Saturday, November 9, 2019

Blog Tour: Deadly Christmas Pretense by Dana Mentink


About the Book


Book: Deadly Christmas Pretense
Author: Dana Mentink
Genre:  Christian Suspense, Mystery, Romance
Release Date: November 4, 2019

A cowboy to her rescue…but she’s not who he thinks she is.

Posing as her sister for Christmas is the only way to save her, but Maggie Lofton needs help—even if it means working with her twin’s cowboy ex-boyfriend, Liam Pike. But between the bull’s-eye on her back and the dangerous connection she’s forming with Liam, Maggie’s mission is harder than expected. Will their tenuous partnership be enough to shield her when the killer closes in?

Book #2 in the Roughwater Ranch Cowboys series



Click here to get your copy.   (aff link)

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Monthly Reflections ~ October 2019

I haven't done one of these Monthly Reflections in so long. I'm hoping to get back into posting regularly. Thank you for sticking with me even during my sporadic posting these past several months. :)

Monthly Reflections, where we take the time to reflect on the previous month.

How I Did With My October Goals:

Review: Aiming for Love by Mary Connealy


About the Book

Book: Aiming for Love
Author: Mary Connealy
Genre: Christian Historical Romance
Release Date: October 2, 2019

Josephine Nordegren is one of three sisters who grew up nearly wild in southwestern Colorado. She has the archery skills of Robin Hood and the curiosity of the Little Mermaid, fascinated by but locked away from the forbidden outside world–a world she’s been raised to believe killed her parents. When David Warden, a rancher, brings in a herd much too close to the girls’ secret home, her older sister is especially frightened, but Jo is too interested to stay away.


 David’s parents follow soon on his heels, escaping bandits at their ranch. But his father is wounded and needs shelter. Josephine and her sisters have the only cabin on the mountain. Do they risk stepping into the world to help those in need? Or do they remain separated but safe in the peaks of Hope Mountain?



Click here to get your copy!   (aff link)

About the Author

Mary Connealy writes “romantic comedies with cowboys” and is celebrated for her fun, zany, action-packed style. She has more than half a million books in print. She is the author of the popular series Wild at Heart, Kincaid Brides, Trouble in Texas, Lassoed in Texas, Sophie’s Daughters, and many other books. Mary lives on a ranch in eastern Nebraska with her very own romantic cowboy hero. Learn more at www.maryconnealy.com.

More from Mary

What it would do to someone to run wild from nearly their earliest memory? What if three young girls had the basic skills to survive a rugged life but no adults to guide them? Would they grow up to be a completely odd and untamed version of themselves, or the truest, in some ways most honest version? I wanted to explore that idea: wild children, tough young women, afraid of the invading world, but lonely, too. So I created the plot for my Brides of Hope Mountain series by mixing the three little girls who’d grown up wild on the top of a mountain with some fairy tale ideas. Book one, Aiming for Love, is Josephine Nordegren’s story. I had this vision of Ariel the mermaid seeing a man for the first time when strangers invade the high valley she lives in with only her two sisters. Curiosity is her besetting sin, or so she’s always been told. She has wilderness skills, mainly in the form of owning a bow and arrow and understanding wild animals, but for the first time, she is drawn to a man. Jo needs to be tamed, or Dave, the man she can’t stop watching from in the woods, needs to learn the ways of the wild, because they’re out of place in each other’s worlds.

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Aiming for Love is a good book to pick up if you are looking for a nice historical read with some humor. I haven't read a Mary Connealy novel in what feels like ages, so I was curious about whether or not I would enjoy this one... I'm very happy that it was a hit and I am eager to continue the series.

I found the characters to be a delight. It was interesting how the sisters' lived and in some ways I felt bad for them. The romance was as expected and I enjoyed reading the story.

All in all, Aiming for Love was very good and I recommend it to fans of this genre.


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

Blog Stops

Among the Reads, October 25
Moments With Mercy, October 25
Bigreadersite , October 25
Emily Yager, October  25
Quiet Workings, October 26
Stories By Gina, October 27
Older & Smarter?, October 28
Betti Mace, October 28
Wishful Endings, October 28
The Becca Files, October 29
Mary Hake, October 29
Mamma Loves Books, October 29
Britt Reads Fiction, October 30
Hallie Reads, October 31
Connect in Fiction, October 31
Daysong Reflections, November 1
Splashes of Joy, November 1
Moments, November 2
Batya’s Bits, November 2
She Lives To Read, November 2
EmpowerMoms, November 3
Remembrancy, November 3
Blessed & Bookish, November 4
Pause for Tales , November 5
Texas Book-aholic, November 6
janicesbookreviews, November 6
A Reader’s Brain, November 7
Leona J. Atkinson, November 7
Lukewarm Tea, November 7

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Mary is giving away a grand prize package of a $20 Amazon gift card, a copy of Aiming for Love, and a copy of Fairy Tales from Around the World!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Celebrate Lit Tour: Wonderful Yah: The Unveiling - Author Interview



Author Interview:




Will you tell us a little about yourself?

I am 60 years old, and I was born in Flint, Michigan. My father worked for General Motors, and my mother stayed home and took care of the children. I have five sisters and two brothers. I attended parochial school from grades 1-12. After graduating from Powers Catholic High School, I joined the United States Air Force, I was fascinated with aviation and airplanes. However, while serving in the military, I was injured; after five years in the Air Force, I was honorably discharged with a service-connected disability. While serving in the U.S. Military, I recommitted my life to Jesus Christ and was baptized as an adult.

One year after leaving the Air Force, I applied and was accepted at Oral Roberts University. It took me seven years to complete my undergraduate degree (1983-1988); I had to work five of the seven years to support myself. During the last two years, the Veterans Administration helped me with some financial assistance, so I didn't have to work while going to school. I did well with my grades when the Veterans Administration was helping me, so they also helped me with financial assistance for my graduate education. After graduating with honors (magna cum laude) from Oral Robert's University in 1988 with a Bachelor's Degree in Social Work, I applied and was accepted at the University of Michigan's Advanced Standing Program where I completed my Master's Degree in clinical social work in one year. After graduating from the University of Michigan in 1990, I worked in Michigan for 25 years helping the poor, homeless, and mentally ill.

What is your latest book about?

I explain and solve two of the greatest mysteries in the Bible: the mystery of the Godhead and the mystery of God's will. For the past two thousand years, Christians have struggled to understand who Jesus is and the mystery of the Godhead; that is, who the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit are. In my book, I take the knowledge from both the Old and New Testaments about God and break this knowledge down into one sentence that explains who Jesus is and solves the mystery of the Godhead. I also explain the mystery of God's will, our will, and how they collaborate. Solving these two mysteries has never been done before in such a concise and self-evident way. Although there are parts of the book that are technical, which is needful to explain these two complex mysteries, there are plenty of non-technical parts that also explain God's love for us, what is our value to God, why did God put us on planet earth, and what is the most important thing we should be learning.

Did you have to do a lot of research for the book? If so, what was the most interesting thing you learned?

The research acquired for this book is the accumulation of things I have learned about Jesus Christ over the past four decades of my life. I have taken the knowledge I have gained over these four decades and used that knowledge to solve some of the greatest mysteries in the Bible. The most interesting thing I learned is that it is so much more enjoyable writing from what is in your heart. For me, writing from the heart is so much more important and enjoyable than trying to write from your head.

Do you have a favorite song and/or movie?

This may sound bias, but my favorite song might be a song I wrote. I am not a musician, but I wrote a song to support my latest book. I acquired the help of a musician, who has a Ph.D. in music composition, help me score the music professionally. I have not had the music recorded yet, but maybe someday someone will want to sing and record the song professionally. The name of the song is Wonderful YaH; the name of my latest book is Wonderful YaH: The Unveiling.

Thank you so much for being here! Is there anything else you’d like to tell readers and where can we find you on the web?

Yes, I am currently working on developing a few social media platforms where people can learn a little more about me and interact with me. Currently, my business Facebook page is probably the best way to contact and interact with me at this time.

My face book page: https://www.facebook.com/Matthew-Marx-Author-109464223766363/

Redemption Press online author page: https://redemption-press.com/featured-authors/




About the Book

Book: Wonderful Yah: The Unveiling
Author: Matthew Marx
Genre: Non-Fiction, Christian, Theology
Release Date: July 22, 2019

What is His name, and what is His Son’s name, if you know?

This intriguing question from the book of Proverbs seems to echo the question in so many of our hearts: Who is God really? Over the past two millennia, people have tried to understand the mystery of the divinity of God using logic and thinking, but it fails every time. The Godhead does not operate or function as people do, and God is not subject to human reasoning. Yet understanding the mystery of the Godhead is both simple and profound when we know how to use the key Jesus gave us.

This book begins by accepting the challenge of some of the most thought-provoking Scriptures in the entire Bible—Proverbs 30:2–4. Throughout the book’s exploration of the divinity of God, a power hidden within God’s Hebrew name is discovered and then unleashed to answer the question, What is His name, and what is the name of His Son? The mystery of the Godhead is then subdued as God’s Hebrew name erupts as the correct foundation on which to discuss the relationship between the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Scriptural doors that once seemed impenetrable now open easily with a turn of a key, helping you to connect with the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit in a deeper, more focused way.


Click here to get your copy.   (aff link)

About the Author


After spending twenty-five years working with the severe and persistently mentally ill, Matthew William Marx felt a burden to pray for those struggling to understand Jesus. His prayers led him to a deeper understanding of God, which he is now sharing with his readers. Matthew is a graduate of Oral Roberts University and holds a master’s degree in social work. He is licensed with the state of Michigan, where he lives with his wife, Suzanne. 

More from Matthew

Wow! Who would have known? Normally, non-fiction books like Wonderful YaH: The Unveiling primarily focus on: what is the problem and how to fix it. However, wouldn’t it be intriguing if a non-fiction book incorporated some elements of a fiction book such as mystery, suspense, and drama, with the reader bring the drama as they deal with their internal dialogue on how to answer a proposed question to help solve the mystery. Be aware, however, that this type of adventure and journey is not for the timid or light of heart. Taking fiction elements such as mystery, suspense, and drama and placing them in a non-fiction book could produce a real-world reality shift that is different from what the reader has known or experienced—Wonderful YaH: The Unveiling is one such book. Come and join me on a non-fiction journey and adventure that incorporates some elements of fiction that explore, explain, and solve two of the greatest mysteries of the Bible. The two great mysteries to which I refer are (1) the divinity of Jesus Christ in the Godhead, and (2) how our lives and the choices we make fit into God’s will and divine providence. Many smart and wise people, over the past two thousand years, have tried to explain and solve these two mysteries but have fallen short typically. Wonderful YaH: The Unveiling fills the gaps left by previous attempts to solve these two great mysteries by discovering the hidden power in God’s Hebrew name, then harnessing that power to solve the mysteries. You might ask, “What is the point of being able to solve these two great mysteries, and what does it have to do with me”? The point is to know the One who created everything and to figure out how our lives fit into His grand scheme of everything. More simply stated, what is our purpose for being on planet earth? Surely, there is more to life than just being born, living for a few decades if you are fortunate, then dying. Isn’t it worth asking: Is our life more than just a blade of grass that is here today then gone tomorrow? If there were an answer to this mystery, wouldn’t it be nice to find the answer to this mystery before we die? People often read fiction for the adventure of mystery and suspense. Why not read a non-fiction book that offers mystery and suspense but with real-life consequences?

Blog Stops

Christian Bookshelf Reviews , October 30 (Author Interview)
Mary Hake, October 31
Through the Fire Blogs, November 2 (Author Interview)
Artistic Nobody, November 3 (Author Interview)
Blossoms and Blessings, November 5 (Author Interview)
Texas Book-aholic, November 6
janicesbookreviews, November 7
My Devotional Thoughts, November 8 (Author Interview)
A Reader’s Brain, November 9


Giveaway

To celebrate his tour, Matthew is giving away the grand prize package of the choice of paperback book or eBook, a $75 Amazon gift card, and a $25 Starbucks gift card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Review: Like a Winter Snow (Port Willis) by Lindsay Harrel


About the book:
In this standalone holiday novella, return to the charming Cornish village readers fell in love with in The Secrets of Paper and Ink.

Women’s counselor Joy Beckman has always been a friend and helper to all. That’s why she’s given up everything to be with her parents as her mother suffers through Alzheimer’s. Joy may not have a thriving career or a love life at the moment, but she’s doing what she does best—taking care of others. And even though it’s difficult, she knows it’s where she is supposed to be.

But life throws a curveball when she has to leave her parents temporarily to travel to Cornwall, England, for the Christmas-time wedding of her best friend. While there, Joy helps Sophia tackle her last-minute to-do list, and in the process, finally meets a man who turns her head—and her heart. The only problem? He lives in snowy London, and her life is with her parents back in sunny Florida.

She tries to resist Oliver Lincoln’s charms, but it’s harder than it should be. With her heart torn in two, Joy is forced to choose between a life she knows she’s meant for and the one she didn’t see coming. 

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Like a Winter Snow was a sweet Christmas novella! I loved returning to Port Willis (The Secrets of Paper and Ink) and getting to see what was happening with the characters from that book.

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I connected with Joy. Her story was difficult and had moments in which I felt for what she was going through. I really liked her friendship with Sophia.

The romance was heartwarming...Oliver seemed like a great guy. The ending was good and I think things wrapped up nicely.

All in all, Like a Winter Snow was just what I was hoping for and I recommend it if you are looking for a good Christmas read this year. It was written very well!

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Saturday, October 26, 2019

Review: Fatal Memories by Tanya Stowe




About the book:
Book: Fatal Memories
Author: Tanya Stowe
Genre: Inspirational Romantic Suspense
Release Date: September 1, 2019

She was framed! Or was she?

If only she could remember…

Border patrol agent Jocelyn Walker has no memory of how she turned up unconscious with a cache of drugs—or why a gang is dead set on killing her. With evidence stacking up against her, Joss takes refuge with driven DEA agent Dylan Murphy, who guards—and suspects—her. But will finally trusting each other lead them into a trap they’ll never escape?

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads



My rating: 
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Fatal Memories was really good! This is one of my favorite amnesia stories I've read recently; I feel like it was written very well and I found it to be believable.

I liked how we didn't know if the heroine was framed or not. I found myself questioning whether she was guilty or not and that is something I love in suspense stories.

All in all, I'm happy I read Fatal Memories and definitely recommend it if you are looking for a quick romantic suspense story.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

About the Author



Tanya Stowe is a Christian Fiction author with an unexpected edge. She is married to the love of her life, her high school sweetheart. They have four children and twenty-one grandchildren, a true adventure. She fills her books with the unusual…mysteries and exotic travel, even a murder or two. No matter where Tanya takes you…on a trip to foreign lands or a suspenseful journey packed with danger…be prepared for the extraordinary.
 

More from Tanya

It has long been my husband’s desire to travel the country in a motorhome. So when he retired three years ago, we sold our home and hit the road. We lived in the high desert region of Southern California for almost 37 years. I thought it was going to be a rough transition, but it wasn’t…especially since I came to love one of our new locations.
We spend the winter months in southern Arizona where Fatal Memories is set. I love everything about this unique place. We are surrounded by incredible ecosystems…the Sonoran and Chihuahua deserts collide there, so a different environment is around every corner. The beauty of the mountains, streams and lakes (yes, there’s water in southern Arizona—monsoons come up from Baja every summer) and the wildlife is amazing. I’ve been told black panthers have been known to cross the border from Mexico and roam the countryside. My husband and I bought a Jeep so we could go off-roading to see these sites up close and personal.
In addition to all these amazing natural wonders, history jumps out and grabs me. I’m just twenty minutes from Tombstone. Fort Huachuca and Fort Bowie are forty miles away in different directions. Every time I turn around, there’s a history making site or event to grab my interest. I hope you can see why I fell in love with my new home. I hope you will too when you read Fatal Memories.
By the way…if you interested, I write about our travels in my monthly newsletter. Be sure to check it out!

Blog Stops

Bigreadersite , October 16
Genesis 5020, October 17
The Avid Reader, October 17
Emily Yager, October 18
Batya’s Bits, October 19
Andy Carmichael, October 20
EmpowerMoms, October 22
Betti Mace, October 23
Daysong Reflections, October 24
Mary Hake,October 24
Older & Smarter?, October 25
Blogging With Carol, October 25
Texas Book-aholic, October 27
janicesbookreviews, October 28
Gail Hollingsworth, October 29
Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Tanya is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Planning My November TBR - This is going to be difficult...

I don't know why, but I feel like challenging myself. I mean REALLY challenging myself. I want to plan out my entire November TBR and ONLY read books from my list (unless I somehow get through them all, then I can of course pick up other books.) ;)



I definitely am a planner, so I enjoy lists and such; but, I'm never really good at sticking to a TBR list. I always seem to find something else I want to read so I'm just super curious if I can complete this challenge.  



I haven't been reading as much as I usually do, so I'm going to keep my list to 8 books.


I'm curious if any of you have ever challenged yourself like this? Please share in a comment below or on any of my social pages. :D

---

NOVEMBER TBR
This post contains affiliate links to Amazon. 

 
Smoke Screen by Terri Blackstock | Amazon

Words of Hope for Women by Carolyn Larsen | Amazon

Every Stolen Breath by Kimberly Gabriel | Amazon

Lake Season (Bluebell Inn Romance #1) by Denise Hunter | Amazon

The Mystery: Finding True Love in a World of Broken Lovers | Amazon

Series: A Defense of Honor (Haven Manor, #1) | Amazon
A Return of Devotion (Haven Manor, #2) | Amazon
A Pursuit of Home (Haven Manor, #3) | Amazon



This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Powered by Blogger.