Featured Post

15 Books To Get Off My TBR This Fall

Monday, October 23, 2017

Review: A Small Book About A Big Problem by Edward T. Welch



About the book:
Look closely at any day and we can usually find anger in both our actions and attitudes. Things spill or go missing, we get stuck in traffic, and the people we live and work with often make life even harder. We want to stay calm, but what do you do when you feel your blood pressure rise yet again? Anger is so common yet it also destroys. It leaves its mark on us it s not healthy which is one reason we hear so much about finding peace. And it leaves its mark on others. The wounds we inflict on others when we are angry the loss of intimacy, trust, security, and enjoyment in our closest relationships give us compelling reasons to look closely at our anger and think carefully about how to grow in patience and peace. If you have just gotten irritated for the umpteenth time today, you might wonder if change is possible. Can anyone grow in patience and peace? Yes. But you need a plan. Biblical counselor and psychologist Ed Welch invites readers to take a 50-day journey that unpacks anger and encourages readers to become more skillful at responding with patience to life s difficulties. Along the way, readers will be introduced to Jesus, the Prince of Peace the only one who can empower his people to grow in patience, peace, and wholeness.
My rating:

4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, October 21, 2017

Review: On Love's Gentle Shore by Liz Johnson



About the book:
Natalie O'Ryan had no plans to return to Prince Edward Island. But when her fiancé books their wedding in her hometown and schedules a summer at Rose's Red Door Inn, she sets out to plan the perfect wedding. Yet she can't possibly plan for a run-in with Justin Kane--the best friend she left behind all those years ago after promising to stay.

Justin has never forgotten Natalie. He'd been prepared to follow her off the island until tragedy struck, leaving him to run the family dairy farm. He's done the best he can with the life that was thrust upon him--but with Natalie back in the picture, he begins to realize just how much joy he's been missing.

After Natalie's reception venue falls through, she must scramble to find an alternative, and the only option seems to be a barn on Justin's property. As they work together to get the dilapidated building ready for the party, Natalie and Justin may discover that there is more between them than broken promises and an old friendship.
My rating:
5 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Friday, October 20, 2017

Weekend Wrap-up (October 20, 2017)


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Interview & Giveaway! The Secret Slipper by Amanda Tero


 

What is your novel, The Secret Slipper, about?
The Secret Slipper is a dual-story about Raoul, a father who discovers that the daughter he thought was dead ten years ago just might be alive, and Lia, a poor, crippled lass who is under the cruelty of Bioti.


When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer? 
I don’t remember an exact point in which I thought, “I’m going to be a writer.” It just kind of happened. I’ve loved writing since before I was ten.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk? 
Hmm… I’m not sure that I have one. At least, not one that is abnormal. Eating M&M’s or other forms of chocolate aren’t exactly quirks. ;)

Where do you like to write? 
I usually write in my study/music studio at my desk. Though for a change at times, I’ll write outside when the weather is nice.

What do you like to do when you're not writing? 
Actually, writing is my side-hobby, so there are many things I do when not writing. Music is a major part of my life. I usually teach between 25-30 piano or violin students each semester (individual private lessons) and on top of that, I love arranging music for solo piano and other instruments. I’m also a part of a big family (eleven siblings; two of which are married), so I enjoy spending time with them.

What is your favorite genre to read and why?
Christian Historical! There is something about the years gone by that engages me as a reader. I also love reading just plain history. :)

What is your least favorite genre to read?
That would probably be dystopian/sci-fi. I’m just not a fan of futuristic. Maybe because I’m not a huge “make-believe” person.

Is there a place you'd like to visit, but haven’t yet? 
Of course! I’d love to visit Europe.

Do you have a favorite Bible verse? 
Proverbs 3:5-7 has kind of been my turn-to verse a lot in the past several years.
Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil.

What is your favorite season and why is it your fav?
Fall! I love the weather turning from warm to cool (though we live in Mississippi, so even fall isn’t always cool…)

Some this-or-that questions:

Snowstorms or Thunderstorms? 
Seeing as I’ve never been in a snowstorm, I do enjoy thunderstorms. :)
Chocolate or Vanilla?
CHOCOLATE!!!
Tea or Coffee? 
Depends on my mood. ;) Usually coffee.
Call or Text? 
Text.
Cats or Dogs?
Cats.
Early-bird or Night-owl? 
Night-owl morphing into an early-bird
Introvert or Extrovert?
More introvert.
Facebook or Twitter? 
Facebook.
Mystery or Romance?
Mystery!
Sneakers or Sandals?
Sandals.

Are you currently working on any new novels? If so, could you give us a hint? 
I sure am! My current WIP is Journey of Choice which follows the life of a boy named Nat. He is a New York street orphan, caught by the police mid-robbery and transported west via the Orphan Trains—at the brink of the Civil War. So there is some street story, some farm, and some war.
Thank you so much for being here! Is there anything else you’d like to tell readers and where can we find you on the web?
I’m so happy to hop by!
I love to connect with my readers and you can find me various places online:
Email: amandaterobooks@gmail.com
Website: http://amandatero.com/
Facebook: www.facebook.com/amandaterobooks
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/amandateroauthor/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/amandaruthtero/
Blog: www.withajoyfulnoise.blogspot.com
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/AmandaTero
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/author/amandatero



Giveaway!
Enter for a chance to win a PDF copy of The Secret Slipper! Giveaway is open INT and ends 11/2.

How to enter: Sign into the Giveaway Tools form below (it might take a moment to load) and submit each entry you complete. Commenting alone will not get you entered – you must click enter on the form. Happy entering!



Open only to those who can legally enter. Winning entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by Giveaway Tools and announced here as well as emailed and will have up to one week to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Giveaway Tools or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. I am not responsible for any packages lost or damaged in the mail. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.


This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Review: The Keeper of Her Heart by Stacy Henrie



About the book:
If you like the novels of Deanne Gist and Lauraine Snelling, you’ll love USA Today bestselling author Stacy Henrie’s inspirational romance set against the backdrop of World War One!

Even at a young age, Ada Thorne knew that she would marry only for love, never money. So when she finds herself irrevocably drawn to Ned Henley, the lowly gamekeeper on a neighboring estate, she defies her parents and society by eloping with him to London to build a new life.

Without her family’s support, life in the city is far more difficult than the one of ease and privilege Ada has always known. She’ll find herself relentlessly tested in ways she never imagined—especially when Ned, answering the call of duty, enlists to serve his country in World War One.

Alone and near poverty with a child to raise, Ada’s resolve will be strained at every turn. And as she struggles to remain true to her convictions and live life on her own terms, Ada will embark on a journey of courage, faith, and love that will surpass even her own humble dreams . . .
My rating:
5 stars

(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Monday, October 16, 2017

Review: Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson



About the book:
In her kitchen at Rose's Red Door Inn, executive chef Caden Holt is calm, collected, and competent. But when her boss asks her to show off their beautiful island to impress a visiting travel writer and save the inn, Caden is forced to face a world much bigger than her kitchen--and a man who makes her wish she was beautiful.

Journalist Adam Jacobs is on a forced sabbatical on Prince Edward Island. He's also on assignment to uncover a story. Instead he's falling in love with the island's red shores and Caden's sweets.

When Caden discovers Adam isn't who she thought he was, she realizes that the article he's writing could do more than ruin the inn's chances for survival--it might also break her heart.
My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Weekend Wrap-up (October 14, 2017)


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

Friday, October 13, 2017

15 Books To Get Off My TBR This Fall


I don't know about you, but I have a LOT of books on my TBR...including some that have been on there for way too long. So, I've decided to challenge myself to get 15 books off my TBR by winter (December 21st).

Here's my list:

What are some books you want to get off your TBR this fall??

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.