Saturday, April 22, 2017

Some Upcoming Releases I'm Anticipating...

I was trying to think of some type of post I could do and realized that there are several upcoming releases that I can't wait to read. Now, some of these books release really soon, while others aren't until the end of the year (boo!). Let me know in the comments if you are anticipating any of these books and please share some of your "can't wait to read" books. :D

~~~~~~~~

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Review: The Wonder of You by Susan May Warren



About the book:
Mortified after her semester abroad is cut short, Amelia Christiansen returns to Deep Haven, certain she isn’t brave enough for the adventures she’s dreamed of. The last thing she expects is for the man who broke her heart to cross the Atlantic and beg forgiveness.

Heir to a European hotel dynasty, Roark St. John has trekked from one exotic locale to another, haunted by tragedy and the expectations that accompany his last name. Amelia is the first woman to give him a reason to stop running. He’ll do anything for a second chance—even contend with Amelia’s old flame, who is intent on sending Roark packing.

While one surprise after another leaves Amelia reeling, Roark’s continued presence only highlights the questions pursuing her. Like him, is she running from the life God has called her to? Could finding her new place mean leaving home behind?
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Expedition: Still Life Tour ~ Guest Post by Dani Pettrey + Giveaway!


Port of Baltimore

Thanks so much for joining me on Melanie’s wonderful blog for the fifth stop on my Expedition: Still Life Tour. If you aren't familiar with this exciting blog tour, or the fabulous grand prize you can win by taking part in it, please visit Expedition: Still Life's main contest page for all the details.

Today’s stop is the Port of Baltimore. Baltimore has an amazingly rich maritime history and the Port of Baltimore plays a key role in Still Life.

Fun facts:

1. The port’s official name is The Helen Delich Bentley Port of Baltimore. It was renamed for Helen Delich Bentley during the 2006 celebration of the port’s 300th birthday. Helen was an amazing lady, and I’m honored to say she was a fan of the Alaskan Courage and the beginning of the Chesapeake Valor series prior to passing late last year. If you’re ever interested in learning about this incomparable lady and the Port of Baltimore, be sure to check out Helen’s book Great Port of Baltimore Its First 300 Years 1706-2006.


2. The Port of Baltimore started in the 17th century as an access point for Maryland’s tobacco trade with England.

3. The Port of Baltimore became famous for its shipbuilders. They gained renown for their Baltimore clippers as well as the Continental Navy.

4. Baltimore is home to the USS Constellation. This ship is the last Civil War vessel afloat. It was built in 1854 and is the last all-sail warship built by the US Navy.

5. Baltimore’s Fort McHenry defended the Baltimore harbor during the War of 1812 and is the birthplace of the American National anthem, written by Francis Scott Key.


6. Baltimore’s waterfront neighborhood of Fell’s Point was the second largest point of immigration after Ellis Island.

I love driving home past the port, seeing the ships and knowing the rich history of my home state.

Thanks again to Melanie for hosting me today, and for all of you joining me on stop #5 of my Expedition: Still Life Tour. Be sure to collect your passport stamp to be entered to win the Grand Prize



Collect The Baltimore Stamp!

* indicates required



To also be entered to win a Amazon gift card, just answer the question below. After answering the question, visit http://danipettrey.com/stilllife-contest/ to see all the other stops and giveaways on this tour.

Merchant ships aren’t the only ships to travel in and out of Baltimore’s port these days. Over the last few years, Baltimore has become a key cruise port, leading cruises through New England, Canada, and down to the warm Caribbean. Have you ever been on a cruise? If so, where? If not, what would be your top cruise destination?


Author Bio:

Praised by New York Times bestselling author Dee Henderson as “a name to look for in romantic suspense,” Dani Pettrey combines the page-turning adrenaline of a thriller with the chemistry and happy-ever-after of a sigh-worthy romance novel. Her novels stand out for their “wicked pace, snappy dialogue, and likable characters” (Publishers Weekly), “gripping storyline[s],” (RT Book Reviews), and “sizzling undercurrent” of romance (USA Today).

Dani’s adventure-focused Alaskan Courage series climbed the CBA bestseller lists, with Submerged staying in the top twenty for five consecutive months. The five-book series also won multiple awards, including the Daphne du Maurier award, two HOLT Medallions, and Christian Retailing’s Best Award, among others. She turns her attention to crime and law enforcement in her home state of Maryland in her new Chesapeake Courage series, starting with Cold Shot, which Library Journal called, “a harrowing and thrilling ride.” For more information about her novels, visit www.danipettrey.com.





--Melanie here. Dani is giving away an Amazon gift card here! To enter that giveaway, use the Rafflecopter form below so we have a way to contact you should you win. :) Mandatory entry is to comment on this post with your answer to Dani's question (above). Happy entering and thanks for stopping by! Be sure to visit http://danipettrey.com/stilllife-contest/ to check out the rest of the tour.

How to enter: Sign into the Rafflecopter form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form.


a Rafflecopter giveaway
Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, April 3, 2017

Review: Sadie's Secret by Kathleen Y'Barbo



About the book:
From bestselling author Kathleen Y’Barbo comes Sadie’s Secret, the third book in The Secret Lives of Will Tucker series. These historical novels capture the romance of the South mingled with adventure and laced with secret identities and hidden agendas.

Louisiana, 1890―Sarah Louise “Sadie” Callum is a master of disguise, mostly due to her training as a Pinkerton agent but also from evading overprotective brothers as she grew up. When she takes on a new assignment with international connections, she has no idea her new cover will lead her on the adventure of a lifetime.

Undercover agent William Jefferson Tucker is not looking for marriage―pretend or otherwise―but his past is a secret, his twin brother has stolen his present, and his future is in the hands of the lovely Sadie Callum. Without her connections to the world of upper-crust New Orleans, Jefferson might never find a way to clear his name and solve the art forgery case that has eluded him for years.

Only God can help these two secret agents find a way to solve their case and uncover the truth about what is going on in their hearts.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Review: Unchained: If Jesus Has Set Us Free, Why Don't We Feel Free? by Noel Jesse Heikkinen


About the book:
Often when people follow Jesus, they feel more guilty instead of more free. A powerful book for the spiritually restless, Unchained shows readers how to have a robust faith that celebrates their freedom in Christ without compromising their holiness as God’s followers.

Unchained turns to the person and work of Jesus Christ as the source of freedom—not just his work 2,000 years ago but also what he is doing today. As readers dig into the meaning of the freedom that Jesus offers, they will understand, perhaps for the first time, what true freedom in Christ means.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, March 27, 2017

Review: Wild Montana Skies by Susan May Warren


About the book:
http://amzn.to/2nfHrsVThe last thing Search and Rescue helicopter pilot Kacey Fairing needs upon returning home to Mercy Falls, Montana, is to run into her mistakes. After a devastating crash during her recent military tour in Afghanistan, she is emotionally broken but ready to start putting her life back together. She just wants to reconnect with her teenage daughter and spend the summer working as the new lead pilot of PEAK Rescue in Glacier National Park.

But her mistakes aren't so easily forgotten. Because Ben King is also back in town.

Country music star Ben King abandoned his past when he moved to Nashville thirteen years ago to start his career. He hoped to heal his broken heart, caused by losing the woman he loved. But when his father is injured, Ben is called home to help manage PEAK Rescue during his recovery. He doesn't realize his father has ulterior motives until his old flame, Kacey, walks into his house and back into his heart.

Now, with Mercy Falls in a state of emergency due to flash floods, Kacey and Ben will have to work together to save lives. But when secrets are uncovered and old hurts rise to the surface, will they walk away again? Or can they find a different ending to their country love song?
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Friday, March 24, 2017

Weekend Wrap-up (3-24)


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Review: When Tides Turn by Sarah Sundin



About the book:
In a time of war, sometimes battles take place in the heart.

Tess Beaumont is tired of being thought of as just a pretty face. Eager to do her part for the war effort, she joins the Navy's newly established WAVES program for women. Perhaps there she can convince people that there is more to her than meets the eye.

Lt. Dan Avery has been using his skills in the fight against German U-boats and hoping to make admiral. The last thing he wants to see on his radar is a girl like Tess. Convinced that romance will interfere with his goals, Dan is determined to stay the course, no matter how intriguing a distraction Tess is.

But love, like war, is unpredictable. When Dan is shipped out at the peak of the Battle of the Atlantic, he finds himself torn between his lifelong career goals and his desire to help the beguiling Tess root out a possible spy on shore. Could this fun-loving glamour girl really be the one?
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, March 20, 2017

Review: Just a Kiss by Denise Hunter



About the book:
Riley Callahan’s plans to reveal his secret feelings for his best friend are derailed when his life is drastically altered in Afghanistan.

Watching the love of his life fall for his brother was enough to send Riley straight to boot camp. But over a year later, he’s officially a marine, and Beau and Paige are no longer an item. When Riley’s tour in Afghanistan is up, he intends to confess his feelings to Paige and win his best friend’s heart once and for all.

But all that changes when an IED takes the life of a comrade and leaves Riley an amputee. Now he’s heading home, injured and troubled. His plans to win Paige are a distant dream. She deserves so much more than the man that’s left. All he can do now is put some healthy distance between them. But upon his return he discovers his family has arranged for him to stay with Paige.

Paige is a nurturer at heart and happy to take care of her best buddy. By all appearances Riley is adjusting miraculously well to his disability. But as the days pass, Paige begins to see that the smiles and laughter are just a mask for the pain he’s hiding. To make matters worse, her job is in serious jeopardy. The animal shelter that she’s poured her heart into has lost its funding, and she has three months to come up with the money needed to save it.

As the weeks wear on, Paige’s feelings for Riley begin to shift into uncharted territory. Why is she suddenly noticing his arm muscles and the way his lips curl at the corners? Will she be able to deny her feelings for another Callahan brother? And will Riley let his heart heal so he can let Paige in?
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

CD Review & Giveaway!! Open Hands by Laura Story


Find on Amazon: http://amzn.to/2nbmuBR
Tracks:

1. Death Was Arrested
2. Open Hands
3. You Came Running
4. Give You Faith
5. For the Love of My King
6. Awake My Soul (A 1000 Tongues)
7. Whisper
8. Every Word You Breathe
9. Majesty
10. Extraordinary
11. Grace Abounds

Rating:
5 stars
My Thoughts:

I LOVE this CD. It is probably my favorite of Laura Story's albums. I absolutely love the lyrics to the songs, especially Open Hands, but really every song has a great message and is inspiring.

These are my top favorite songs...I could have probably listed almost all of the tracks as "favorites", so I just picked my top tracks to spotlight.

Open Hands. Title track and probably my favorite song on the album. I can see it being a favorite song of mine in general. The lyrics are inspiring and moving, I love the music, and the song features Mac Powell (from Third Day) and I love the differing voices throughout the song.

For the Love of My King. This song has amazing lyrics and the music is so catchy. I find myself singing along without even meaning to! One really great thing about this song is it infuses lyrics from the hymn My Jesus, I Love Thee into the song and does it so beautifully. I loved that!

Every Word You Breathe. What a beautiful song. "I will cling to every word You breathe."

Grace Abounds. Wow. The lyrics in this song are A++. "When it feels like hope cannot be found, grace abounds."

All in all, Open Hands is a phenomenal album and I most definitely recommend it. A great inspirational album that you can play on "repeat". ;)

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*


GIVEAWAY!

Enter to win a copy of this CD, Open Hands! Giveaway in open to the US and Canada. Ends 3/20/16


How to enter: Sign into the Giveaway Tools form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form. Happy entering!

Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Giveaway Tools and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Giveaway Tools or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

"Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.