Friday, July 29, 2011

Book Blogger Hop: 7/29-8/1

Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly event hosted by crazy-for-books.com

This weeks question is - “Highlight one book you have received this week (for review, from the library, purchased at the store, etc.) that you can’t wait to dig into!”

My answer: So far, I haven't received any books this week, therefore I will pick a book that I'm supposed to get soon - 'Heiress' by Susan May Warren. I can hardly wait to read this! :)

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Theme Thursdays [Any Action] July 28

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!


This is a weekly meme hosted by Reading Between Pages.

This week’s theme is ANACTION (go, walk, close, clap etc)

My THURSDAY THEME for ANACTIOis here.

I pinched myself and shook my head, slapped my cheeks, but the two small armies were still before me and that castle hadn't changed a bit.

(Page 28 from 'Waterfall' by Lisa T. Bergren)

Copyright 2011 Lisa T. Bergren. Waterfall published by David C Cook. Publisher permission required to reproduce. All rights reserved.

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday: Gone to Ground: A Novel by Brandilyn Collins


Gone to Ground: A NovelGone to Ground: A Novel by Brandilyn Collins


I LOVE Brandilyn Collins books and I SOOO want to read this! It's set to release March 1, 2012, so I'll have to wait a relatively long time.


About the book:


Amaryllis, Mississippi is a scrappy little town of strong backbone and southern hospitality. A brick-paved Main Street, a park, and a legendary ghost in the local cemetery are all part of its heritage. Everybody knows everybody in Amaryllis, and gossip wafts on the breeze. Its people are friendly, its families tight. On the surface Amaryllis seems much like the flower for which it’s named—bright and fragrant. But the Amaryllis flower is poison.

In the past three years five unsolved murders have occurred within the town. All the victims were women, and all were killed in similar fashion in their own homes. And just two nights ago—a sixth murder.

Clearly a killer lives among the good citizens of Amaryllis. And now three terrified women are sure they know who he is—someone they love. None is aware of the others’ suspicions. And each must make the heartrending choice to bring the killer down. But each woman suspects a different man.




That's my 'Waiting on Wednesday'!

W...W...W...Wednesdays (July 27)


W...W...W...Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading.

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?


My answers:

What are you currently reading?

Can love survive the secrets kept buried within a tormented heart?

The Colonel's LadyRoxanna Rowan may be a genteel Virginia woman, but she is determined to brave the wilds of the untamed frontier to reach a remote Kentucky fort. Eager to reunite with her father, who serves under Colonel Cassius McLinn, Roxanna is devastated to find that her father has been killed on a campaign.

Penniless and out of options, Roxanna is forced to remain at the fort. As she spends more and more time with the fiery Colonel McLinn, the fort is abuzz with intrigue and innuendo. Can Roxanna truly know who the colonel is--and what he's done?

Immerse yourself in this powerful story of love, faith, and forgiveness set in the tumultuous world of the frontier in 1779.


What did you recently finish reading?


Hoping to gain some practical insight, three bored law students volunteer at the legal aid clinic. But when they discover that their assigned client is part of a witness protection program and is hiding a destructive Internet code, can they keep it out of the wrong hands and still live to see graduation?

False WitnessClark Shealy is a bail bondsman with the ultimate bounty on the line: his wife’s life. He has forty-eight hours to find an Indian professor in possession of the Abacus Algorithm—an equation so powerful it could crack all Internet encryption.
Four years later, law student Jamie Brock is working in legal aid when a routine case takes a vicious twist: she and two colleagues learn that their clients, members of the witness protection program, are accused of defrauding the government and have the encrypted algorithm in their possession. After a life-changing trip to the professor’s church in India, the couple also has the key to decode it.
Now they’re on the run from federal agents and the Chinese mafia, who will do anything to get the algorithm. Caught in the middle, Jamie and her friends must protect their clients if they want to survive long enough to graduate.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Waterfall (River of Time, #1)Most American teenagers want a vacation in Italy, but the Bentarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives with their parents, famed Etruscan scholars, among the romantic hills. Stuck among the rubble of medieval castles in rural Tuscany on yet another hot, dusty archeological site, Gabi and Lia are bored out of their minds… until Gabi places her hand atop a handprint in an ancient tomb and finds herself in fourteenth-century Italy. And worse yet, in the middle of a fierce battle between knights of two opposing forces.

            And thus does she come to be rescued by the knight-prince Marcello Falassi, who takes her back to his father’s castle—a castle Gabi has seen in ruins in another life. Suddenly Gabi’s summer in Italy is much, much more interesting. But what do you do when your knight in shining armor lives, literally, in a different world?

Monday, July 25, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!

http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/ hosts this event and I decided to participate. I made my own banner (above), but Book journey is where I heard about this.

What I've recently finished:

False Witness
False Witness by Randy D. Singer

About the book:


Hoping to gain some practical insight, three bored law students volunteer at the legal aid clinic. But when they discover that their assigned client is part of a witness protection program and is hiding a destructive Internet code, can they keep it out of the wrong hands and still live to see graduation?

Clark Shealy is a bail bondsman with the ultimate bounty on the line: his wife’s life. He has forty-eight hours to find an Indian professor in possession of the Abacus Algorithm—an equation so powerful it could crack all Internet encryption.
Four years later, law student Jamie Brock is working in legal aid when a routine case takes a vicious twist: she and two colleagues learn that their clients, members of the witness protection program, are accused of defrauding the government and have the encrypted algorithm in their possession. After a life-changing trip to the professor’s church in India, the couple also has the key to decode it.
Now they’re on the run from federal agents and the Chinese mafia, who will do anything to get the algorithm. Caught in the middle, Jamie and her friends must protect their clients if they want to survive long enough to graduate.


What I'm reading now:

The Colonel's Lady


About the book:


Can love survive the secrets kept buried within a tormented heart?


Roxanna Rowan may be a genteel Virginia woman, but she is determined to brave the wilds of the untamed frontier to reach a remote Kentucky fort. Eager to reunite with her father, who serves under Colonel Cassius McLinn, Roxanna is devastated to find that her father has been killed on a campaign.



Penniless and out of options, Roxanna is forced to remain at the fort. As she spends more and more time with the fiery Colonel McLinn, the fort is abuzz with intrigue and innuendo. Can Roxanna truly know who the colonel is--and what he's done?



Immerse yourself in this powerful story of love, faith, and forgiveness set in the tumultuous world of the frontier in 1779.



What I hope to read this week:




Most American teenagers want a vacation in Italy, but the Bentarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives with their parents, famed Etruscan scholars, among the romantic hills. Stuck among the rubble of medieval castles in rural Tuscany on yet another hot, dusty archeological site, Gabi and Lia are bored out of their minds… until Gabi places her hand atop a handprint in an ancient tomb and finds herself in fourteenth-century Italy. And worse yet, in the middle of a fierce battle between knights of two opposing forces.

            And thus does she come to be rescued by the knight-prince Marcello Falassi, who takes her back to his father’s castle—a castle Gabi has seen in ruins in another life. Suddenly Gabi’s summer in Italy is much, much more interesting. But what do you do when your knight in shining armor lives, literally, in a different world?

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Free Kindle Books

Relentless (Dominion Trilogy #1)Surrender the Heart (Surrender to Destiny, #1)
Through the FireAll Through the Night
When Night FallsBack on Murder
HeartlessCraving God eBook
Veiled Freedom






Book Review: False Witness by Randy D. Singer

False Witness by Randy D. Singer

False Witness

My rating: PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket




'False Witness' was suspenseful and intriguing. The fact that if the 'Abacus Algorithm' really did exist, Internet security would be non-existent was a scary thought.

There were so many interesting characters in 'False Witness', from Professor Dagan, who discovered the algorithm - that is the 'key to every lock', to bounty-hunter/repo artist Clark Shealy (a.k.a. David Hoffman), to the ambitious law students Isaiah, Jamie, and Wellington.

When Clark goes to arrest a highly wanted man, he instead finds out that he has been double-crossed and gets knocked out. When he wakes up, he learns that his wife was abducted by the Chinese Mafia!

They give him an ultimatum: locate and bring Professor Dagan to them within 48 hours. If he fails to do so, they will start torturing his wife.

Until he had actually captured Dagan, Clark hadn't thought twice about the ethics of exchanging Dagan for Jessica. The only question had been how to do it. - Page 71

What I didn't like about 'False Witness' was how some chapters ended suddenly and the next chapter didn't continue on where the last one left off. And at one point the book jumped ahead 4 years.

I was relatively surprised by how much I liked 'False Witness', because the last book I was reading by Randy Singer, I didn't enjoy that much.

The concept that there could be this algorithm that could cripple the Internet, fascinated me. But the fact that the mob wanted it SO much that they kidnapped Clark's wife and demanded him to bring Dagan to them, added a lot suspense and tension, making 'False Witness' (at times) hard to put down.

I found Jamie's story really sad, what happened to her and the reasons why were so unnecessary and mean (I'm not going to say what happened because that would give too much away). I enjoyed Wellington's character. He's was so smart, yet he didn't gloat about it - in fact he was somewhat shy.

All in all, I really enjoyed 'False Witness'! I would recommend this if you enjoy suspense books or legal thrillers.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Book Blogger Hop: 7/22-7/25

Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly event hosted by crazy-for-books.com

This weeks question is - What’s the ONE GENRE that you wish you could get into, but just can’t?

My answer: I can't really think of one GENRE that I don't like. Normally it's just a certain book that I can't get into, not the whole genre per say.

Book Beginnings: July 22


This is a weekly meme hosted at A Few More Pages where you grab the book you're currently reading and share the first sentence.




I'm currently reading 'False Witness' by Randy Singer

First sentence:

If anything happened to this kid, the professor would never forgive himself.



I thought this sentence was an interesting way for a book to begin. It makes it to where you almost have to continue reading because you want to know what might happen to the kid.

Friday Finds: July 22



Downfall (An Intervention Novel)  by Terri Blackstock






Ten Plagues

The Chase: A Novel (Crime Scene: Houston) by DiAnn Mills



Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.