susan Sleeman
The Baron's Governess Bride (Glass Slipper Brides, #2) by Deborah Hale
The Wings of Morning (Snapshots in History, #1) by Murray Pura
Hacker (The Outlaw Chronicles, #3) by Ted Dekker
Threat of Darkness by Valerie Hansen

March:

10 Great Dates: Connecting Faith, Love & Marriage by Peter Larson, Heather Larson, Claudia Arp, David Arp
Exit Strategy by Shirlee McCoy
The Guardian Duke by Jamie Carie
Overcoming the Hurt by Arnie Cole
Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson
The Holiday Courtship by Winnie Griggs
One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian
If I Run by Terri Blackstock
A Man of Honor by Lorie Lough
Victim of Grace by Robin Jones Gunn
What Is The Meaning of Sex? by Denny Burk

April:

The Pawn by Aimee Carter
The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter
Reclaiming His Past (Smoky Mountain Matches, #8) by Karen Kirst
Defender for Hire (Heroes for Hire, #9) by Shirlee McCoy
The Bachelor Girl's Guide to Murder (Herringford and Watts, #1) by Rachel McMillan
Time's Edge by Rysa Walker

May:

The Adversary by Mark I. Bubeck 
Spelled by Betsy Schow 
From the Start by Melissa Tagg 
The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie 
Her One and Only by Becky Wade
The Icecutter's Daughter by Tracie Peterson

June: 

Coming Home by Karen Kingsbury
Vegangelical by Sarah Withrow King
Unashamed by Heather Davis Nelson

July:

Water Walker by Ted Dekker
Close To You by Kara Issac
Rosemary Cottage by Colleen Coble
A Most Inconvenient Marriage by Regina Jennings
Protect and Serve by Terri Reed
Sins of the Past by Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason, and Dee Henderson

August:

Like Never Before by Melissa Tagg
Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd

September:

Curse by Steven James
Fading Starlight by Kathryn Cushman
Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey
No Other Will Do by Karen Witemeyer
From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden

October:

Dark Justice by Brandilyn Collins
A Spy's Devotion by Melanie Dickerson

November:

None

December:

52 Weeks With Jesus by James Merritt

☆☆☆

2016netgalleychallenge
Hosted by Fictively


41+ books

COMPLETED

January:

Frontier Engagement by Regina Scott
The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
Instant Frontier Family by Regina Scott
Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall
Elusive Hope by MaryLu Tyndall
Thin Ice by Irene Hannon

February:

Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis
Siren's Fury by Mary Weber 
Siren's Song by Mary Weber 
Game Over by Andrew Klavan 
With This Ring? by Karen Witemeyer
The Body in the Woods by April Henry
Drawing Fire by Janice Cantore
The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter
Real: Becoming a 24/7 Follower of Jesus by Jamie Snyder
Explosive Alliance by Susan Sleeman
The Baron's Governess Bride (Glass Slipper Brides, #2) by Deborah Hale
The Wings of Morning (Snapshots in History, #1) by Murray Pura
Hacker (The Outlaw Chronicles, #3) by Ted Dekker
Threat of Darkness by Valerie Hansen

March:

10 Great Dates: Connecting Faith, Love & Marriage by Peter Larson, Heather Larson, Claudia Arp, David Arp
Exit Strategy by Shirlee McCoy
The Guardian Duke by Jamie Carie
Overcoming the Hurt by Arnie Cole
Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson
The Holiday Courtship by Winnie Griggs
One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian
If I Run by Terri Blackstock
A Man of Honor by Lorie Lough
Victim of Grace by Robin Jones Gunn
What Is The Meaning of Sex? by Denny Burk

April:

The Pawn by Aimee Carter
The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter
Reclaiming His Past (Smoky Mountain Matches, #8) by Karen Kirst
Defender for Hire (Heroes for Hire, #9) by Shirlee McCoy
The Bachelor Girl's Guide to Murder (Herringford and Watts, #1) by Rachel McMillan
Time's Edge by Rysa Walker

May:

The Adversary by Mark I. Bubeck
Spelled by Betsy Schow
From the Start by Melissa Tagg
The Knight's Bride: Chivalry Lives in 6 Stories from the Middle Ages 
Forever Yours: Five Couples Are Given a Second Chance at Romance 
The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie
Her One and Only by Becky Wade
The Icecutter's Daughter by Tracie Peterson

June: 

Coming Home by Karen Kingsbury
Vegangelical by Sarah Withrow King
Unashamed by Heather Davis Nelson

July:

Water Walker by Ted Dekker
Close To You by Kara Issac
Rosemary Cottage by Colleen Coble
A Most Inconvenient Marriage by Regina Jennings
Protect and Serve by Terri Reed
Sins of the Past by Dani Pettrey, Lynette Eason, and Dee Henderson

August:

Like Never Before by Melissa Tagg
Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd

September:

Curse by Steven James
Fading Starlight by Kathryn Cushman
Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey
No Other Will Do by Karen Witemeyer
From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden

October:

Dark Justice by Brandilyn Collins
A Spy's Devotion by Melanie Dickerson

November:

None

December:

52 Weeks With Jesus by James Merritt


☆☆☆

The 2015 Re-Read Challenge

Hosted by Belle of the Literati

COMPLETED

1. Catching Fire 1/2/16
2. Storm Siren 2/3/16
3. Take a Picture 2/5/16
4. Beastly 2/10/16
5. Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
6. The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe 5/29/16
7. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 6/15/2016
8. Corridor by Robin Parrish 8/22/2016
9. The Pawn by Steven James 9/12/2016
10. Hello, Goodbye, and Everything In Between by Jennifer E. Smith 9/14/2016
11. I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have To Kill You by Ally Carter 9/21/2016
12. The Rook by Steven James 10/7/2016
13. The Bishop by Steven James 10/29/2016
14. Bourne by Lisa T. Bergren 10/29/2016
☆☆☆

Blogger Shame

"The Blogger Shame Review Challenge--cohosted by herding cats & burning soup and Addicted to Happily Ever After-- is all about dusting off all of those forgotten review books and making them happen!"


All review books that have been on your review list for 6+ months count.

Goal: read at least 30 books

COMPLETED

January:

1. Frontier Engagement (Frontier Bachelors #3) by Regina Scott
2.The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen
3. Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall

February:

4. Spinning Starlight by R.C. Lewis
5. Elusive Hope by MaryLu Tyndall
6. Siren's Fury by Mary Weber
7. The Set-Apart Woman: God's Invitation to Sacred Living by Leslie Ludy
8. The Body in the Woods by April Henry
9. Drawing Fire by Janice Cantore
10. The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter
11. Real: Becoming a 24/7 Follower of Jesus by Jamie Snyder
12. Explosive Alliance by Susan Sleeman
13. The Baron's Governess Bride (Glass Slipper Brides, #2) by Deborah Hale
14. The Wings of Morning (Snapshots in History, #1) by Murray Pura
15. Hacker (The Outlaw Chronicles, #3) by Ted Dekker
16. Threat of Darkness by Valerie Hansen


March:

17. 10 Great Dates: Connecting Faith, Love & Marriage by Peter Larson, Heather Larson, Claudia Arp, David Arp
18. Exit Strategy by Shirlee McCoy
19. The Guardian Duke by Jamie Carie
20. Overcoming the Hurt by Arnie Cole
21. Once Upon a Summertime by Melody Carlson
22. One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian
23. A Man of Honor by Lorie Lough
24. Victim of Grace by Robin Jones Gunn
25. What Is The Meaning of Sex? by Denny Burk

April:

26. The Pawn by Aimee Carter
27. Defender for Hire (Heroes for Hire, #9) by Shirlee McCoy
28. Time's Edge (The Chronos Files, #2) by Rysa Walker 

May:

29. The Adversary by Mark I. Bubeck 
30. Spelled by Betsy Schow
31. From the Start by Melissa Tagg 
32. The Knight's Bride: Chivalry Lives in 6 Stories from the Middle Ages
33. Forever Yours: Five Couples Are Given a Second Chance at Romance
34. The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie
35. The Icecutter's Daughter by Tracie Peterson

___

I quit keeping track for this challenge. :/

☆☆☆



Level 1: 1 – 5 series enders

COMPLETED

1. Winter by Marissa Meyer
2. Reached by Ally Condie
3. Dark Zeal by D.I. Talbet
4. The Shadow Throne by Jennifer A. Nielsen
5. Siren's Song by Mary Weber 
6. Game Over by Andrew Klavan 
7. 
Hacker (The Outlaw Chronicles, #3) by Ted Dekker
8. Weddings and Wasabi by Camy Tang
9. Defender for Hire (Heroes for Hire, #9) by Shirlee McCoy
10. Queen by Aimee Carter
11. The Death Cure by James Dashner
12. Her One and Only by Becky Wade
13. United We Spy by Ally Carter
14. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi
15. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
16. Extras by Scott Westerfeld
17. Curse by Steven James
18. We'll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han
19. High Speed Holiday by Katy Lee

☆☆☆


My goal is to read 12 nonfiction books in 2016

COMPLETED

1. America The Beautiful by Ben Carson 2/5/2016
2. The Set-Apart Woman: God's Invitation to Sacred Living by Leslie Ludy 2/8/2016
3. A Doctor in the House: My Life with Ben Carson 2/19/2016
4. Real: Becoming a 24/7 Follower of Jesus by Jamie Snyder 2/22/2016
5. One Vote: Make Your Vote Heard by Ben Carson 3/1/2016
6. 10 Great Dates: Connecting Faith, Love & Marriage by Peter Larson, Heather Larson, Claudia Arp, David Arp 3/1/2016
7. Overcoming the Hurt by Arnie Cole 3/8/2016
8. One Way Love by Tullian Tchividjian 3/16/2016
9. Thank You Notes by Jimmy Fallon 3/18/2016
10. One Nation by Ben Carson 3/20/2016
11. Enough: Finding More by Living with Less by Will Davis Jr. 3/21/2016
12. Is the Bible True . . . Really?: A Dialogue on Skepticism, Evidence, and Truth by Josh McDowell, Dave Sterrett 3/27/2016
13. Victim of Grace: When God’s Goodness Prevails by Robin Jones Gunn 3/27/2016
14. empty.: Living Full of Faith When Life Drains You Dry by Cherie Hill 3/29/2016
15. What Is the Meaning of Sex? by Denny Burk 3/31/2016
16. The Adversary: The Christian Versus Demon Activity by Mark I. Bubeck 5/1/2016 
17. Insignificant: Why You Matter in the Surprising Way God Is Changing the World by Chris Travis 5/7/2016 
18. Surprised by Suffering: The Role of Pain and Death in The Christian Life by R.C. Sproul 5/28/2016
19. Vegangelical by Sarah Withrow King 6/7/2016
20. Unashamed by Heather Davis Nelson 6/28/2016
21. Finding God in the Hard Times: Choosing to Trust and Hope When You Can't See the Way by Matt Redman 7/13/2016
22. Hope in Front of Me: Find Purpose in Your Darkest Moments by Danny Gokey 9/9/2016
23. Stolen: The True Story of a Sex Trafficking Survivor by Katariina Rosenblatt 9/20/2016

☆☆☆
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Review: Distant Contact by D.I. Telbat





About the book:
In DISTANT CONTACT, Book One in The COIL Legacy Series by D.I. Telbat, we find that a distant shadow hovers over the Caspertein family. Greed and Muslim extremism threaten to erase America's beloved family as killers rise to avenge an accidental death.

There may be no hope for family reconciliation before it's too late. Wynter Caspertein is a primary target of a sword-wielding assassin. Rudy Caspertein is presumed dead but struggles to survive in the Arctic.

In the midst of Middle East terror, the estranged brother emerges. Titus Caspertein scoffs at the danger and flies to the aid of his sister. His Russian companion, Oleg, joins him, and the two undercover COIL agents juggle the needs of persecuted Christians with the Iranian threat that spans from the Ozarks of Arkansas to the deserts of Syria.

Join D.I. Telbat as he draws us into a COIL saga of faith and conflict, dark plots of Christian persecution, and the perseverance of men and women who trust Jesus Christ for strength and final victory.

Distant Contact follows the Prequel, Distant Boundary. It includes a free map download, a character sketch, Endnotes featuring Vision Beyond Borders Refugee Ministry, and a Bonus Chapter from the next book in the series, Distant Front. Cover design is by Streetlight Graphics.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Review: Waiting for Wonder by Marlo Schalesky


About the book:
It’s easy to believe God when a promise is new. It’s hard when the years pass and nothing changes. It’s even harder when desperation strikes, your plans backfire, and still God does not fill the emptiness. But what if, in this waiting, God is calling us to more?

Join author Marlo Schalesky on a unique, contemplative journey to reveal the wonder that is often missed when we find ourselves struggling to wait well. Walking through the life of the biblical character Sarah, one who knows what it means to wait, you will discover a glimpse of God’s character that will give you strength to keep hoping and praying for the desires of your heart.

Waiting for Wonder is a journey into the heart of God where you will wrestle with personal questions, think deeply about God’s true character, and learn to appreciate His divine work as you discover your own path to the promised land. Recapture your hope, restore your soul, and renew your vision of a wondrous Savior when you learn to live on God’s time.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.