If you shop through my Amazon link for anything, I'll earn a small percentage. Thank you so much. :) Christian Books and Bibles

Saturday, April 13, 2024

Review: A Noble Scheme by Roseanna M. White

About the book:
Gemma Parks is known throughout high society as G. M. Parker, a columnist renowned for her commentary on the cream of society. Behind the scenes, she uses her talent to aid the Imposters in their investigations by gathering intel at events and providing alibis for the elite firm's members through her columns. Yet her clandestine work would be more exhilarating if it weren't for the constant presence of the gentleman who broke her heart.

Graham Wharton has never had eyes for anyone but Gemma, and she left his soul in tatters when she walked away from him. When the Imposters take on a new job to recover a kidnapped boy mistaken for his aristocratic cousin, Graham is determined to use the time with Gemma not only to restore the missing boy, but also to win back the only woman he's ever loved. As they trace the clues laid out before them, Graham must devise a noble scheme to save the boy's life and heal their hearts.

Christy Award-winning author Roseanna M. White whisks you away to Edwardian-era England in an exhilarating tale of glamor, intrigue, and romance set among high society's most elite--and most dangerous--families.

My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
A Noble Scheme is the second book in The Imposters' series and it was an amazing read! I reread A Beautiful Disguise (book one) before starting this one, so the characters were fresh in my mind...and I could hardly wait to find out more about Gemma and Graham's story!

A Noble Scheme grabbed my attention right away and I loved the characters so much. Getting little nuggets of Gemma and Graham's history in the beginning and THEN the big reveal was SO good. I did not guess it and loved the twist! The mystery was good, but also kind of sad...I really felt for everyone involved.

All in all, A Noble Scheme was a wonderful read and I recommend it...but definitely read book one first. I'm eagerly awaiting book three, as the sneak peek has me intrigued. 

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, April 8, 2024

Review: Fatal Domain by Steven James

About the book:
When the past scratches its way into the present, it can leave deep scars.

A series of cryptic clues leads Department of Defense redactor Travis Brock to suspect that a grim chapter from his past is not yet over. With the help of his eidetic memory and his newly formed team, he must unearth the truth and stop a terrorist group from stealing one of the military’s most highly guarded technological breakthroughs. With it, the group commit a daring act of espionage that could upend the work of one of the world’s largest pharmaceutical firms and impact millions of people worldwide.

In a high-stakes story of action and intrigue that reaches from a refugee settlement in Uganda to the shores of the Potomac in Washington, DC, shattering secrets from the past will be revealed, loyalties tested, and intimate betrayals brought to light as Brock is forced to decide how to forgive what he cannot forget.

From a novelist that Publishers Weekly has called a “master storyteller” comes an intricate and taut thriller that will have you guessing until the final page.
My rating:
5 stars 
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Fatal Domain is the second Travis Brock book and it was such a thrilling read!

I originally read book one, Broker of Lies, last year and reread it shortly before starting Fatal Domain...both times it was an amazing read and I definitely recommend reading the series in order.

Book one ended with a major twist, so I was eager to see how this story continued that element. It was very well written and kept me on the edge of my seat.

The characters were amazing. I loved the main ones (Travis and Adira), but Gunnar was also a favorite. I like how the romance is progressing and am curious to see what happens next. The story had a heavy theme of forgiveness and I loved that - it was a deep subject, but well done.

All in all, I loved Fatal Domain and the ending has me excited about the next book, whenever it releases. I can hardly wait!

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Spring 2024 TBR (March 19)



March 19: Books on my Spring 2024 TBR

~~

Late on posting this, but wanted to share the top books on my TBR for Spring 2024! Most of these books are new releases, but a couple are older books I've had on my TBR for a while and a reread. :)

(in no particular order)




This post contains “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.


Friday, March 29, 2024

Weekend Wrap-Up (March 29th, 2024)

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

-
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

~

Thursday, March 14, 2024

Review: Rocky Road by Becky Wade

About the book:
Christy Award Hall of Fame Author

FBI Agent Jude Camden handles every aspect of his job with by-the-book professionalism. There's no reason why his latest assignment—which calls for him to pose as the boyfriend of perfumer Gemma Clare—should be any different.

Except Gemma is different. She's creative, bold, and feisty. And as soon as she meets Jude, she wants to loosen him up, wrinkle his perfect shirts, and test every ounce of his towering self-control.

The FBI has an iron-clad rule against romances between those working together on operations. Jude's never met a rule he didn't respect. But adhering to this one is going to be tough because, as time goes by, he finds Gemma more and more irresistible.

Buckle up! It's going to be a rocky road.

Escape to Maine for this swoon-worthy "fake romance"! Banter, humor, perfume, and a mystery from the past intertwine in this sweet Sons of Scandal love story.

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
Rocky Road is the second book in the Sons of Scandal series and such a good read! I enjoyed the first book, but this one was even better! I liked how we got a hint of this storyline in the first book (Jude going undercover as Gemma's boyfriend).

I read this book mostly by listening to the audio while reading the print copy. The audiobook was read so well that it made the read even more enjoyable.

I liked how this story's romance wasn't too heated and that there was a good element of faith. I thought the ending was intense and yet so good. I also loved the side story about Gemma's grandmother, Gracie. 

All in all, Rocky Road was a great read and I recommend it to fans of contemporary romance. I can hardly wait for the next one, which is about Max.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Wednesday, March 13, 2024

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’m Worried I Might Not Love as Much the Second Time Around (March 12)



March 12: Books I’m Worried I Might Not Love as Much the Second Time Around

~~

(Posting a day late)

I love this topic. I am currently someone who loves to reread books and my favorite books I've reread multiple times...still, there are some books that I am a little nervous to and probably won't reread, as I might not enjoy them as much this time. My reading tastes have changed and I've changed in the years since I first read them, but in a couple cases it is because of how the rest of the series unfolded.

(in no particular order)



This post contains “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, March 11, 2024

Review: All My Secrets by Lynn Austin

About the book:
Bestselling author Lynn Austin returns with a luminous work of historical fiction set amid the opulence of Gilded Age New York, where three generations of women in one family must reckon with the choices they have made and their hopes for the future.

New York, 1898. The only thing more shocking than Arthur Stanhope III’s unexpected death is the revelation that his will bestows his company―and most of the vast fortune that goes with it―to the nearest male heir, leaving his mother, wife, and daughter nearly impoverished. His widow, Sylvia, quickly realizes she must set aside her grief to ensure their daughter, Adelaide, is launched into society as soon as the appropriate mourning period passes. If Sylvia can find a wealthy husband for Addy before anyone realizes they’re practically destitute, there will be little disruption to the lifestyle they’re accustomed to.

Sylvia’s mother-in-law, Junietta, believes their life could use a little disruption. She has watched Sylvia play her role as a society wife, as Junietta once did, despite what it cost them both. Junietta vows to give her granddaughter the power to choose a path beyond what society expects.

But for Addy to have that chance, both mother and grandmother must first confront painful truths about their own choices. Only in bringing their secrets to light can they hope to reshape their family inheritance into a legacy more fulfilling than they ever dared dream.

My rating:
4 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:
All My Secrets was a wonderful read. The characters were well written and I found myself easily immersed in their story. 

It was crazy all the different layers there were in this book. I loved the slips back in time when Junietta or Sylvia were telling parts of their story. The current day was probably my favorite, as I really liked Adelaide and her love story. 

All My Secrets is a book that I think any historical romance reader will enjoy. It is written very well and moves quickly. The narrator of the audio format was great and it was easy to listen to. 

All in all, All My Secrets was a very good read and I recommend it. I look forward forward reading more of Lynn Austin's books as I'm able. 

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Tuesday, January 16, 2024

Top Ten Tuesday | Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2024



January 9: Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2024

~ ~

I'm doing this topic a week late, but it is one I love to do...hope you enjoy seeing my list. :) Let me know if you see any books that you are looking forward to reading. 

(in no particular order)


I've already read this one, but it gets a mention because it is one of the books I was eagerly anticipating.



If you've been around my blog for a while, you probably know that Steven James is one of the favorite authors and I loved the first book (Broker of Lies) in his new series. I can hardly wait to start this one and see what happens next.


I've really enjoyed Lynn's other books that I've read, so I am eager to dive into this one.


Hunter's books are usually easy, light reads and I am anticipating this one to be a good one. 


I love Pettrey's suspense stories. So excited about this new one!


Sarah Sundin is a favorite historical author of mine and I hope this one will be another winner.


I have loved pretty much all of the books I've read by White and I can hardly wait to read this one...the first book was SO good!


I've been anticipating this one since reading the first book...I hope it is just as amazing.


I've been a huge fan of Wade's contemporary romance novels. This one sounds super cute and I can't wait to read it.

This post contains “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Monday, January 8, 2024

Review: The Seamstress of Acadie by Laura Frantz

About the book:
As 1754 is drawing to a close, tensions between the French and the British on Canada's Acadian shore are reaching a fever pitch. Seamstress Sylvie Galant and her family--French-speaking Acadians wishing to remain neutral--are caught in the middle, their land positioned between two forts flying rival flags. Amid preparations for the celebration of Noël, the talk is of unrest, coming war, and William Blackburn, the British Army Ranger raising havoc across North America's borderlands.

As summer takes hold in 1755 and British ships appear on the horizon, Sylvie encounters Blackburn, who warns her of the coming invasion. Rather than participate in the forced removal of the Acadians from their land, he resigns his commission. But that cannot save Sylvie or her kin. Relocated on a ramshackle ship to Virginia, Sylvie struggles to pick up the pieces of her life. When her path crosses once more with William's, they must work through the complex tangle of their shared, shattered past to navigate the present and forge an enduring future.
My rating:
5 stars
(View my rating system)
My thoughts:

The Seamstress of Acadie was one of my most anticipated reads of 2024 and it did not disappoint! The story pulled me in right away and, while it was a slower read for me in the beginning, I really enjoyed it.

The characters were great. I really liked Bleu (her brother) and Will. Both were favorite characters. 😊 The romance between Will and Sylvie was good and I liked that it took its time to progress. 

All in all, The Seamstress of Acadie was a very good read. It had some sad moments, but it felt realistic and I loved the book. I am eagerly looking forward to Laura Frantz's next story.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Find the book on:
Amazon (aff link), Goodreads

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

Friday, January 5, 2024

Weekend Wrap-Up (January 5th, 2024)

This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.


Weekend Wrap-up is where I share what I read this past week, am currently reading, and my reading plans for the coming week. 

Feel free to join along and post your own Weekend Wrap-up on your blog/site (if you do, please leave the link in a comment so I can stop by) or, in a comment, share what you've read this past week. :)

-
This post may contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.

~

Some of the links in my blog posts, tweets, social media posts, etc. contain “affiliate links.” This means if you click on a link with my affiliate code and purchase an item(s), I will receive an affiliate commission. You won't be charged extra, I'll just receive a small percentage of the purchase price. See my disclosure page here.
Powered by Blogger.