Monday, December 31, 2018

2018 Reading Wrap-Up | Goals, Favorite Reads, and Top Releases I Meant To Read.

Happy New Years' Eve! I can't believe 2018 is nearly over. This year went by so quickly. There were some amazing releases and I added several books to my TBR.



I had four bookish goals for 2018. I'm happy to say that I completed all of them!

  • Get NetGalley ratio to 65%. 
  • Finish at least 12 nonfiction books (hopefully 1 each month).
  • Finish at least 5 series.
  • Finish at least 20 Love Inspired books.
The toughest one for me was, unsurprisingly, the NetGalley ratio goal. I just made it to 65% this month and hope to just keep adding to that.



Favorite Reads of 2018:

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Review: Every Wicked Man by Steven James


About the book:
A criminal mastermind's chilling terrorist plot forces FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers to the brink in the latest thriller from bestselling novelist Steven James. 

When a senator's son takes his own life and posts the video live online, Agent Bowers is drawn into a complex web of lies that begins to threaten the people he loves the most. As he races to unravel the mystery behind the suicide and a centuries-old code that might help shed light on the case, he finds a dark pathway laced with twists and deadly secrets that touch a little too close to home.

A fast-paced, intelligent thriller, Every Wicked Man will have readers racing through the pages to its thundering conclusion.

My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Every Wicked Man surpassed my expectations, which were incredibly high, and was a thrilling ride. You may already know this, but the Bowers Files is my favorite series and I have loved all eleven books. When I heard about this new release, I instantly added it to my "must read" list. I heard that this is the final Bowers book, but I'm holding out hope for more someday as I absolutely love these characters and am not ready to say goodbye forever.

The suspense in Every Wicked Man was heart-pounding. There were scenes that had me so nervous about what was to come; but, what surprised me the most was how emotional I got while reading this story. It actually brought tears to my eyes at one point.

I loved getting this glimpse of Patrick while he was married to his wife and seeing his relationship with his stepdaughter, Tessa, during the "early years".

I could list several other things that I loved, but I will end with this: Every Wicked Man was a phenomenal read and, if you enjoy thrillers, I highly recommend it. This is my favorite read of 2018 by far.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
AmazonGoodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, December 17, 2018

Review: A Temporary Family (Prairie Courtships #7) by Sherri Shackelford


About the book:
MAKE-BELIEVE MARRIAGE

When Tilly Hargreaves and her three nieces are stranded at his small stagecoach station in an abandoned town and threatened by outlaws, Nolan West must protect them. And the only way he can do that is by pretending he's married to Tilly. But can the former solider, whose only wish is for solitude, stop himself from growing attached to his temporary family?

Tilly knows the charade is necessary to keep her and the girls safe, but now her heart is in danger. The longer she pretends the stoic station agent is her husband, the more genuine their union feels. Nolan believes he's better off alone, but Tilly's certain that if he'd only open his heart to his make-believe family, he'd want to claim them as his for real.
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Friday, December 14, 2018

Weekend Wrap-Up (December 14) / Kindle Deal Spotlight


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Review: More Than Meets the Eye by Karen Witemeyer


About the book:
When Her Family Is Threatened, She Doesn't Expect Falling in Love to Be Their Best Defense

Many consider Evangeline Hamilton cursed. Orphaned at a young age and possessing a pair of mismatched eyes--one bright blue, the other dark brown--Evangeline has fought to find her way in a world that constantly rejects her. Yet the support of even one person can help overcome the world's judgments, and Evangeline has two--Seth and Zach, fellow orphans she now counts as brothers.

Seeking justice against the man who stole his birthright and destroyed his family, Logan Fowler arrives in 1880s Pecan Gap, Texas, to confront Zach Hamilton, the hardened criminal responsible for his father's death. Only instead of finding a solitary ruthless gambler, he discovers a man not much older than himself with an unusual family. And when Hamilton's unique sister, Evangeline, insists on dousing Logan with sunshine every time they cross paths, Logan finds his quest completely derailed. Who is truly responsible for his lost legacy, and will restoring the past satisfy if it means forfeiting a future with Evangeline?
My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, December 10, 2018

Review: Tell Her No Lies by Kelly Irvin


About the book:
Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin’s Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth.

“A moving and compelling tale about the power of grace and forgiveness that reminds us how we become strongest in our most broken moments.”—Library Journal review of Upon a Spring Breeze

Even the most admired families have secrets to hide . . .

Nina Fischer carries a camera wherever she goes—so she can view life through a filter. Safely. After her mother abandoned her to the streets, Nina has kept people at a distance, including her uncle, who adopted Nina and her sister. Wealthy and proud, he is a good man, a fair judge, and someone many in San Antonio admire.

But when he is murdered, and the detective assigned to the case accuses Nina of the crime, she knows she must act. She’s determined to use her journalism background to find the real killer. The two men in her life want to help, but can she trust them? She’s known Rick since they were children, but now he’s an attorney whose political aspirations seem more important than Nina’s tragic loss. And then there’s Aaron, a news videographer; using their friendship could break the biggest story of his career.

Following the evidence leads Nina on a journey of discovery into her father’s shocking masquerade as a law-abiding, family-loving Christian. Unlocking these secrets could prove fatal, but it’s the only way Nina will ever be able to trust love again.

Combining romance and suspense, bestselling author Kelly Irvin’s Tell Her No Lies is a high-stakes race for the truth.
My rating:

3.5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, December 8, 2018

My To-Be Read List (#MyTBRL) -- And The Winner Is...December


 Hosted by Because Reading. On the first Saturday of the month you pick three books from your TBR list and ask for help from your followers and the people on the linky to help you choose which book to read that month. Then, on the second Saturday, you announce the results and get to reading. :) The goal is to review said book on the last Saturday of the month.

--

Last week I chose three books with "Christmas" in the title and you guys voted. :)

The winner was...


Friday, December 7, 2018

Weekend Wrap-Up (December 7) / Kindle Deal Spotlight


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Review: Dead Drift by Dani Pettrey


About the book:
The Final Countdown to Stop an Imminent Attack Has Begun.

Burning debris littering the ground . . . smoke pluming in the acrid air . . . this is just the beginning if he fails.

Seven years ago, operative Luke Gallagher vanished to become part of an elite team set on capturing a deadly terrorist. When Luke returns to face those he left behind, their help becomes his only hope of stopping his target's latest threat of an attack that would shake America to its core.

Private investigator Kate Maxwell never stopped loving or looking for Luke after he disappeared. But she also never imagined he left her or his life by choice. Now he's back, and together they must unravel a twisting thread of secrets, lies, and betrayal, all while on the brink of a biological disaster.


Will they and their love survive, or will Luke and Kate become the terrorist's next mark?


My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Review: Bodyguard for Christmas by Carol J. Post


About the book:
Someone’s after his little boy.

She has one chance to save them both.

When his young son is nearly kidnapped, assistant district attorney Colton Gale needs a Christmas refuge—and a live-in bodyguard. Though ex-military police officer Jasmine McNeal fights to shield them 24/7, she refuses to get attached.

But growing close to the little boy and his father might be her only shot at keeping them alive—and becoming a family beyond the holidays.

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, December 3, 2018

Review: Christmas at the Red Door Inn by Liz Johnson


About the book:
One blizzard. Two friends. Three days to fall in love.

Lifelong islander Brooke Kane doesn’t know what to do with her college degree, her dreams, or her future, but she knows better than to venture far from home when there’s a storm brewing. But a promise to check on Rose’s Red Door Inn prompts Brooke to venture out. By the time she arrives at the inn, the snow is knee-deep and visibility almost non-existent. She settles in to spend a few days alone at the inn until a familiar figure appears at the door.

Pastor Chuck O’Flannigan has never felt like a bigger fool. So focused on his recent decision to leave Prince Edward Island, he’s caught unaware by the blizzard while on a walk. He can only see the inn’s red door, a promise of safety. But when he discovers that Brooke—the only woman who could tempt him to stay on the island—is also taking refuge there, he knows he’s in trouble.

With Christmas only three days away, Brooke is determined that they’ll celebrate—even if it’s just the two of them. Happy to play Scrooge to her Tiny Tim, Chuck wiles away his hours dreaming of a return to Ireland—praying that God may have plans for him there. After all, God seems to have forgotten him in North Rustico. But as Brooke brings Christmas to life, her joy makes him wonder if God may not have forgotten him. In fact, God may have big plans for both of them—if they can only survive Christmas at the Red Door Inn.
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Sunday, December 2, 2018

Monthly Reflections ~ November 2018

Monthly Reflections, where we take the time to reflect on the previous month.

How I Did With My November Goals:

Saturday, December 1, 2018

My To-Be Read List -- December Voting #MyTBRL


 Hosted by Because Reading. On the first Saturday of the month you pick three books from your TBR list and ask for help from your followers and the people on the linky to help you choose which book to read that month. Then, on the second Saturday, you announce the results and get to reading. :) The goal is to review said book on the last Saturday of the month.

--

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

I Can't Wait for...A Bound Heart by Laura Frantz (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

---


About the book:
Though Magnus MacLeish and Lark MacDougall grew up on the same castle grounds, Magnus is now laird of the great house and the Isle of Kerrera. Lark is but the keeper of his bees and the woman he is hoping will provide a tincture that might help his ailing wife conceive and bear him an heir. But when his wife dies suddenly, Magnus and Lark find themselves caught up in a whirlwind of accusations, expelled from their beloved island, and sold as indentured servants across the Atlantic. Yet even when all hope seems dashed against the rocky coastline of the Virginia colony, it may be that in this New World the two of them could make a new beginning--together.

Laura Frantz's prose sparkles with authenticity and deep feeling as she digs into her own family history to share this breathless tale of love, exile, and courage in Colonial America.

Pages: 416 pages
Publisher: Revell
Release Date: January 1, 2019
ISBN-10:  0800726642
Find the book on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2JuU5PQ

---



This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, November 26, 2018

Review: Love Covers: Elias (Leaving Lennhurst #1) by Julia David


About the book:
Two strangers hiding their own life-long secrets. Can pretending to be married...be that hard?

The town of Greenlock shuns the daughter of the mortician. Day after day, Lauren begrudgingly has to take over her father's duties creating despondence in her tender heart.

Then a voice speaks from the morgue basement. A rough and tumble outlaw who's supposed to be dead is still alive! For some unfathomable reason, Lauren agrees to help him stay dead.

Elias was raised at Lennhurst Asylum. Since he had no family or future, he jumped a half-served prison sentence and enlisted in the recent Civil War to wield explosives. From running and surviving all his life, all Elias promised anyone was loyalty. Love was out of the question. When Lauren mentions her longing to see her mother and sister in Colorado, for loyalty’s sake, he offers to take her on the arduous wagon train journey. Of course, it wouldn't be proper not to be married while traveling together. Lauren and Elias, so vastly opposite; their charade should be easy and yet they never expected it to threaten their very lives.

Loyalty versus love. Can Love Cover a multitude of sin or destroy a future?
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Review: The Cost of Betrayal by Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, and Lynette Eason


About the book:
FAITH WILL BE TESTED. TRUST SHATTERED.
THREE BESTSELLING ROMANTIC SUSPENSE WRITERS REUNITE
FOR NOVELLAS OF DEADLY BETRAYAL.
 
Dee Henderson - "Betrayed"
After serving six years of a twenty-year sentence for a murder she didn't commit, Janelle Roberts is finally freed. But the truth is still waiting to be discovered, and a murderer is still at large. Janelle needs to be somewhere safe with someone she can trust. She may not survive another act of treachery.

Dani Pettrey - "Deadly Isle"
Tennyson Kent is trapped on the isolated island of her childhood by a storm surge, and she is shocked when the typically idyllic community turns into the hunting grounds of a murderer. Cut off from any help from the mainland, will she and first love Callen Frost be able to identify and stop a killer before they become the next victims?

Lynette Eason - "Code of Ethics"
When Detective Isaac Martinez lands in the ER with a gunshot wound, he pulls through thanks to trauma surgeon Ruthie St. John. But as the witness to a crime and possible corruption, Martinez is at risk from someone intent on silencing him--and those around him--forever. When he barely survives another attack while recovering, both he and Ruthie must flee, trying to outrun deadly killers while locating the evidence they need to end the danger.

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

I Can't Wait for...Sweet on You (Bradford Sisters Romance #3) by Becky Wade (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

---

About the book:
Britt Bradford and Zander Ford have been the best of friends since they met thirteen years ago. Unbeknown to Britt, Zander has been in love with her for just as long.

Independent and adventurous Britt channels her talent into creating chocolates at her hometown shop. Zander is a bestselling author who's spent the past 18 months traveling the world. He's achieved a great deal but still lacks the only thing that ever truly mattered to him--Britt's heart.

When Zander's uncle dies of mysterious causes, he returns to Merryweather, Washington, to investigate, and Britt is immediately there to help. Although this throws them into close proximity, both understand that an attempt at romance could jeopardize their once-in-a-lifetime friendship. But while Britt is determined to resist any change in their relationship, Zander finds it increasingly difficult to keep his feelings hidden.

As they work together to uncover his uncle's tangled past, will the truth of what lies between them also, finally, come to light?

Series: Bradford Sisters Romance
Pages: 368 pages
Publisher: Bethany House
Release Date: April 30, 2019
ISBN-10:  0764219383
Find the book on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2yJxbA9

---



This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, November 19, 2018

Review: The Captured Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower #3) by Michelle Griep


About the book:
Mercy Lytton, a scout with keen eyesight raised among the Mohawks, and Elias Dubois, a condemned traitor working both sides of the conflict, must join together to get a shipment of gold safely into British hands.
A brand new series for fans of all things related to history, romance, adventure, faith, and family trees.

A War-Torn Countryside Is No Place for a Lady
Mercy Lytton is a lady like none other. Raised amongst the Mohawks, she straddles two cultures, yet each are united in one cause. . .to defeat the French. Born with a rare gift of unusually keen eyesight, she is chosen as a scout to accompany a team of men on a dangerous mission. Yet it is not her life that is threatened. It is her heart.  Condemned as a traitor, Elias Dubois faces the gallows. At the last minute, he is offered his freedom if he consents to accompany a stolen shipment of French gold to a nearby fort—but he is the one they stole it from in the first place. It turns out that the real thief is the beguiling woman, Mercy Lytton, for she steals his every waking thought.   Can love survive divided loyalties in a backcountry wilderness?

Join the adventure as the Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep.

More in the Daughters of the Mayflower series:
The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1620 Atlantic Ocean (February 2018)
The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1725 New Orleans (April 2018)
The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep – set 1760 during the French and Indian War (June 2018)
The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1774 Philadelphia (coming August 2018)?
The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear – set 1794 on the Wilderness Road (coming October 2018)
The Liberty Bride by MaryLu Tyndall – set 1814 Baltimore (coming December 2018)
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Friday, November 16, 2018

Weekend Wrap-Up (November 16) / Kindle Deal Spotlight


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Review: Wait for Me by Susan May Warren


About the book:
With Jess and Pete, every day is lived at full throttle. 
Now if they can only stay alive to enjoy it.

Pete Brooks can't believe he's waited an entire year for EMT Jess Tagg to return to Montana, only to have her break his heart. Worse, a series of mistakes on the job has cost lives, and Pete isn't sure he wants to continue to work in search and rescue. Maybe if he can just get over Jess, he can figure out how to move forward.

When a terrible fight between Jess and Pete sparks an impulsive decision, Jess finds herself crashed on the side of a highway along with two others. Just when Jess thinks things couldn't get any worse, they are taken captive and dragged into the untamed Montana wilderness--with murderous intent.

Now Pete will have to call on everything he's learned to find them--and pray that his past mistakes don't cost him the life of the woman he can't stop loving.

Link to series:
 
.

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

I Can't Wait for...Daughters of Northern Shores (Blackbird Mountain #2) by Joanne Bischof (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

---

About the book:
Aven Norgaard understands courage. Orphaned within an Irish workhouse, then widowed at just nineteen, she voyaged to America where she was wooed and wed by Thor Norgaard, a Deaf man in rural Appalachia. That the Lord saw her along the winding journey and that Aven now carries Thor's child are blessings beyond measure. Yet while Thor holds her heart, it is his younger brother and rival who haunts her memories. Haakon--whose selfish choices shattered her trust in him.

Having fled the Norgaard orchard after trying to take Aven as his own, Haakon sails on the North Atlantic ice trade, where his soul is plagued with regrets that distance cannot heal. Not even the beautiful Norwegian woman he's pursued can ease the torment. When the winds bear him home after four years away, Haakon finds the family on the brink of tragedy. A decades-old feud with the neighboring farm has wrenched them into the fiercest confrontation on Blackbird Mountain since the Civil War. Haakon's cunning and strength hold the power to seal many fates, including Thor's--which is already imperiled due to a grave illness brought to him at the first prick of warfare.

Now Haakon faces the hardest choice of his life. One that shapes a battlefield where pride must be broken enough to be restored, and where a prodigal son may finally know the healing peace of surrender and the boundless gift of forgiveness. And when it comes to the woman he left behind in Norway, he just might discover that while his heart belongs to a daughter of the north, she's been awaiting him on shores more distant than the land he's fighting for.

Series: Blackbird Mountain
Pages: 368 pages
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date: March 12, 2019
ISBN-10: 0718099125
Find the book on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2De23wD

---



This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Top Ten Bookish Items/Merchandise I’d Like to Own

Top Ten Bookish Items/Merchandise I’d Like to Own

Monday, November 12, 2018

Review: The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y'Barbo


About the book:
 Can a former privateer and a determined heiress find lost treasure in 1725?A brand new series for fans of all things related to history, romance, adventure, faith, and family trees.



Pasts Collide in New Orleans when a Treasure Goes Missing

The last time New Orleans attorney Jean-Luc Valmont saw Maribel Cordoba, a Spanish nobleman’s daughter, she was an eleven-year-old orphan perched in the riggings of his privateering vessel proving herself as the best lookout on his crew. Until the day his infamy caught up with them all and innocent lives were lost. Unsure why he survived but vowing to make something of the chance he was given, Jean-Luc has buried his past life so deep that no living person will ever find it—until a very much alive and very grown up Maribel Cordoba arrives on his doorstep and threatens all he now holds dear. 



 Join the adventure as the Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo.



More to come in the Daughters of the Mayflower series:
The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1620 Atlantic Ocean (coming February 2018)
The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1725 New Orleans (coming April 2018)
The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep – set 1760 during the French and Indian War (coming June 2018)
The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1774 Philadelphia (coming August 2018) 
The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear – set 1794 on the Wilderness Road (coming October 2018)
The Liberty Bride by MaryLu Tyndall – set 1814 Baltimore (coming December 2018)

My rating:
3.5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Friday, November 9, 2018

Weekend Wrap-Up (November 9) / Kindle Deal Spotlight


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Thursday, November 8, 2018

I'm signing up for #COYER Winter.

What is COYER? It is a challenge to read e-books you got free or nearly free ($2 or less) and audiobooks you got free or nearly free ($5 or less). I am so excited about this challenge, as I'm hoping it will give me another reason to get my NetGalley books read and reviewed. :)

---
Challenge starts December 1st and ends March 1st.
---

My goals:

Participate in at least one Twitter party
Participate in at least one read-a-thon
Read 25 eBooks



This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Review: Night at the Opera by Stacy Henrie


About the book:
NIGHT AT THE OPERA
--1908--
When American heiress Gwen Barton aids an injured gentleman in an opera box in London, she shares a kiss with the stranger that changes her life. More determined than ever to be herself, in spite of the limp she’s sustained since childhood, she will marry for love and not a title. She also resolves to learn the identity of the man she helped—and kissed. Surely he can’t be the irritating Avery Winfield, though. But as circumstances continue to throw Gwen and Avery together, she begins to wonder if there is more to this man than she first thought.

While most of London only knows him as the nephew of a duke, Avery Winfield is actually working for the Secret Service Bureau to ferret out German spies from among the ton. It’s a profession that gives him purpose and a reason to remain a bachelor. But the more he interacts with Gwen Barton, an heiress from America, the more he begins to question his plans and neglected faith. Then he learns Gwen is the young lady from the opera box who helped him. Now his most important mission may have nothing to do with saving Britain from danger and everything to do with risking his heart for the woman he met that night at the opera.

AMERICAN HEIRESS SERIES:
Night at the Opera
Beneath an Italian Sky (April 2019)
Among Sand and Sunrise (October 2019)

My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Powered by Blogger.