Thursday, August 17, 2017

Review + Giveaway: Deadly Memories by Mary Alford



About the book:
WOMAN WITHOUT A PAST

Amnesia may be keeping Ella Weiss from remembering her past--but not from saving the little boy who's been her fellow prisoner the last seven years. After managing to escape her cell, all she wants is to find where little Joseph is being kept. Instead she runs straight into CIA agent Kyle Jennings. Kyle isn't sure if Ella is actually a kidnap victim or if she's working for the gunrunner he's been after. One thing he is certain of is her uncanny resemblance to the wife he thought he'd buried. To save a child's life and stop a terrorist from slipping through his fingers, he'll need to uncover the secrets of Ella's past--and whether or not she's really the woman he's never stopped loving.
My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Review: The Austen Escape by Katherine Reay


About the book:
Falling into the past will change their futures forever.

Mary Davies finds safety in her ordered and productive life. Working as an engineer, she genuinely enjoys her job and her colleagues – particularly a certain adorable and intelligent consultant. But something is missing. When Mary’s estranged childhood friend, Isabel Dwyer offers her a two-week stay in a gorgeous manor house in England, she reluctantly agrees in hopes that the holiday will shake up her quiet life in just the right ways.

But Mary gets more than she bargained for when Isabel loses her memory and fully believes she lives in Jane Austen’s Bath. While Isabel rests and delights in the leisure of a Regency lady, attended by the other costume-clad guests, Mary uncovers startling truths about their shared past, who Isabel was, who she seems to be, and the man who now stands between them.

Outings are undertaken, misunderstandings play out, and dancing ensues as this company of clever, well-informed people, who have a great deal of conversation, work out their lives and hearts.

My rating:
4 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Review: Sweetbriar Cottage by Denise Hunter



About the book:
When Noah and Josephine Mitchell discover their divorce was never actually finalized, their lives are turned upside down.

Following his divorce, Noah gave up his dream job, settling at a remote horse ranch in the Blue Ridge Mountains of northern Georgia, putting much-needed distance between himself and the former love of his life. But then Noah gets a letter from the IRS claiming he and Josephine are still married. When he confronts Josephine for the first time in months, they discover that she missed the final step in filing the paperwork and they are, in fact, still married.

Josephine is no happier about the news than Noah. Maybe the failed marriage—and okay, the botched divorce—was her fault, but her heart was shattered right alongside his, more than he would ever believe. The sooner they put this marriage behind them, the better for both of their sakes.

But when Josephine delivers the final paperwork to his ranch, the two become stranded in his cottage during the worst spring snowstorm in a decade. Being trapped with Josephine is a test of Noah’s endurance. He wrestles with resentment and an unmistakable pull to his wife—still beautiful, still brave, and still more intriguing than any woman he’s ever known.

As they find themselves confronted with each other and their shared past, old wounds surface and tempers flare. But when they are forced out into the storm, they must rely on each other in a way they never have before. Josephine finally opens up about her tragic past, and Noah realizes she’s never been loved unconditionally by anyone—including him. Will Noah accept the challenge to pursue Josephine’s heart? And can she finally find the courage to trust Noah?
My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Sunday, August 6, 2017

Review: A Name Unknown (Shadows Over England Book #1) by Roseanna M. White


About the book:
She's Out to Steal His Name. Will He Steal Her Heart Instead?

Rosemary Gresham has no family beyond the band of former urchins who helped her survive as a girl in the mean streets of London. Grown now, they are no longer pickpockets--instead they focus on high value items and have learned how to blend into upper-class society. Rosemary is beginning to question whether she can continue in this life when she's offered the challenge of a lifetime--determine whether a certain wealthy gentleman is loyal to Britain or to Germany. After all how does one steal a family's history, their very name?

As Europe moves ever closer to World War I, rumors swirl around Peter Holstein. Awkward and solitary, but with access to the king, many fear his influence. But Peter can't help his German last name and wants to prove his loyalty to the Crown--so he can go back to anonymously writing a series of popular adventure novels. When Rosemary arrives on his doorstep pretending to be a well-credentialed historian, Peter believes she's the right person to help him dig through his family's past.

When danger and suspicion continue to mount, both realize they're in a race against time to discover the truth--about Peter's past and about the undeniable attraction kindling between them.

My rating:
4 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

CD Review: Every Mile Mattered by Nichole Nordeman


Tracks:
1. Every Mile Mattered
2. You're Here
3. Dear Me
4. No Longer
5. Lean
6. Hush, Hush
7. Listen To Your Life
8. Beautiful Day
9. Sound of Surviving
10. Anywhere We Are
11. Slow Down (feat. Pepper Ingram)



Pre-order link for her new book, Slow Down: http://amzn.to/2w6jetb
http://www.nicholenordeman.com/
My Thoughts:

Having not been familiar with Nichole Nordeman's music, I had no idea if I would like this CD or not, but after listening to it, I've found it to be an inspiring album with good lyrics and great melody. There are a few songs that I'm not 100% a fan of, but for the most part I really like this album. My favorite songs are: You're Here, No Longer, and Lean.

All in all, a solid album. If you've liked previous music by Nichole Nordeman, I think you will also like this one.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

  This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Saturday, July 1, 2017

Review: The Renegade's Redemption by Stacy Henrie


About the book:
Refuge for the Outlaw

When Tex Beckett arrives at Ravena Reid's farm, he's eight years too late for the elopement they'd once planned—and it's far too early to win her forgiveness. He's seriously wounded, though, and she can't turn him away, though she knows better than to trust him. Yes, it's wonderful having help with the farm, and with the orphans she fosters, but if she opens her heart, she'll get hurt again when he leaves. And Tex always leaves.

As a notorious bank robber, Tex is used to danger. Yet reuniting with the only woman he's ever loved is the riskiest thing he's ever done. All he wants is to stay with Ravena and the children. But can he build a new start before his past catches up with him?
My rating:
5 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Review: Every Deadly Kiss by Steven James



About the book:
FBI special agent Patrick Bowers grapples with a baffling series of murders in Detroit—and discovers a terror plot with roots that stretch back centuries.

Called in by an ex-girlfriend to consult on a case, Patrick encounters the work of a killer who displays a stunning degree of ruthlessness. Bowers is shocked to find that the slayings are linked not just to his own history with a known terrorist, but to his former lover as well—and that her secret past might hold the key to stopping the crime spree. As layers of intrigue peel away, the city is pushed ever closer to a seemingly unstoppable bioweapon attack.

Unnerving and laced with breathtaking suspense, Every Deadly Kiss is a surprising and complex thriller that will keep readers obsessed to the final page.
 Bowers Files: The Early Years Series 
 
Patrick Bowers Files Series

 
My rating:
5 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Review: The Outlaw's Secret by Stacy Henrie


About the book:
Lawman in Disguise
Getting taken hostage by a gang of train robbers wasn't in dime novelist Essie Vanderfair's plans, but interviewing these men could make her career soar. Especially since the gang includes legendary outlaw Tex Beckett, better known as the Texas Titan. Tex is famed for his protection of women and children, so she'll be fine...right?

Keeping the gang in line was hard enough before a stubborn, beautiful writer interfered. Now Tex is scrambling to keep Essie safe, to gather evidence against the gang and most of all to hide his dangerous secrets. First, that he's a detective working undercover. And second, that he's not the Texas Titan at all, but Tex's twin brother, Tate Beckett.
My rating:
5 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Friday, June 9, 2017

Weekend Wrap-up (June 9th, 2017)


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Review: For Love & Honor by Jody Hedlund


About the book:
Lady Sabine is harboring a skin blemish, one, that if revealed, could cause her to be branded as a witch, put her life in danger, and damage her chances of making a good marriage. After all, what nobleman would want to marry a woman so flawed?

Sir Bennet is returning home to protect his family from an imminent attack by neighboring lords who seek repayment of debts. Without fortune or means to pay those debts, Sir Bennet realizes his only option is to make a marriage match with a wealthy noblewoman. As a man of honor, he loathes the idea of courting a woman for her money, but with time running out for his family’s safety, what other choice does he have?

As Lady Sabine and Sir Bennet are thrust together under dangerous circumstances, will they both be able to learn to trust each other enough to share their deepest secrets? Or will those secrets ultimately lead to their demise?
My rating:
4 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Review: True to You by Becky Wade



About the book:
After a devastating heartbreak three years ago, genealogist and historical village owner Nora Bradford decided that burying her nose in her work and her books is far safer than romance in the here and now.

Unlike Nora, former Navy SEAL John Lawson is a modern-day man, usually 100 percent focused on the present. However, when John, an adoptee, is diagnosed with an inherited condition, he’s forced to dig into the secrets of his ancestry.

John enlists Nora’s help to uncover the identity of his birth mother, and as they work side-by-side, this pair of opposites begins to suspect that they just might be a perfect match. But can their hope for a future survive their wounds from the past?

My rating:
5 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Thursday, June 1, 2017

It's June...Time for a BIG giveaway!!!



With spring comes spring cleaning and thus I have collected a bunch of books over the past weeks that I would like to give to someone else to enjoy. This giveaway is for a box of books...all Christian fiction. As many as I can fit into the box. Some are older books, others are recent releases. It will be a mix of genres and hopefully something the winner will love. Kind of like a surprise box of books. ;)

Because I will be shipping this out, the giveaway is only open to continental US addresses. Sadly, shipping prices are just way too expensive for anything else. Giveaway ends June 30th.

How to enter: Sign into the Giveaway Tools form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form. Happy entering!



Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Giveaway Tools and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Giveaway Tools or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Thursday, May 25, 2017

Interview & Giveaway! Susan Sleeman ~ Author of Fatal Mistake!




Welcome to Christian Bookshelf Reviews, Susan! Will you tell us a little about your latest book, Fatal Mistake?

Fatal Mistake is book one in my White Knight’s series. The series features an FBI Critical Incident Response Team that includes experts in crisis management, explosives, ballistics/weapons, negotiating/criminal profiling, cyber crimes, and forensics. All team members are former military and they stand ready to deploy within four hours, anytime and anywhere to mitigate the highest-priority threats facing our nation. Each book also features a story ripped from today’s headlines. In Fatal Mistake, the FBI agent must protect a woman who can identify a terrorist bomber all the while trying to catch the bomber. Here’s the back cover description for Fatal Mistake.

Fatal Mistake
Each day could be her last...but not if he can help it.

Tara Parrish is the only person ever to survive an attack by the Lone Wolf bomber. Scared and emotionally scarred by her near death, she goes into hiding with only one plan--to stay alive for another day. She knows he's coming after her, and if he finds her, he will finish what he started.

Agent Cal Riggins has had only one goal for the past six months--to save lives by ending the Lone Wolf's bombing spree. To succeed, he needs the help of Tara Parrish, the one person who can lead them to the bomber. Cal puts his all into finding Tara, but once he locates her, he realizes if he can find her, the Lone Wolf can, too. He must protect Tara at all costs, and they'll both need to resist the mutual attraction growing between them to focus on hunting down the bomber, because one wrong move could be fatal.
 
Fatal Mistake is the first book in the White Knight series. What can readers expect from the series and do the mysteries connect at all?

Readers can expect stories that are ripped from current day headlines. For example, book two, Kill Shot, is about a self-steering bullet that is currently being developed in the U.S. This bullet contains guidance and all the shooter has to do is keep the rifle scope trained on the target and the bullet will hit them. No skills are required at all. In fact, the shooter wouldn’t even have to have picked up a gun before and suddenly they can shoot as well as a trained sniper. This is such a scary thing to me, as a weapon like this placed in the wrong hands is unthinkable. 

Now about that connection. Each book has a stand alone plot that is fully resolved but the books are connected by the six White Knights team members and their interactions with one another. Each book features a different team member and the reader will be able to see them grow and develop in their own personalities and with one another. I just love team dynamics whether it be a family or a working group, which is why I always write series.

What do you hope readers come away with after reading Fatal Mistake?


Hope. Simple as that. That regardless of your circumstances there is always hope. My wish is that as the reader is entertained with an edge-of-your-seat plot that the character’s struggles resonate, and the reader can see the character work their way through a problem and move into the light of hope. Then the reader can see anything is possible and they, too, have reason to hope.

What's your writing style -- plotter or pantser?

I am a plotter all the way. I started as a pantser, but then soon learned if I was to write an intricate suspense plot, I had to plot it out or waste a lot of time wandering and writing scenes that had to be cut. My cutting room floor used to overflow with wasted words, but now I keep it neat and tidy. LOL

Do you have any writing rituals? Maybe having a cup of coffee nearby or classical music playing?

Funny that you ask as my writing rituals have recently changed. I used to need complete silence. No one around me. No noises or distractions. Just me secluded in my office with no noise or distractions. But now, I can sit in the middle of our family room with everyone interacting around me and still write. And I hated having music playing in the past, but now I also often listen to music through earbuds. I’m not sure why that changed. It just did. LOL

Now that it is nearly summertime, what's your favorite way to relax during the summer?

I am an avid gardener so I LOVE spring and summer when I can dig in the dirt to create beauty and also grow fresh fruits and veggies. Here’s a picture of my veggie garden last summer. My hubby built these beds for me and I LOVE them. I have knee issues and can’t kneel so these are a wonderful height for me. When not gardening, in the summer you’ll find me sitting on the patio with my family sipping an iced tea and just enjoying their company. Especially enjoying watching my very creative grandson. Shh, don’t tell the others.



Some this or that questions:

Bike rides or car rides?
Car rides. I’d love to get on a bike again but I have joint issues that prohibit the bike.
Vacations: Stay at home or Travel?
I am a real homebody. I guess this comes from the fact that I have lived in nine states and used to travel every week for work. I saw so much of our wonderful country that I am content in my own little part of the country. I would still like to travel to Europe, though.
Cruises or Camping?
Camping with modifications. I need a clean and modern bathroom nearby and can’t sleep on the hard ground any longer.
Iced latte or Iced tea?
Funny, I just mentioned iced tea above. I lived in the south for so many years that I learned to love iced tea. Not sweetened though. That I cannot drink so I guess my stay in the south didn’t fully convert me. LOL
Hiking or Rock climbing?
Hiking as there is no way my bad knees would allow me to climb rocks.

Are you currently working on any new book? If so, can you give us a little teaser?

I am just finishing the edits on Kill Shot, book two in the White Knight’s series. This book releases in February, 2018. Here’s a blurb about it. 

Kill Shot
Some fears haunt you …
When ballistics and weapons expert Rick Cannon learned the Department of Defense had developed self-steering bullets that show 100% accuracy and make even a gun novice a lethal sniper, he feared they would eventually end up in the wrong hands.
Until they become reality.
That fear comes true when a vet is killed with stolen “smart bullets.” Rick and his FBI task force, nicknamed The White Knights, are soon charged with finding and stopping the killer. Rick enlists the help of the victim’s therapist, Olivia Dobbs, who is well known for her success in counseling military vets with PTSD. But when the killer sets his sights on their key witness, Rick must rely on the skills he learned as a Marine sniper to make sure the next bullet fired isn’t a kill shot to take Olivia out.
And then I am also finishing the edits on Holiday Secrets, the first boon in a new Love Inspired Suspense series called McKade Law. This book releases in December of this year and the series features four siblings along with the McKade grandparents and parents. The father is a the local sheriff and all of the siblings are law enforcement professionals. Each book features one of the siblings and their search for love as well as highlighting their path in learning to trust God. I am having such fun getting to know this family, and I almost wish they were real so we could be friends as I love them all!!
Holiday Secrets
Lexie Grant is shocked when her estranged father suddenly shows up after having been missing for a month. He claims he has something vital to tell her before his plane takes off, and she’s not surprised when they get into the same old argument they’ve had for years and he ends up shoving an envelope into her hands. But before she can take the envelope, a dirt bike rider races onto the abandoned airstrip, shoots her father, and takes off with the envelope. He lives long enough to declare that the crash wasn’t an accident and her life is in danger, too.
Lexie isn’t the only one who wants to talk to her father. Despite leaving Lost Creek due to issues with his controlling sheriff father, FBI Agent Gavin McKade and Lexie’s former boyfriend, has returned to town to question her father about his medical practice and potential Medicaid fraud. But when Lexie is attacked, Gavin’s main focus turns to keeping Lexie safe as he tries to find her assailant. Can Lexie forget her past with Gavin and let him get close enough to keep her alive? And can Gavin ignore the feelings he has for Lexie and the desire to move back to Lost Creek that resurfaces the moment he sees her to find her attacker before his actions turn deadly?

Is there anything else you'd like to share and where can readers find you on the web? Thanks so much for being here, Susan! 

First, thank you for hosting me, Melanie. You have such a wonderful blog!

Second, here’s where I can be found on the Internet –
Twitter -       http://www.twitter.com/susansleeman   

And last, I want to mention a contest I have going on right now that includes a giveaway of Fatal Mistake and a Kindle Fire. The picture below shows all of the items in the prize package and the link to enter is -  http://www.susansleeman.com/contests


Enter for a chance to win a copy of Fatal Mistake! Giveaway is open to the US and ends 6/8/17

How to enter: Sign into the Giveaway Tools form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form. Happy entering!



Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Giveaway Tools and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Giveaway Tools or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.