If you shop through my Amazon link for anything, I'll earn a small percentage. Thank you so much. :) Christian Books and Bibles

Tuesday, January 16, 2024

Top Ten Tuesday | Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2024



January 9: Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2024

~ ~

I'm doing this topic a week late, but it is one I love to do...hope you enjoy seeing my list. :) Let me know if you see any books that you are looking forward to reading. 

(in no particular order)


I've already read this one, but it gets a mention because it is one of the books I was eagerly anticipating.



If you've been around my blog for a while, you probably know that Steven James is one of the favorite authors and I loved the first book (Broker of Lies) in his new series. I can hardly wait to start this one and see what happens next.


I've really enjoyed Lynn's other books that I've read, so I am eager to dive into this one.


Hunter's books are usually easy, light reads and I am anticipating this one to be a good one. 


I love Pettrey's suspense stories. So excited about this new one!


Sarah Sundin is a favorite historical author of mine and I hope this one will be another winner.


I have loved pretty much all of the books I've read by White and I can hardly wait to read this one...the first book was SO good!


I've been anticipating this one since reading the first book...I hope it is just as amazing.


I've been a huge fan of Wade's contemporary romance novels. This one sounds super cute and I can't wait to read it.

This post contains “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, January 8, 2024

Review: The Seamstress of Acadie by Laura Frantz

About the book:
As 1754 is drawing to a close, tensions between the French and the British on Canada's Acadian shore are reaching a fever pitch. Seamstress Sylvie Galant and her family--French-speaking Acadians wishing to remain neutral--are caught in the middle, their land positioned between two forts flying rival flags. Amid preparations for the celebration of Noël, the talk is of unrest, coming war, and William Blackburn, the British Army Ranger raising havoc across North America's borderlands.

As summer takes hold in 1755 and British ships appear on the horizon, Sylvie encounters Blackburn, who warns her of the coming invasion. Rather than participate in the forced removal of the Acadians from their land, he resigns his commission. But that cannot save Sylvie or her kin. Relocated on a ramshackle ship to Virginia, Sylvie struggles to pick up the pieces of her life. When her path crosses once more with William's, they must work through the complex tangle of their shared, shattered past to navigate the present and forge an enduring future.
My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

The Seamstress of Acadie was one of my most anticipated reads of 2024 and it did not disappoint! The story pulled me in right away and, while it was a slower read for me in the beginning, I really enjoyed it.

The characters were great. I really liked Bleu (her brother) and Will. Both were favorite characters. 😊 The romance between Will and Sylvie was good and I liked that it took its time to progress. 

All in all, The Seamstress of Acadie was a very good read. It had some sad moments, but it felt realistic and I loved the book. I am eagerly looking forward to Laura Frantz's next story.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Friday, January 5, 2024

Weekend Wrap-Up (January 5th, 2024)

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

-
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

~

Monday, November 6, 2023

Q & A with Angela Hunt | Author of What a Wave Must Be

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Q & A with Angela Hunt

Author of What a Wave Must Be

Angela Hunt has authored more than 165 works and sold nearly six million copies of her books worldwide. Her books have won awards such as the coveted Christy Award, several Angel Awards for Excellence in Media, and the Gold and Silver Medallions from Foreword’s Book of the Year Award. Angela holds a doctorate in biblical studies and a ThD. She and her husband live in Florida.

1. What inspired this story?

Focus on the Family wanted to do novels about contemporary social issues. Jerry Jenkins contacted writers and edited the three books, and I’m thrilled to be associated with Chris Fairy and Tamera Alexander in this endeavor.

2. Describe the audience that you envisioned while writing this book. Who do you think will enjoy this book?

I wrote the book as a parent and grandparent, and I think people in those roles will discover a lot to ponder and take away from the story.

3. What messages or themes do you focus on in this story?

One of the themes is hope, because people who take their lives have utterly lost hope. We have hope in Jesus, but many times our problems loom larger than our faith.

4. Who was your favorite character to write?

The grandmother, naturally—I am a grandmother who loves her grandchildren, and my heart aches when they are unhappy. In a very real sense, I am Nana.

5. How does faith play a role in this story?

The adult characters, including the man who takes his life, are believers. Maddie, the teenager, is not. So the adults have to deal with their own grief as they try to model Christian hope and faith for their granddaughter. Not always easy to do.

6. What do you hope readers take away from Maddie’s journey?

I hope parents of teenagers will understand how large problems loom for teens. Life seems so immediate when you’re young—it can seem like it will take forever before you get a driver’s license—so they don’t always understand that momentary actions can have eternal consequences.

7. What do you hope to communicate about the issue of suicide and the impact left in its wake?

I don’t want to give away the story’s plot points, but I can say this: People who commit suicide because they think they’re doing their loved ones a favor are absolutely wrong. Suicide causes far more grief and raises more questions than any alternative.

8. What advice would you offer young writers?

I would encourage young writers to start writing small things before attempting a novel. I wrote nonfiction pieces for five years before I even thought about writing a book. It’s a process, not something that you can learn overnight.

9. Do you have any other writing projects in the pipeline?

I am currently working on the last book of a series set in ancient Rome. I recently completed a series set in the intertestamental period; then I did four books set during the time of Jesus’ ministry; and now I’m moving on to the people whom Paul led to Christ. I’ve really enjoyed writing these series in chronological order. It’s almost like living through the Bible


What a Wave Must Be by Angela Hunt
 
Find on Amazon (aff link) | Goodreads
Softcover: $15.99 | ISBN 978-1-64607-045-9
Hardcover: $29.99 | ISBN 978-1-64607-149-4
November 2023
FocusOnTheFamily.com
Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Powered by Blogger.