If you shop through my Amazon link for anything, I'll earn a small percentage. Thank you so much. :) Christian Books and Bibles

Monday, September 26, 2022

Review: Courting Misfortune (The Joplin Chronicles, #1) by Regina Jennings

About the book:
Her trickiest case depends on keeping her motives--and her heart--in disguise.

Calista York needs one more successful case as a Pinkerton operative to secure her job at the agency. When she's assigned to find the kidnapped daughter of a mob boss, she's sent to the rowdy mining town of Joplin, Missouri. With extended family in the area, Calista must conceal her profession if she hopes to recover the missing girl.

When Matthew Cook decided to be a missionary, he never expected to be sent only a short train ride away to Joplin. While fighting against corruption of all sorts, Matthew hears of a baby raffle being held to raise funds for a children's home. He'll do what he can to stop it, but he also wants to stop the reckless Miss York, whose bad judgment consistently puts her in harm's way.

Calista doesn't need the handsome pastor and her nosy family interfering with her investigation, no matter their intentions. A girl's life depends on her. If she doesn't find Lila Seaton soon, the constant meddling could have dire consequences.

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Courting Misfortune was a fun historical romance! Stories about Pinkerton Detectives are always intriguing to me, so I was eager to pick up this one.

The characters were great and I was curious to see how the mystery would play out. There was a twist that I didn't see coming. 

All in all, Courting Misfortune was enjoyable to read and held my attention. I recommend it to fans of the genre. Looking forward to continuing the series.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

Thursday, September 22, 2022

Review: The Devoted Life: A Creative Devotional Journal by Marjorie Jackson

About the book:
Come Experience It for Yourself. . . Life Is Good with a God Who Is Great!

This topically guided creative journal for teen girls offers inspiration and encouragement for those who desire to live their lives fully devoted to Christ. Amidst the loud, confusing voices of the world, trying to tell them which way is the right way to go, girls need to stop, rest, refuel, and reflect in the presence of their truest Friend and most loyal heavenly Father. Whether it’s through creativity, meditating on scripture, prayer, or writing, readers will join young author and artist, Marjorie Jackson, for a time of life-giving fun, faith-strengthening encouragement, and God-glorifying growth. As girls connect with their first love, Jesus, they will begin to understand that life is truly good with a God who is absolutely great! 

My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
I read this book at the same time as Devoted: A Girl’s 31-Day Guide to Good Living with a Great God. I feel like both books were great reads. 

Devoted Life was an amazing devotional. As with the book Devoted, I believe it is aimed for girls and young women, but I think women of any age can find some encouragement and truth in this book.

The devotions in this book felt shorter (maybe 1-2 pages) and then 1-2 pages of journal prompts with room to write your answers. They also featured 3 Bible passages for going deeper and some art pages for coloring. 

All in all, a great book and I recommend it.


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

I Can't Wait for... (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

---


About the book:
At the height of World War I, two
sweethearts face impossible odds in this powerful tale of courage, duty, and heartbreak.

In the summer of 1918, Captain Marcus Weatherford arrives in Russia on a secret mission, with a beautiful ballerina posing as his fiancée. He's there to find the Romanov tsarina and her son and glean information about a plot to assassinate Lenin. As the danger intensifies, Marcus's sense of duty battles with his desire to return home to Clare, the woman he truly loves, before it's too late.

Military hospital orderly Clare Danner still suffers from Marcus's betrayal after learning he's engaged to another woman. Clare also fears losing her daughter, Daisy, to the heartless family who took her away once before. Only Marcus can provide the critical proof needed to save Daisy, but when an injury leaves him powerless to help, Clare's fate--and the fate of the top-secret mission--hangs in the balance.


Pages: 400
Publisher: Bethany House
Release Date: December 13, 2022
ISBN-10:  0764237497
Find the book on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3euubPV (aff link)

---

Monday, September 19, 2022

Review: Legacy of Mercy by Lynn Austin

About the book:
She Knew Her New Life Would Not Be Easy,
But Nothing Could Prepare Her For What Waits Ahead

Having returned to Chicago, young socialite Anna Nicholson can't seem to focus on her upcoming marriage. The new information she's learned about her birth mother continues to pull at her, and she hires Pinkerton detectives to help her discover the whole truth.

But as she meets people who once knew her mother and hears stories about the past, Anna soon discovers that some secrets are better left hidden. With pressure mounting to keep the past quiet, she discovers daily that her choice to seek God's purpose for her life isn't as simple as she had hoped.

When things are at their darkest, Anna knows she can turn to her grandmother, Geesje de Jonge, back in Holland, Michigan. Geesje's been helping new Dutch immigrants--including a teen with a troubled history--adjust to America. She only hopes that her wisdom can help all these young people through the turmoil they face.

My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Legacy of Mercy was just as amazing as book one. I grew to love these characters and was so happy that their story continued on in this book.

The romance was good. I was hoping for a happily ever after and think this book delivered that. I was intrigued by the mystery of her mom and the events surrounding her past. I was surprised by certain aspects and couldn't read fast enough. 

All in all, Legacy of Mercy was a fantastic read and I definitely recommend it. I'm hoping for another book with these characters as I'm not ready to say goodbye yet.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

Wednesday, September 14, 2022

I Can't Wait for... The Sisters of Sea View (On Devonshire Shores #1) by Julie Klassen (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

---


About the book:
Some guests have come for a holiday, others for hidden reasons of their own . . .

When their father's death leaves them impoverished, Sarah Summers and her genteel sisters fear they will be forced to sell the house and separate to earn livelihoods as governesses or companions. Determined to stay together, Sarah convinces them to open their seaside home to guests to make ends meet and provide for their ailing mother. Instead of the elderly invalids they expect to receive, however, they find themselves hosting eligible gentlemen. Sarah is soon torn between a growing attraction to a mysterious Scottish widower and duty to her family.

Viola Summers wears a veil to cover her scar. When forced to choose between helping in her family's new guest house and earning money to hire a maid to do her share, she chooses the latter. She reluctantly agrees to read to some of Sidmouth's many invalids, preferring the company of a few elders with failing eyesight to the fashionable guests staying in their home. But when her first client turns out to be a wounded officer in his thirties, Viola soon wishes she had chosen differently. Her new situation exposes her scars--both visible and those hidden deep within--and her cloistered heart will never be the same.

Join the Summers sisters on the Devonshire coast, where they discover the power of friendship, loyalty, love, and new beginnings.

Pages: 448
Publisher: Bethany House
Release Date: December 6, 2022
ISBN-10: 0764234269
Find the book on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3AU4MGS (aff link)

---

Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Review: Devoted: A Girl’s 31-Day Guide to Good Living with a Great God by Marjorie Jackson

About the book:
Life is good with a God who is great!

What’s a girl to do in a changing world full of darkness, distractions, pressure, lies, and uncertainty? Is it really possible for a twenty-first-century young woman to live a life in direct contrast to culture’s ever-changing standards? The answer is yes! 

With a Lord like Jesus, guidance like the Holy Spirit’s, and that powerful weapon we call the Holy Bible, God’s truth is ours to live out. Come learn along with talented young author, Marjorie Jackson, in this devotional about letting our love and dedication to Jesus penetrate every area of life—our relationships, our decisions, our standards, our convictions, our priorities, our everything.

Whether you’re a long-time Christian or you’ve still got your spiritual training wheels on, get ready to dive into God’s Word and discover what it truly means to be a young woman of God who is completely, joyfully, beautifully different.


Special Features Include:
Unique Hand-Lettered Art Pages for Coloring
Key Scripture Verses
Personal/Small Group Study Questions

My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
"God knew about today before it ever happened. He knew about yesterday. He has a purpose for every event in our lives, good or bad. Sometimes, though, it takes great patience to see how He "causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose" (Romans 8:28)". -Devoted, Page 172

"Our future on earth is short; what about eternity-forever and ever? Praise the Lord, we know who's King during and after this messy life." -Devoted, Page 172

Devoted was an amazing devotional. I believe it is aimed for girls and young women, but I think women of any age can find some encouragement and truth in this book.

I loved how it was written. Each daily devotion started with a scripture verse, then the devotion, 3 personal (or group) questions, and then ended with a "Today's Challenge". The book also featured some great art pages for coloring, if you wish.

All in all, I thought this book was great and recommend it.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

Monday, September 12, 2022

Review: Worthy of Legend (The Secrets of the Isles, #3) by Roseanna M. White

About the book:
1906

After a summer of successful pirate-treasure hunting, Lady Emily Scofield and her friends must hide the unprecedented discoveries they've made, thanks to the betrayal of her own family. Horrified by her brother, who will stop at nothing to prove himself to their greedy father, Emily is forced to take a stand against her family--even if it means being cut off entirely.

Bram Sinclair, Earl of Telford, is fascinated with tales of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table--an interest he's kept mostly hidden for the last decade. But when a diary is unearthed on the islands that could lead to a secret artifact, Bram is the only one able to piece the legends together.

As Bram and Emily seek out the whereabouts of the hidden artifact, they must dodge her family and a team of archaeologists. In a race against time, it is up to them to decide what makes a hero worthy of legend. Is it fighting valiantly to claim the treasure . . . or sacrificing everything in the name of selfless love? 

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Worthy of Legend was a unique story and one that I enjoyed reading. I found Bram and Emily's relationship to be sweet and I was happy that she had someone to care for her when she needed it most.

The treasure hunt aspect was interesting and I liked how quickly that aspect moved along. It made the story easy to read and one that you didn't want to put down for long.

All in all, Worthy of Legend was a good read and conclusion to this series. I really enjoyed it and look forward to seeing what Roseanna M. White writes next. 

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

Friday, September 9, 2022

Weekend Wrap-Up (September 9th, 2022)



Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

-
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

~

Wednesday, September 7, 2022

I Can't Wait for... Engaging Deception (The Joplin Chronicles Book #3) by Regina Jennings (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)


This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

---


About the book:
A lively competition draws her into her rival's blueprints--and maybe even his heart.

Olive Kentworth has spent her life hiding her interest in architecture, even though she pores over architectural books and sketches buildings. When she accepts a job on a home expansion, it's only because her cousin Amos agrees to pose as the builder. To further hide her involvement, Olive takes a position as a nanny--not knowing that she'll be working for her idol, Joplin's leading architect, widower Maxfield Scott.

Maxfield is intrigued by his new nanny--she makes his home and his life bearable again. His work, on the other hand, is a disaster. An untrained builder is remodeling a completed project of his. What's worse, Maxfield's current client wants changes to his plans because of that builder's work.

As the architectural one-upmanship heats up, Olive's involvement becomes harder to hide. Will the relationship between her and Maxfield survive, or will they both miss out on building something for their future?

Pages: 320
Publisher: Bethany House
Release Date: December 13, 2022
ISBN-10:  0764235362
Find the book on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3x243SO (aff link)

---

Tuesday, September 6, 2022

September 6: Books I Loved So Much I Had to Get a Copy for My Personal Library (Top Ten Tuesday)



~Books I Loved So Much I Had to Get a Copy for My Personal Library~




(in no particular order)



This post contains “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.


1. The Pawn by Steven James | Amazon Link
2. The Rook by Steven James | Amazon Link
3. The Knight by Steven James | Amazon Link
4. The Bishop by Steven James| Amazon Link
5. Growing Strong by Cambria Joy | Amazon Link
6. Nothing but Trouble by Susan May Warren | Kindle Edition Collection |  Amazon Link
7.  Double Trouble by Susan May Warren | Kindle Edition Collection | Amazon Link
8. Licensed for Trouble by Susan May Warren | Kindle Edition Collection | Amazon Link
9. A Dime a Dozen by Mindy Starns Clark | Amazon Link
10. A Quarter for a Kiss by Mindy Starns Clark | Amazon Link

Let me know some of your books in a comment below. :)

Monday, August 22, 2022

Review: Dangerous Inheritance by Sherri Wilson Johnson


About the book:
Naomi Summers may never live to see her dreams come true.

After psychologist Naomi Summers becomes legal guardian of her murdered best friend’s daughter and estate, her dreams for a restorative retreat seem achievable. But someone has other plans for her. When her former boyfriend, Detective Max Lexington, is her only hope of survival, Naomi has to trust him. But can he ever trust the woman who abandoned him seven years ago?

My rating:
3 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Dangerous Inheritance was a nice read, although I never was fully invested in the storyline and I'm not sure why.... 

The characters were fine and I enjoyed the mystery overall. I liked how the romance was a second chance story (one of my favorite kinds!).

All in all, I liked Dangerous Inheritance and definitely plan on continuing the series.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, August 15, 2022

Review: A Castaway in Cornwall by Julie Klassen


About the book:
Set adrift on the tides of fate by the deaths of her parents and left wanting answers, Laura Callaway now lives with her uncle and his disapproving wife in North Cornwall. There she feels like a castaway, always viewed as an outsider even as she yearns to belong.

While wreckers search for valuables along the windswept Cornwall coast--known for its many shipwrecks but few survivors--Laura searches for clues to the lives lost so she can write letters to next of kin and return keepsakes to rightful owners. When a man is washed ashore after a wreck, Laura acts quickly to protect him from a local smuggler determined to destroy him.

As Laura and a neighbor care for the survivor, they discover he has curious wounds and, although he speaks in careful, educated English, his accent seems odd. Other clues wash ashore, and Laura soon realizes he is not who he seems to be. Despite the evidence against him, the mysterious man might provide her only chance to discover the truth about her parents' fate. With danger pursuing them from every side, and an unexpected attraction growing between them, will Laura ever find the answers she seeks? --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

A Castaway in Cornwall was a well-written historical romance. I found myself easily drawn into the storyline and intrigued by the mysterious man.

The romance was nice. I felt like the characters were well suited for each other and it was fun to see their relationship develop.

All in all, A Castaway in Cornwall was a story that held my attention and I recommend it to fans of historical romance.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Saturday, August 13, 2022

Review: The Last Way Home (Prince Edward Island Shores Book #2) by Liz Johnson

About the book:
Every broken thing can be made beautiful again

When Eli Ross left Prince Edward Island to join the NHL, he left a broken family behind. More than a decade later, he's headed home to an uncertain welcome. He wants to make things right with the family he wronged, but his mom's business partner isn't making it easy. To top it off, the coaching job he takes turns out to be more of a challenge than he anticipated.

For years, Violet Donaghy has put everything she had into making Eli's mom's ceramics shop a success, and she's not eager to forgive the man who hurt the family that's taken her in as one of their own. But when the kiln at the shop starts a fire that nearly destroys the studio, she'll need all the help she can get to save the business and their summer income.

When Eli and Violet come together, they must find the strength to mend the broken pieces of the Ross family--and to heal their own hearts.
My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

The Last Way Home is the second book in Liz Johnson's Prince Edward Island Shores series and I absolutely loved it! It was fun how characters from Johnson's other series (Prince Edward Island Dreams) made an appearance in this story...such a delight to get an update on their lives.

Eli and Violet were great main characters. I loved seeing their relationship grow and, while the romance was a little intense at times, I still really liked it. They seemed great for each other and Eli showed a lot of growth in the story.

All in all, The Last Way Home was a fantastic read and I recommend it. Can't wait to read the next book when I can.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Friday, August 12, 2022

Weekend Wrap-Up (August 12th, 2022)



Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

-
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

~

Wednesday, August 10, 2022

I Can't Wait for... Broker of Lies by Steven James (Can't-Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday)

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.

---


About the book:
The man who knows all our secrets has a secret of his own.

When Travis Brock, a high-level Pentagon redactor with an eidetic memory, finds a clue to solving the tragic arson that took his wife from him, he risks everything to find the truth―and chances losing himself in the process.

With a terror attack looming on the horizon and a pair of assassins on his tail, Brock drops off the grid and joins forces with a disavowed Homeland Security operative. Together they race to stop the attack before Brock is neutralized by the people he trusts the most.

From critically acclaimed, bestselling novelist Steven James comes a smart, wire-tight, and emotionally resonant thriller that asks just how far across the line we might go to see justice carried out.

Pages: Unknown 
Publisher: Tyndale House
Release Date: April 11, 2023
ISBN-10:  1496473310
Find the book on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3SyA0v1 (aff link)

---

Monday, August 8, 2022

Review: The Major's Daughter (Fort Reno, #3) by Regina Jennings


About the book:
She Staked a Claim on His Land,
So He Decided to Stake a Claim on Her Heart

Caroline Adams returns to Indian Territory after tiring of confining society life. She wants adventure, and when she and her friend Amber come across swaggering outlaw Frisco Smith, his dreams for the new territory are very persuasive. With the much-anticipated land run about to happen, she may just join the rush.

Growing up an orphan, all Frisco Smith wanted was a place to call his own. It's no wonder he fought to open the Unassigned Lands to people with the same longing. After years of sneaking across the border, he's even managed to build a dugout house on a hidden piece of property he's poised to claim.

But when the gun sounds, everyone's best plans are thrown out the window in the chaos of the run. Caroline and Frisco find themselves battling over a claim--and both dig in their heels. Settling the rightful ownership will bring these two closer than they ever expected and change their ideas of what a true home looks like.
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
The Major's Daughter is the final book in Jennings' Fort Reno series and another very good read. I found the storyline interesting and loved learning some history about that time.

The characters were great! I felt like they were written in such a way that make them realistic and I loved getting to know them all.

All in all, The Major's Daughter was a great read and I definitely recommend the series.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Friday, August 5, 2022

Weekend Wrap-Up (August 5th, 2022)



Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

-
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

~

Wednesday, August 3, 2022

Review: Harvest Moon by Denise Hunter

About the book:
When a tragedy leaves a divorced couple with guardianship of their friends’ little girl, Laurel and Gavin drop everything for the sake of the child. Meanwhile, a case worker begins searching for a more suitable arrangement, and the estranged couple move into their friends’ home to provide temporary care for Emma and manage the on-property apple orchard. As they work together to comfort the grieving child and manage the busy harvest, tempers flare—as does the passion they both remember so well. But will the seeds of love, still growing inside them, thrive and flourish? Or will grief and regret strangle the feelings before they can fully blossom? 

My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Harvest Moon is the third and final (and best!) book in Hunter's Riverbend series...it was such a great read!

I absolutely loved the romance in this one. After reading the first two and being disappointed with those romance stories, it was wonderful to finally love this one. I didn't expect Gavin's story to go this way, but it was perfect. 

Some aspects of the story weren't 100% believable to me, but overall I still loved it and definitely recommend Harvest Moon. Looking forward to seeing what Hunter releases next. 

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, August 1, 2022

Review: Mulberry Hollow by Denise Hunter

About the book:
Contractor Wes Garrett is nearly finished hiking the Appalachian Trail in honor of his recently deceased best friend when he falls terribly ill. He stumbles into the nearest town and soon finds himself indebted to the beautiful young doctor who owns the clinic. In lieu of payment, he proposes a trade that will keep him in town—and away from obligations to his best friend’s sister—for several weeks.

But as Avery and Wes spend time together, their friendship begins moving into unexpected territory. Soon they both begin to question their plans for the future. But will Wes be able to let go of the debt he owes his best friend? And will Avery find the courage to risk everything for love?

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Mulberry Hollow was a good continuation of Hunter's Riverbend series. I really enjoyed getting to know Avery better and Wes seemed like a great guy.

The romance was fine, although I didn't love everything about it. The story held my attention and I enjoyed reading it.

All in all, Mulberry Hollow was worth the read and I'm eager to finish the series soon. I can't wait to read Gavin's story! :D

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Friday, July 29, 2022

Review: Riverbend Gap (Riverbend, #1) by Denise Hunter

About the book:
She came in search of the family she’d always wanted—and found the kind of love she’d never dared to imagine.

When Katelyn Loveland’s car veered off a winding Appalachian Mountain road, she thought she was done for. That is until Cooper Robinson, local sheriff’s deputy, came to her rescue. And though Katie narrowly escaped her brush with death, she still fell. Hard.

She wasn’t the only one. But soon Cooper learns that the woman he’s more attracted to than any he’s ever met is his brother’s new girlfriend—and therefore unquestionably off limits. Yet, despite his best efforts, Cooper and Katie can’t seem to avoid running into each other. Or ignore the undeniable chemistry between them.

As they grow closer, Katie shares the secrets of her past and the real reason she moved to their small North Carolina town. She also wins over Cooper’s welcoming and bighearted family. But they don’t know that her feelings for Cooper keep growing—all while she’s dating his brother. Soon the stakes of their emotional connection become higher than either of them could have imagined. Katie stands to lose the first family she’s ever had, and a scandal could doom Cooper’s campaign for sheriff’s office. Suddenly they find themselves on the edge of another precipice—and they’re forced to make a decision that could change their lives forever.

My rating:
3 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Riverbend Gap is the first book in Hunter's Riverbend series and I really enjoyed getting to know the characters and setting. It was fascinating to learn about the trail and all the things that surrounded that. :)

The romance was a tricky one and not a favorite. I felt so badly for Gavin, because he was the one most hurt from it. It was a sticky situation and one that I didn't particularly like, but I was glad that there was a (mostly) happy ending to it all.

All in all, I enjoyed the read, but wish the romance would have been different. I'm looking forward to continuing the series soon.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Thursday, July 28, 2022

Review: Red Velvet by Sandra Byrd

About the book:
Friends For A Season Book 3- Thirteen-year-old Quinn finds herself spending a lot of time at the hospital lately--her mom is undergoing experimental treatment for cancer. When Quinn reads her mother's teen-years diary, she discovers a list of things her mom has wanted to do before she dies. Though reluctant to face the prospect of her mother's death, Quinn determines to see that her mom accomplishes everything on the list. She teams up with her new friend Annie, whose mom is undergoing the same cancer treatment, and the two decide to sew their mothers red velvet dresses for an upcoming Valentine's Day party. (Visit friendsforaseason.com to learn more!)

My rating:
3 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Red Velvet was a good read, although I found it quite sad at times. I liked the characters and thought it was written well. The lists in the book were fun and probably my favorite part. I did found a couple things silly, but overall enjoyed the story.

All in all, Red Velvet was an enjoyable read and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys clean YA stories.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Wednesday, July 27, 2022

Review: The Lieutenant's Bargain (Fort Reno #2) by Regina Jennings

About the book:
She Was Supposed to Be Gaining Independence.
What She Found Was Even Better . . .

Hattie Walker dreams of becoming a painter, but her parents want her to settle down. As a compromise, they give her two months to go to Denver and place her works in an exhibition. Her journey is derailed when a gunman attacks her stagecoach, leaving her to be rescued by a group of Arapaho . . . but she's too terrified to recognize them as friendly.

Confirmed bachelor Lieutenant Jack Hennessey has long worked with the tribe and is tasked with trying to convince them that the mission school at Fort Reno can help their children. When a message arrives about a recovered survivor, Jack heads out to retrieve her--and plead his case with the chief once more.

He's stunned to run into Hattie Walker, the girl who shattered his heart years ago, but quickly realizes he has a chance to impress her. When his plan gets tangled through translation, Jack and Hattie end up in a mess that puts her dreams in peril and threatens to destroy his life's work.

My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

The Lieutenant's Bargain was such a great historical romance. After reading the first book in this series, I couldn't wait to pick up this one...and it was even better than book one!

I loved the characters and how they already knew each other. The marriage and events surrounding it were fun and unique. I found the book to be a quick read, as the danger and storyline made me want to just keep reading. ;)

All in all, I loved The Lieutenant's Bargain and definitely recommend it. I plan on reading book three ASAP. 

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Tuesday, July 26, 2022

Books From My Past Seasonal TBR Posts I STILL Haven’t Read (Top Ten Tuesday)



~Books From My Past Seasonal TBR Posts I STILL Haven’t Read~

This was a super fun topic/post to put together. I was quite surprised when going over my old seasonal TBR posts that I've actually read most of the books on my TBR lists! It was also interesting to see some of the Love Inspired books I had on my list in 2011 that aren't really on my TBR list right now. 
 
This post contains “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.




1. All That Really Matters (from Winter 2021 TBR Post) | Amazon Link
5. A.D. 30 (from Summer 2015 TBR post) | Amazon Link
9. Christmas Bodyguard by Margaret Daley (from Winter 2011 TBR post) | Amazon Link
10. Holiday Illusion by Lynette Eason (from Winter 2011 TBR post) | Amazon Link

What are some books you have had on your TBR for a while?
Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Powered by Blogger.