Saturday, May 20, 2017

Review & Giveaway: Out of the Dark by Mandisa




Story Behind The Album: https://www.youtube. com/watch?v=Df27myDpm1c 
Acoustic Video for "Unfinished”: https://www. youtube.com/watch?v= IQFpXcvFI0A 
Purchase link: http://amzn.to/2pWguiE

Rating:
5 stars
My Thoughts:

Out of the Dark might be Mandisa's best album yet. The songs are personal, deep, and moving. If you've ever experienced dark moments in life, you will find the songs encouraging and powerful.

I especially love the songs "Unfinished", "Out of the Dark", "Bleed the Same". TobyMac is another favorite artist of mine, so I love that he is a part of the song "Bleed the Same" -- it's a great song with powerful lyrics.

All in all, I really like this album and am so happy for new Mandisa music! I recommend this CD!


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*


GIVEAWAY!

Enter to win a copy of this CD, Out of the Dark! Giveaway in open to the continental U.S and ends 5/28/17.


How to enter: Sign into the Giveaway Tools form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form. Happy entering!

Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Giveaway Tools and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Giveaway Tools or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

"Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post. Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway. If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win. Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, May 15, 2017

Bout of Books Wrap-Up

 My goal was to read 8 short books. Here's how I did:




I loved the books by Todd Strasser, Stacy Henrie, Nicholas Sparks, and Ally Carter (this one was a reread). Very happy with what I was able to read -- it's more than I thought I would. :))


This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Review: Fatal Mistake by Susan Sleeman



About the book:
An FBI agent must protect the woman who can identify a terrorist bomber in bestselling author Susan Sleeman's riveting romantic suspense novel.

Each day could be her last...but not if he can help it.

Tara Parrish is the only person ever to survive an attack by the Lone Wolf bomber. Scared and emotionally scarred by her near death, she goes into hiding with only one plan--to stay alive for another day. She knows he's coming after her, and if he finds her, he will finish what he started.

Agent Cal Riggins has had only one goal for the past six months--to save lives by ending the Lone Wolf's bombing spree. To succeed, he needs the help of Tara Parrish, the one person who can lead them to the bomber. Cal puts his all into finding Tara, but once he locates her, he realizes if he can find her, the Lone Wolf can, too. He must protect Tara at all costs, and they'll both need to resist the mutual attraction growing between them to focus on hunting down the bomber, because one wrong move could be fatal.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon Time...Who's Joining Me?!?

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books RaT is from May 8-14th, which will probably be a really busy week for me...still, I have to participate. I just love the motivation to read and read. :) That being said, I probably won't participate in any of the individual challenges, as I don't think I'll have the blogging time for that.

My goal is to read 8 short books. Most likely Kindle freebies I bought and am trying to get read. :)


This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Review: Think Again: Relief from the Burden of Introspection by Jared Mellinger



About the book:
Evaluating yourself-being mindful of who you are and what you are doing-is necessary and can lead to positive change.

But what about the dark side of introspection? Do you ever feel weighed down and exhausted by your own self-analysis? Perhaps you made a mistake, said a careless word, or even messed up big time. Your self-examination spirals into a full-blown cross-examination. You keep revisiting what happened. Your mind circles around the event, fruitlessly trying to somehow make the outcome different so you don't feel the embarrassment, shame, and regret.

The modern self-esteem movement has left us empty and self-focused. We exhaust our healthy introspection and pervert it into constant self-evaluation, wrong views of ourselves, self-accusation, and false guilt. Introspection was never meant to bear such weight.

Think Again offers real relief from the burden of introspection that so many of us carry each day. Pastor Jared Mellinger, who tends to overdose on self-analysis himself, shows us how the hope of the gospel can rescue us from the bad fruit of unsound introspection. Mellinger's short, story-filled chapters help readers identify and turn away from unhealthy introspection.

There is an outward-focused God who delights to rescue an inward-focused people and lead them into a better way to live. When we truly understand it, we'll see that the gospel actually sets us free from thinking about ourselves too much. We can seek after and pray for the peace and joy-the sanity-that comes from thinking about ourselves less often.

Think Again includes practical instructions for self-examination, fighting false guilt, breaking free from hyper-introspection, and more. Ultimately, Think Again demonstrates that the solution to thinking too much about ourselves is to look to Christ, and it gives readers the tools to begin to turn from the mirror.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
 
My thoughts:

Monday, May 1, 2017

Celebrate the Release of Becky Wade's 'True to You' w/Author FB Chat Party on May 4th!!


Raise your hand if you're ready for Becky Wade's new series! Celebrate the release of book one, True to You, with Becky and other readers on Facebook on May 4th during a fun author chat party at 8:00 PM EDT (that's 7:00 Central, 6:00 Mountain, & 5:00 Pacific)! Becky will be chatting about the book and answering your questions about the new series, and of course, there will be plenty of fun giveaways too!

Pre-order your copy of True to You so you're ready for a fun book discussion. Find out more about the book here.

Find the book on:

Hope to see you on May 4 for Becky's True to You Facebook Party! 

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Review: Still Life by Dani Pettrey



About the book:
Someone Is Out There. Watching Her. Waiting.

Blacklisted in the photography business over a controversial shot, Avery Tate answered an ad for a crime-scene photographer. She expected to be laughed at, but crime-scene analyst Parker Mitchell hired her outright--and changed her life. But six months ago, when her feelings for Parker became too strong, she left his employ to sort out her heart.

Now, for the first time, Avery is facing the world that rejected her to attend the gallery opening of a photography exhibit for which her friend modeled. But the only image of her friend is a chilling photo of her posing as if dead--and the photographer insists he didn't take the shot. Worse, her friend can't be found, and so Avery immediately calls Parker for help.

As Avery, Parker, and their friends in law enforcement dig into the mystery, they find themselves face-to-face with a relentless and deadly threat.

My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Review: All Summer Long by Melody Carlson


About the book:
She's ready to take on a new challenge. What she doesn't expect is an old flame.

Tia D'Amico is thrilled to move to San Francisco to help her aunt transform an old luxury yacht into an upscale floating restaurant. What's not to love? Sunset dinner cruises, posh wedding receptions--the possibilities are endless and far more appetizing than staying in a monotonous job in her Podunk hometown. Besides, some of her best memories are tied to San Francisco--especially the memory of Leo Parker, her crush from a long-ago sailing camp.

When Leo Parker himself turns out to be the yacht's captain, Tia is floating on air. But will it all come crashing down around her when she discovers his heart belongs to someone else?

Get ready for a romantic summer in San Francisco, where the future glistens brighter than the Bay at sunset.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Review: Pursued by Lisa Harris


About the book:
Nikki Boyd's flight into Nashville was routine--until the crash landing at the airport.

When the dust settles, Nikki discovers that the woman who had been seated next to her on the plane is missing--and no one will admit she was ever there. When she learns that Erika Hamilton had been flying to Nashville with an air marshal as a key witness in an upcoming grand jury trial, Nikki wonders if her disappearance from the crash site means she's running from trouble--or straight into it. Before Nikki can even see her family, she and her team are pulled into a missing persons case where the motives are as unclear as the suspects.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Review: Missing by Lisa Harris


About the book:
Nikki Boyd isn't usually called in on homicides; her forte is missing persons. But when a case with two murdered and two missing pops up on a quiet suburban street, she's ready to start the investigation and find missing homeowners Mac and Lucy Hudson. When the first clues lead her to the boat of her friend Tyler Grant--and another dead body--Nikki must untangle what ties Tyler to the Hudsons. The clues pull her into a deadly maze of counterfeit drugs and a killer who will stop at nothing to silence anyone who threatens his business--including Nikki.



My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, April 24, 2017

Review: Rescue Me by Susan May Warren



About the book:
When Deputy Sam Brooks commits to something, nothing can sway him--not just on the job but in his private life. He's the one who stuck around to take care of his mother after his father's accidental death. And he's the one--perhaps the only one--who believes Sierra Rose is the perfect girl for him. Safe, practical, and organized, she's nothing like her hippie, impulsive, bleeding-heart sister, Willow.

Willow, however, has been in love with Sam Brooks for as long as she can remember. But she wants her sister to have a happy ending. Besides, Willow has other things to focus on--namely, nabbing the job of her dreams. Best thing for her to do is to purge Sam from her heart.

Neither can predict the events that will bring them together in a fight for their lives in the forbidding wilderness of Glacier National Park. Stranded, injured, and with the winter weather closing in, Sam and Willow will have to work together to save a crew of terrified teenagers. As they fight to survive, they might just discover a new hope for love.
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Some Upcoming Releases I'm Anticipating...

I was trying to think of some type of post I could do and realized that there are several upcoming releases that I can't wait to read. Now, some of these books release really soon, while others aren't until the end of the year (boo!). Let me know in the comments if you are anticipating any of these books and please share some of your "can't wait to read" books. :D

~~~~~~~~

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Review: The Wonder of You by Susan May Warren



About the book:
Mortified after her semester abroad is cut short, Amelia Christiansen returns to Deep Haven, certain she isn’t brave enough for the adventures she’s dreamed of. The last thing she expects is for the man who broke her heart to cross the Atlantic and beg forgiveness.

Heir to a European hotel dynasty, Roark St. John has trekked from one exotic locale to another, haunted by tragedy and the expectations that accompany his last name. Amelia is the first woman to give him a reason to stop running. He’ll do anything for a second chance—even contend with Amelia’s old flame, who is intent on sending Roark packing.

While one surprise after another leaves Amelia reeling, Roark’s continued presence only highlights the questions pursuing her. Like him, is she running from the life God has called her to? Could finding her new place mean leaving home behind?
My rating:
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.